A worrying trend that needs addressingsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)


I have noticed a worrying trend of late and feel it should be addressed.

These past few days as I scoured the NEW tab seeking out freshly arrived Steemians to welcome, there are replies to introduceyourself posts being bombarded with requests to visit their page and upvote posts. Follow for follow posts are annoying enough but I feel this takes the proverbial biscuit and mars what is otherwise a fantastic community. I wanted to include screenshots of what I mean but I don't want to single out any users.

There are better ways of conducting yourself on Steemit, more in the spirit of the community: if you want upvotes on your post, make sure it is first worthy of an upvote. Let your post sell itself on merit. I have visited some of these requests and not only would I not normally upvote them, such crude methods of what amounts to begging for votes makes it even less likely that I will EVER vote for any of the particular users' posts in future.

Build connections, engage in a thoughtful manner, actually read what new Steemians are writing in their introduction. Imagine if you will the following scenario: you introduce yourself to a new group of people at a bar. At the back of the group is somebody fiddling with their phone not listening to you. You put yourself out there and he pays no attention whatsoever. As soon as you finish talking he walks over and says 'Hi, buy me a beer'. Not very conducive to a future relationship, is it? Steemit is all about relationships and connections. You make friends here, you see what they have to offer and you support them. This support will be reciprocated.

Don't be THAT guy


Now I have gotten that off my chest, STEEM ON my dudes and dudettes

Sources 1 2


Click the picture to read about my #steemgigs service - English proof reading - if you need help with spelling or grammar

Sort:  

Well said @gmuxx. Follow-for-Follow and Like-for-Like are rampant on Twitter and Instagram and they ruin the whole experience. I'm not sure about the ones on Steemit but those on Twitter and Insta tended to be spammers and bots for the most part.

Yes, a good proportion are stammers and bots. The rest are what I call misinformed users who I mute and will never get followed or upvoted by me 😁

Yeh well said. I think the gates are opening now and we will get alot more of this unfortunately. For the sake of a good community this needs to be monitored closely and appropriate restrictions if needed applied.

It's unfortunate but it's bound to happen I suppose. I just needed a rant. I'm calm now

Thanks for this post. Being new here and not sure what I should and should not do, this was a real help!

Thank you for your comment. I'm not trying to come across as preachy - I want everybody to succeed the right way.

I would recommend all new Steemians have a wander around and read many excellent posts by others here regarding newcomers. It will stand them in good stead before posting and commenting.

No, I did not think you were preachy. It has how newbies like me will learn. This is only my second day and I do have a lot to learn, LOL. Thanks!!

You will get there. This is only my 11th day I think. Just absorb it all like a sponge ;-)

Wow, I thought maybe you were here longer. So you are really a newbie too, LOL. You are really picking up on it though, good for you!!

I agree. I spend a lot of my minutes on Steemit commenting and replying in lieu of blogging, so I've noticed in the replies these last two weeks a lot of "follow for follow" and "upvote for upvote" requests. I don't begrudge these people their efforts,. but thanks for posting this PSA noting that behavior isn't likely to win any followers or friends.

People need to think of the long game. By engaging in such activity you lessen your chances of genuine followers and future upvotes for the sake of a quick upvote now

Agreed. I will resteem this!
Seeing as there are alot of greedy bastards who are not here for the content creators or for anything else, other than just to get a few quick bucks on the side. I think this is the main problems of steemit, and it will be the main reason people who are unfamiliar with steemit will see it as a "fake" social media website. Personally, I don't see it replacing facebook as it is, unless the developers make some big changes to the platform and add alot more functionality. But it will DEFINITELY replace all other blogging platforms!

Thanks for the resteem and the comments, much appreciated

Yep, I made a similar post two days ago and I think we need a solution for these "follower hungry people" that are not in any way interested in the content or the person itself. Here's the post:


https://steemit.com/steemit/@steemchiller/automated-welcome-comments-for-new-steemit-users-are-bullshit

Oh sorry, I didn't see it. I just followed you so I will in future 👍

No problem! The more posts the better :) I hope we find a solution for all this...

I wonder something similar to @cheetah could be deployed? At the very least it could cut out the copy/paste replies

That's exactly what I thought about! It would be possible and I'm a developer, so I really think about creating something like that...

Great minds this alike 😜

As @acidyo mentioned in your newer post (in which you've removed the tag...):


btw, please don't use the #introduceyourself tag unless you are using it to introduce yourself, makes it difficult to check through the posts of newcomers. As if its not difficult enough to mind curation on the ones that look fake.

Yes, I'm a noob 😞

Welcome to Steemit. I hope you will enjoy it as much as I do! :-)

On the whole yes, very much enjoying the community.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 57864.58
ETH 2697.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.21