Upvote to Improve the Lives of Those Who Need It Most

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)


It's time to spread the wealth. I want to help real people with real missions to improve the lives of others.

I'm now in Lima Peru. The fact that I'm here is 100% due to the support from you all on steemit. I've been blessed to have accrued such a positive following from you that I want to pass it on.

I will be donating 50% of the SBDs earned on the post to those whom I feature.

Here's the plan. Each country I visit I will research and meet with people who run real initiatives for providing food, water, clothing, schooling and jobs to those who need it in their country. I will interview and photograph these amazing individuals and those whom they help. I'm going to use my success here on steemit to help them by sharing their stories, what they do and why. By sharing their charity/foundation/mission/initiative information on this platform and on all of my social media accounts I hope to provide a broader platform for donations to go to their projects in addition to donating 50% of the SBDs earned on the post that features their project.

If you've ever wondered how you can make a true difference in people's lives, this is your chance- all you need to do is UPVOTE!

Most big name charities and foundations are so huge and ambiguous that you never can know for sure exactly how your donation will be used or more than likely abused.

This is a great way to become intimate with the details of a charitable foundation. Get to know the faces of those who you are helping. Learn about those who work hard every day to improve the lives of those who need it most.

Tomorrow I am going to Huaycan Peru with Lara Devries. She is an incredible young woman who moved to Peru to launch Light and Leadership Initiative. I will spend the day learning about her and those whom she helps. I'll then write a post all about the initative, I'll cover what they do exactly and how we can help them.

Know exactly how your upvote helps those living in Huaycan, and they will be incredibly grateful for it.

Sort:  

Your the best heidi , i love your travel blogs , keep on steemin :)

really happy to see something like this taken root and hopefully others will be able to emulate something similar! Safe travels.

I definitely hope that others do the same, but to me the most important part is choosing the right charitable foundation to support, I like the idea of supporting smaller causes since they are most likely to make a real difference in people's lives.

Yes, it's not easy for people to navigate that minefield. I have done some humanitarian relief in a landfill in Cambodia on a few occasions over several years - both self funded and also from a few donations from friends. More often than not, NGO type organizations live high on the hog generally right next to those they are supposedly trying to assist. I think that you'll do well highlighting the good that you and the Steemit community does through you. You have my vote of confidence.

I agree. I live in Cambodia. There is a great need for humanitarian relief, but unfortunately as you said, a majority of the NGO's are staffed at the upper levels by over paid bureaucrats and while they often do have staff who care, and work hard, most of the resources go to provide said bureaucrats with unnecessary luxuries while the original point of the organization gets left behind. There really are some wonderful people doing things, but as Heidi said, its usually at the grassroots level on the ground where the right people, and resources come together to actually make a difference in people's lives. If you ever make it to Cambodia, particularly the Siem Reap province, let me know. I can put you in touch with good folks doing great things with minimal resources. Its a sad truth that many people use the most desperate people and the great needs they have to hoodwink kindhearted people into donating only to enrich themselves. The whole voluntourism sector here is growing rapidly and unfortunately it's barely helping anyone, except the few who use the good intentions of people to make profits for themselves.

Very good to make contact with you ~ yes, as you know Cambo is the perfect place for things like that to go unchecked. Certainly, there are some great organizations there - I need to get my friend, Bart, who runs Kids At Risk Cambodia onto Steemit - he builds houses and provides all sorts of assistance with no more than a dedicated tuk tuk driver and a few supporters. Srok Khmer is just a tough case and always will be as long as Samdech Akka Moha Sena Padei Techo... runs the show. Have an Anchor for me! I go every couple of years - thanks for the offer and as I understand it the PP landfill (Stueng Meanchey) is technically closed, correct? The new one doesn't fancy people with cameras as I'm told - Heng Sinith managed a few pix a long while back but he told me that he was disguised. I don't think I could slip in undetected.

👍very interesting post, support u @heiditravels , have fun to traveling

This is great. They say that if everyone in the world (who could afford it) gave a dollar, we could fund a solution for world hunger. This is a wonderful experiment on a smaller stage, but with large implications for the Steemit community and more importantly people in need. Novel. Unique. Helpful.

Nice great job! Good way to pay it forward for the community and give back you are setting good examples for everyone on the platform!

Amazing!! You have my support and I highly like it! I know because I have been a missionary myself. I was in Jamaica and worked with children with disabilities.

I miss them terrible. I am going with my family to Jamaica so they can meet my kids.
I am very happy and nervous to see them again. I hope they recognize me.
God bless you on your mission my dear. Be safe and I wish you all the luck!

Wow how beautiful! I'm sure they'll remember you :)

Thank you :) Yes I am sure they will but still deep in my heart questioning.
I am following you from now on because I am very excited for you and your good work around the world!

This is an awesome use of your steemit celebrity! I hope more people who succeed on steemit start giving to help others. Thank you for leading the way.

Show me a person that needs their life improved and I will recommend they switch from using fiat currency to using Dolph Lundgren Coin!!

https://steemit.com/beyondbitcoin/@splatterhaus/how-i-became-a-millionaire-investing-in-dolphcoins-and-the-logic-behind-the-dolphcoin-humor

I think I accidentally muted you.. Do you know hoe to change this?

another great post from @heiditravels !
thanks darling have fun @ Peru with Lara 8]

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69386.82
ETH 3714.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85