Sort:  

I definitely hope that others do the same, but to me the most important part is choosing the right charitable foundation to support, I like the idea of supporting smaller causes since they are most likely to make a real difference in people's lives.

Yes, it's not easy for people to navigate that minefield. I have done some humanitarian relief in a landfill in Cambodia on a few occasions over several years - both self funded and also from a few donations from friends. More often than not, NGO type organizations live high on the hog generally right next to those they are supposedly trying to assist. I think that you'll do well highlighting the good that you and the Steemit community does through you. You have my vote of confidence.

I agree. I live in Cambodia. There is a great need for humanitarian relief, but unfortunately as you said, a majority of the NGO's are staffed at the upper levels by over paid bureaucrats and while they often do have staff who care, and work hard, most of the resources go to provide said bureaucrats with unnecessary luxuries while the original point of the organization gets left behind. There really are some wonderful people doing things, but as Heidi said, its usually at the grassroots level on the ground where the right people, and resources come together to actually make a difference in people's lives. If you ever make it to Cambodia, particularly the Siem Reap province, let me know. I can put you in touch with good folks doing great things with minimal resources. Its a sad truth that many people use the most desperate people and the great needs they have to hoodwink kindhearted people into donating only to enrich themselves. The whole voluntourism sector here is growing rapidly and unfortunately it's barely helping anyone, except the few who use the good intentions of people to make profits for themselves.

Very good to make contact with you ~ yes, as you know Cambo is the perfect place for things like that to go unchecked. Certainly, there are some great organizations there - I need to get my friend, Bart, who runs Kids At Risk Cambodia onto Steemit - he builds houses and provides all sorts of assistance with no more than a dedicated tuk tuk driver and a few supporters. Srok Khmer is just a tough case and always will be as long as Samdech Akka Moha Sena Padei Techo... runs the show. Have an Anchor for me! I go every couple of years - thanks for the offer and as I understand it the PP landfill (Stueng Meanchey) is technically closed, correct? The new one doesn't fancy people with cameras as I'm told - Heng Sinith managed a few pix a long while back but he told me that he was disguised. I don't think I could slip in undetected.

👍very interesting post, support u @heiditravels , have fun to traveling

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66186.23
ETH 3494.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.17