Hello Steemian's I Glomm have joined you.

in #steemit5 years ago (edited)

I do not yet fully comprehend all of what this whole business is about with social media and cryptocurrencies, nor do I have any real idea what I am ignorant about in the online world. But as a wise man once said,

"To be ignorant is not a crime, but to refuse to be otherwise is an insult." (Barry Sadler, in the book Casca the Warlord)

So here I am. I left the worlds of social media years ago and only recently have begun a foray into it with Minds first where I post under @glomm111946 so I will make my introduction here with a couple of my posts from Minds.

My first post on minds
Posted on May 26, 2019
I abandoned all social media over two years ago for the normal reasons. I found Facebook to be populated by unmitigated, time siphoning, willful and in the worst cases, dare I say, proud displays of ignorance. Armed with my superstore scale understanding of life the universe and teapots I set out on a grail quest. After a stumble or two, I found the land of milk and honey. It took a little getting used to on both my part as well as my new community members. Do in large part to my intolerance to lactose, but with a little grit and quilted paper. I settled in comfortably, other than a bit of olfactory pollution, into my new surroundings. A quaint little nudist colony populated if you can believe it, with people who shared my own strange proclivity to stories where the antagonist's greatest weakness is always love. No kidding! Take that Voldemort!
Voldemort freaking heard me though because suddenly I heard several little "pops"! Before I fully realized what happened I learned that I was out of ice cream....

Ok. Here I am trying this knew mind thing.
First thing first. I have decided that keeping quiet is in fact complicity. I can no longer tolerate that as I know that, in my little area of the world, I'm generally more open-minded and well-read than most of my peers. I have always prided myself for extolling civility and bridge building over emotional reactionism and wall building.

Let's see how this goes.

Here is another of my posts that is a better sample of what I typically post about.
Posted on June 11, 2019
What is the American dream? We hear about it everywhere in this country. For some strange reason when I was a child it always involved a white picket fence so that is what I picture in my mind every time I hear it. I can't help but wonder what native kids my age think of when they hear "it's the American dream." I hope they think of something else, but they're probably just as brainwashed as I am.
Here is what I think the American dream should be... When the janitor of the local elementary school in every neighborhood in this country, and I'm including Puerto Rico, American Samoa, Guam, and holy shit I just looked up how many U.S. territories there are... You should look that up too. So ya all of this nations school janitors has more than enough money to buy a modest home working less than 40 hours a week and with enough left over for a boat and a plane ticket vacation every year, and still, retire at 55 in comfort. When this is a reality I do believe the American mythological dream will have come true. The pitchfork inspiring part of this dream is that it's completely possible.
Well, just a thought.
What's your version?

With that, I will start exploring this new world.

Thank you
by Terry Nicknig

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit Terry
I saw your #introduceyourself and its nice to meet you.
Blogging is what its all about on this blockchain. The best part is that you could earn money.
I have been here for a while and love it!
But be carefull with all your passwords, Never give those up !! They are yours.
For safety tips visit the white paper, or read one of my blog about safety;
https://steemit.com/community/@brittandjosie/4-o-clocky-steem-keys-key-to-your-succes-so-secure-them
The Steemify App I use is also great, it is available in the Appstore and free, you can See Whats happening in your account. https://steemit.com/busy/@exyle/using-steemify-to-stay-up-to-date-about-the-blockchain-like-project-destiny-please-consider-blockbrothers-for-your-witness-vote

Also Appics and Steepshot are handy apps and Free. I wish you good luck steeming and I Will See you around🍀
Your value and input is appreciated and if you have questions let me know.
We (@xcountytravelers and I ) are presenting New comers in Our @Heyhaveyamet blogs, and There is a Discord called SteemTerminal for newbies and All questions, join in, I am on steemit everyday ! You can always leave a comment.
Greetings from Brittandjosie from the Netherlands

Thank you

Welcome to Steemit @glomm :)

Hello @glomm

Welcome to Steemit & Wish you luck - success with Steemit!

Currently, We're supporting for the Planktons by our small upvote. If you follow @haccolong you will get free upvote of @hoaithu's Curation trail & minimum 1 follow from me. You may like it, Check statement here.

To get 3000points and receive additional rewards from your activities on Steemit, you can use Partiko app for your phone.

Please ignore this reply if you do not need the above.

Posted using Partiko Android

Decentralization of social media is a key next step for Internet 3.0 as we as users can finally get recognized for the value of our attention which is currently undervalued!

Welcome to Steem! You have taken the first step in achieving many goals here at the crossroads of cryptocurrencies, blockchain, and social media. Consistent engagement is needed to progress and grow your following and influence. I am currently working on a weekly post to curate new users and providing them an introduction to the ecosystem. I have selected your post as one I will feature in an upcoming post! In addition, I have published a post that provides great references to assist you in your journey. Feel free to contact me if you have any questions or feedback!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65133.17
ETH 3480.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52