😷 Meaningless Instantly Posted "Welcome Comments" for new Steemit Users are BS!

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)


I see more and more welcome messages for new Steemit users that are instantly (in seconds) posted by people for only one reason: Getting more followers. I've no problem with bots welcoming new users and I think this should be the standard way for the Steemit platform. A bot posting a welcome message with some tips for the start maybe...

But a human profile posting a comment without any interest in the content of the new user or the person itself is bullshit and should not be possible! The new Steemian thinks that there are so many nice people welcoming him and will add them, without any dialog. He also doesn't know that he rewarded the user with an upvote for being shit.


If there won't be a solution for this in the next weeks, I will think about creating one that will make a daily post with an overview of these follower hungry people...

An example for this is a comment like "Welcome to steemit, nice to meet you!:)" Would be interesting to see how many times we can find this post in the chain ;)

In my introduction post I instantly got the mentioned comment and my answer (after some days thinking about it), to which I never got a response, was:

You are fast, but I can't believe that you've read my text in 10 seconds. You don't want to follow me, but you like to meet me here? That's very odd and will be put on my list of questionable steemit users. It's easy to get followers here by commenting new introduction posts without any interest in the shared content, but that's not my way and should not be possible.


I don't want to say that the content of these young blood sucking vampires is not good for the community, but we should think about the future here. How would the introduction posts on Steemit look like, if we all would do this?

Of course, we all want to have more followers, but shouldn't we do this by creating great content and showing our interest in the work of others? What's your opinion?


I know my English is improvable, because I'm not a native speaker and I'm still learning... ;)
Sort:  

Maybe they just read the headline and said hello as a greeting / form of courtesy?

I don't think so. If I'm interested in another person, my first step is to read her story. And I would add her to hear more from this interesting person in the future...

Agreed. As a Steem newbie, I still get excited to see responses on topics I've engaged and when they fall into this category... it's well "not".

I believe this topic has the most bearing for new Steemians concerned with building an "interactive " follower-base and should be taken into consideration.

Bots will always ruin the show...

I don't have a problem with bots that one can recognise by the name or so. The bad thing is that the new users think these comments were created by a human with an interest in the shared content of them.

I agree with you. Indeed I would to say that the price of steem could be in a bubble, because some content could not be very good but the people vote for it. "Welcome comments" are one example of this.

Interesting problem. How can the system stop the overload by robotic posters contributing nothing. Add that to the HF20 debate right?

Resteem bot Service! Promote Your New Post.Find New Freinds - Followers - Upvotes. Send 0.400 SBD and your post url in memo and we will resteem your post to 9000+ followers from two different account.@stoneboy and @vimal-gautam.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59273.25
ETH 2758.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28