HOW TO MANAGE YOUR STEEMIT FEED

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

markus-spiske-37930.jpg

I hear this a lot,

"i don't want to follow lot's of people because i won't be able to read all the blogs in my feed" or "i only want to see content that i am truly interested in"

These are all valid points.
But how many can you actually follow before your feed is swapped and you can't keep up?

Let's say you follow 100 people and they all post, that's 100 blogs in your feed and let's say they resteem 2 or 3 posts from people you dont follow. That's a lot of content hitting your feed that you might not like.

What im getting at here is that you have to manage your feed even when you follow a very small amount of members. So it never really makes sense to me not to follow lot's.

You can go slow and steady and be very, very strict on who you follow and yet still see content you might not like or you can be more aggresssive in following peole and just be more willing to manage your feed and gain more followers faster.
Cause isn't that what we want, as many followers as possible so that we are seen, so we get more UpVotes so we get more comments and resteems.

I pretty much don't pay to attention to my feed instead what i do is know who im truly following and then i visit their page and i can see everything they are upto. You could even bookmark interesting people so you don't lose them in your feed.

It really just comes down to how you want to run your account.

Look at twitter for example, you see members with 1000s and 1000s of followers, there is no way those guys can keep up with all that activity. But the way it works is that you create Twitter Lists which are just curated feeds and that is really what i am suggesting with the social bookmarking option.

Let me know what you think

sig.png
InfoBunny

USEFUL ARTICLES TO CHECK OUT

WHAT I HAVE LEARN'T SO FAR - MAKE YOUR UPVOTE COUNT
SO DO YOU REALLY WANT STEEMIT TO GROW?
HOW TO GET DESKTOP NOTIFICATIONS ON STEEMIT

Sort:  

An interesting post and funnily enough something I was thinking about just half an hour or so ago, I just joined recently and now have followed about 200 people and finding the feed filing so fast and hard to keep up with, has me in a dilemma I know you need more followers to do well here but how do you set a balance that works for you as an individual..... the answer for me is I have no idea right now lLOL

well you remember who is who and then visit them, the social bookmarking option will work

the point above is that even if you follow a very small number, if they are all active and all resteeming your going to struggle so you might as well follow lots and just manage your feed

That's where my though process was heading, I think I will just keep going as I am now and reassess after I have been on here say a month

good call

I hope I had a bit of inspiration to that article, good read as always thanks bunny buddy

i think you did if i remember correctly

Hopefully this can be an addition to the platform. Create lists to follow the peopld you truly value.

Do follows matter if the people are not interested in your content? I also see it like that. Therefore, I only follow people who's content interests me. I've actually started dropping some follows because I get too many uninteresting posts in my feed. But on the other hand I search through the new posts on a regular basis and also the tags I like.

I think there is more to it than that, its the engagement and conversation thats more important to me

Lists would be great!!!

good content to see

I like to read most posts about steemit , to learn in details , this post is one such where I can learn lots , so started following you and Upvoted your post
by : @pksur

Agreed with you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59388.79
ETH 2578.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47