What I Didn't Realise About HF21

in #steemit5 years ago


And Why I Will Be Upvoting Fewer Comments


Apart from the down time yesterday. the biggest change I've seen so far from HF21 is the reduced value of my comment upvote. As you will see from my question to @exyle this morning, I wasn't expecting it.

social-1206612_1280.png
image source


Morning @exyle. I'm a bit confused since I notice my upvote value on other people's comments has halved. I thought that was curation and was supposed to be going up. I'm clearly not understanding something correctly.

Yesterday, to upvote a comment over the dust threshold I had to upvote a minimum of 35%. This morning that percentage is only giving 0.1c which is below the dust threshold and won't be paid out so is a total waste.

Why have my the values of my upvotes on comments gone down rather than up?


And this was his response.


It has to do with the new reward curve. It used to be linear. (1000 SP being worth twice as much as 500SP whenever or wherever (post or comment) the vote was cast).

The reward curve now slopes up slightly first and then turns linear later.

To get initial rewards started you need more SP than before. It's introduced to incentify better curation on posts and combat abuse, but voting on comments has indeed taken a hit because of this.

I have noticed this myself too. I had to increase my vote percentage on comments. I will, therefore, be more selective which one I choose to upvote more than before.


I remember reading about the linear curve thing but didn't really get what that meant. Now I can see it in operation.

Even with dolphin status, my SP will not allow me to deliver many votes above the dust threshold. So using it up on comments will probably not be the best option.

At least upvoting posts there is a good chance other people will be doing the same and, together, we should create an amount that will actually get paid out to the author.

So, apologies if your comments don't get upvoted as they did in the past.

I will be watching carefully over the next week or so and will adjust my behaviour accordingly.

I had been consoling myself on the reduction in author payments with the fact that curation would be going up. Clearly this won't be working as I'd envisioned it. 😢

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

Sort:  

Wow, thanks for explaining that @gillianpearce, I am sure lots of people are wondering the same thing.. Looks like steemit.inc found yet another way to fuck over minnows and take away more reasons for people to stay.. plus It seems like barriar to entry is getting harder instead of easier. I feel like they are basically forcing everyone (especially newbies) to buy steem if they want to be on steemit. LAME.. These changes are definitely going to chase away more people than it brings in..

I agree @moderndayhippie. As time passes I am seeing my Steem investment in broader terms and less about the blogging. Which is a shame because I've made some great friends here. But then I've made some great friends in Steem Monsters too.

It may not be so hard for newbies though, assuming there are people still around for them to interact with, because they won't know any different. So far a newbie perspective they may still be very happy with earning anything.

It has been and continues to be, an interesting journey that's for sure.

I used to get really upset about stuff here but now I try and roll with the punches more and adjust. 😁

I am not upset either, especially since my investment has soley been my time, not my money. And like you I still see steem going places, I just think this was another nail in the coffin for steemit itself.

There is a ton of amazing innovation going on, so I think you are right there, people will be blogging less on steemit and more on specialty (community) stuff like steem monsters, actifit or any of the new DApps that dropped recently with SE so no big deal really, just more transformation of the blockchain or "rolling with the punches" as you so nicely put it ;)

You have received 5x upvotes from the members of @steemexplorers from your free link submission in our discord server. Steemexplorers is an initiative bringing information on various Steemit services and communities in a central discord to save you time and help you grow. It's free, it's easy, and it's here to help you in so many ways. Come by our discord to learn more! Link to Discord: https://discord.gg/6QrMCFq. Our team also offers an additional upvoting service called @givememonsters where you can presently trade in 1 to 10 DEC from the Steem Monsters game for up to $0.03 upvotes on ANY steemit posts. The vote purchasing value here is some of the best returns on your investments that you can find anywhere so come by and visit this service today!

Yup voting on a comment is now something I've abandoned now too.

TBH, the real economic value of most comments is zero anyway, as it's mainly just echo-chambering or bants, so it's no biggie!

the real economic value of most comments is zero anyway

I liked the good feeling that went with it though and I only upvoted "real" comments. If I didn't know the commentor I checked their feed first. 😁

i'm still not clear about the timing aspect of stuff now. From an economic points of view should we be upvoting posts as soon after they are posted as possible? I seem to remember there was some controversy about that, the argument being that who ever could code the fastest bot would win. 😂

I also quite liked upvoting comments - but it's gone now, I'll not think about it again~!

I've set my autovote to 4 mins. I just copied other reliable curators and will tweak as necessary later!

Sounds like a plan. 😁

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Yes, comment votes appear to be out of the windows now, unless the price of STEEM rises.

I have seen a decent rise in curation rewards though, and the flagging of Trending posts is starting to rage.

I have seen a decent rise in curation rewards though

But only on posts right? I used to use a high percentage upvoting comments so I'm going to have to increase the percentage on posts I suppose, to make the most of my SP.

Yes it's gonna be posts from now. If and when STEEM goes up, then comment voting may become viable again.

This did not even cross my mind. Now I have to be more aware of how I vote.

Thanks for clarifying. I had no idea. And no worries on not giving me comment upvotes. I do worry that this will discourage newbies though

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you!
I was wanderding the same thing too!
Weird though but I can definitely understand the reason. I've seen a lot of posts where the author also posted comments and selfvoted them lol!

I've seen a lot of posts where the author also posted comments and selfvoted them

That's true but there are also loads of genuine engagers who will now no longer upcote comments. It's probably going to reduce the number of good comments as well as spam ones.

Those of use who have been round long enough to have formed relationships will still stay in touch no doubt but I'm not sure how it will work for those just starting out. Engaging on people posts was how I got my foothold here. But that was back in early 2017 and things were already very different from then.

It will be interesting to see how many of your comments start to drop off now that you can't upvote them all. I have a feeling the bottom of my posts are going to be like death valley before too long.

For the most part the bottom of my posts are already like death valley @bozz! 😂

I'm a little behind but I did kind of understand what you said and plan on adjusting my ways too. Thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69603.16
ETH 3748.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75