Runaway Rhymes: Can't Do This Anymore

in #challenge308 years ago (edited)

This poem is twofold. It's my example poem for the Runaway Rhymes poetry competition I am starting: New Runaway Rhymes Poetry Competition

And it is my first piece of writing for Challenge30 where I have accepted the challenge to write something everyday for 30 days 30 Days Writing Challenge

Can't do This Anymore

You cannot be here any more
Our children I do adore
But you, I now abhor.

Once you were my life
I was happy to be your wife.
Now I'm your trouble and strife.

You make me doubt the world around me
You've put me in a cage and thrown the key
Now I've got my wits back, I want to be free

In this last year, things have got worse
So much so, I had to put it in verse
Unfortunately, there is no reverse

Yes, I 've withdrawn my love and affection
I no longer need your type of protection
Or your type of love on reflection.

The things you do, the things you say
Are snipes and gripes anyway
You are toxic and I am your prey.

Yes you can blame me if you like,
Eight years a go I was a bike

I tried to make it up to you
With everything I do
But you still treat me like poo

Okay, I probably didn't do enough
But with two small kids and stuff
Life has been pretty tough.

You still drink and disappear all night
Get angry and get in a fight
Every time it is not right.

We have two young children remember?
Does that not invoke a loving ember?

Oh no, they make too much noise
A 3 & 5 year old playing with their toys?
This attitude sucks and destroys.

We all walk around on eggshells
Living our lives being rebels
Trying not to raise hells bells

If not divorce, more social services?
More nights of finger biting nervousness?
Am I to be merciful or merciless?

I'm tired of all the drama
I'll have to live with the karma
And begin to see the world in panorama

We are an amalgamation of promises unkept
A plethora of lines overstepped
It is over. We must accept.

Image: Pixabay.com

Sort:  

Right at this moment I've been thinking of STEEM
Thinking of the way how it could have been
How it could have started without me knowing
Until the other day I've seen it passing
I checked and read how it's doing
Then I realized this could be the starting
The starting point that I could be gaining
Gaining money that I could not imagine

Let there be no fault
Nor in this new year let us halt
Let praise for others be our default

When seeking new pathways
Let us not fault to our old ways
But practice the praise of of others always

Criticise constructively
Apply words only positively
Let our actions never influence negativity

Yay! The first entry - great poem, please could you post it in comments of this post though: https://steemit.com/steemit/@hopehuggs/new-year-new-poetry-competition-called-runaway-rhymes Thanks

This is actually really sound advice in a poem. Thank you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65733.39
ETH 3506.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51