Taking a Hiatus from Steemit - Becoming Disillusioned with it.

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

invert-mike.jpg

I am taking a hiatus from Steemit for a while. My reasons are selfish, but understandable I think.

I keep seeing crap posts that are obviously spammy or low quality getting moderate to large payouts, but the quality content I have posted has been largely ignored. I know it takes time to build a following and establish a presence, but I am an old pro at social media and I know when to step back and walk away to focus my efforts elsewhere.

Now, I am not just blowing my own horn. I know everything I post is not going to drive the world mad with delight and I don't expect hundreds of dollars or a ticker tape parade for a blog post (even a good one). But, I would like to point out the contrast here.

Example :

$1000+ payout and over 800 likes for this short, poorly-formatted, generic article about crypto : https://steemit.com/cryptocurrency/@happymoneyman/money-in-10-years-how-your-future-may-look

$49 payout for this quality article that is well written and includes numerous original photos : https://steemit.com/steemstem/@galacticstone/fossil-hunting-in-florida-s-bone-valley-formation

And the only reason I got more than .25 cents for that article is because I was lucky enough to have a whale give it a powerful upvote. Take away that single whale boost and this article gets less than a dollar.

Another quality post I made : https://steemit.com/steemstem/@galacticstone/meteorites-a-voyage-to-the-asteroid-belt-in-photos

Well written. Numerous original photos. Educational. Payout - 5 measly cents.

Money is not the only reason I am here. I loathe the privacy-invading hypocrisy of Facebook, and I think Steemit has great potential. But, it is very discouraging to produce quality content that is ignored, while subpar posts attract hundreds of dollars or more.

I refuse to game the system and pay for upvotes or whatever these people are doing to make their posts attract that kind of payout. It just doesn't seem right or fair for the content creators who are trying to add to the platform and educate people in a positive way. Sure, I'd like to drive some sales to my website, or make a few bucks from my posts, but the results I am seeing are hardly worth the effort or time spent. I have always tried to make my blogs (anywhere, not just here) informative and educational in some way - to give something out in return for getting a possible sale from it. I try not to be one-sided in that regard and I am never spammy. Yet, I get pennies and nickels while low-quality posts get enormous payouts.

Lastly, I have yet to actually see one dime of anything I have earned on Steemit. I set up an account on Kraken and Bittrex and tried to exchange my Steem into USD, but none of the exchanges will do a transaction unless it exceeds a minimum amount. Apparently my $30 - $40 is not worth it, because it's just sitting in the exchange where I cannot withdraw it yet. And unless I get some whales to power up my posts, it will take me months or years just to make the minimum amount to withdraw - while making pennies per post. It's just not worth my time. Other platforms like Facebook or Instagram are problematic, but I get tangible returns from my posts in the form of sales referrals. I have yet to make a single sale I can attribute to Steemit. So, I am basically wasting my time here. Nobody is seeing or appreciating my posts.

So, I am going to step back from Steemit for a while and think things over and decide if this is worth the continued investment of creative energy and time.

Ok, thanks for allowing me to vent. If I came across as entitled or pissy, that was not my intent. I really would like to see Steemit knock Zuckerberg off his golden throne of social media dominance. I still see promise here and I have met some interesting and nice people so far. But the promise of making some cash for posting quality content has yet to materialize for me after almost two months of trying. So....time to take a hiatus.

:/

Sort:  
Loading...

Don't give up mate, I just saw your fossil post and it is really cool! Check out @geopolis, @steemstem, @curie. Think about using the #geology post for any future rock hunting trips. Agree with you that crappy, poorly-formatted works getting huge payouts is lame, when original work and photos get, well nothing. The community needs people like you so hopefully you reconsider! Cheers!

Edit: resteemed.

Seconding @snowyknight's suggestions!

In addition, you can retrieve your payouts using a combination of @blocktrades and a wallet like mycelium a little more easily than through the services you mentioned- and in considerably smaller amounts! No problem with withdrawing $10-20 payouts there.

I hear what you are saying, and your content is definitely unvalued IMO. It does take a few months to get your head around steemit, and how to maximize your post visibility (to the right people). Please look at @mountainwashere 's post here, he raises some excellent info.

Your 2 example posts actually highlight good and bad aspects of Steemit.

Firstly, the bad is that you can pay the "whales" a lot of money to upvote your posts (in this case the $1000 post). This means that people willing to pay can have their posts upvoted to trending, and hopeful catch more upvotes to amplify their return. It's quite possible that author spent close to $1000 to get the article upvoted via "bidbots".

Regarding your $49 post it was upvoted by steemstem curation (i.e the steemstem curators liked your post). When this happen's it triggers a curation trail, which triggers users who belong to that curation trail to autovote your post. The existence of these curation communities is a saving grace for Steemit IMO. Keep in mind the curation teams have specific criteria when curating and it is wise to ask questions (for instance steemstem is on discord, and there is a general chat group for that). You can also get involved with those communities by leaving (good) comments on people's posts. They will get to know you after a while.

Anyway, have a think about what I am saying :) Btw have you considered Medium and the partner program?

Hi Terry, I wish I had more time available to get involved, but I am spread pretty thin online. I've never been a chat room type of guy. I always keep chat functions turned off on the various social media sites I participate in. I have an aversion to it - it's probably some form of social anxiety I guess. I know that probably hurts me in some ways, but it is what it is.

I'm not going to leave Steemit entirely, but I am no longer to spend the better part of an entire day writing an article and composing it for next to nothing. I can publish those same articles in other venues and get more tangible feedback and possibly some sales referrals.

I think part of the "problem" with Steemit currently is the relatively small active user base. Hashtag discovery can net a lot of hits on a busy site like Instagram or Twitter, but not so much here.

Congratulations @galacticstone! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - Quarter Finals - Day 2


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @galacticstone! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - France vs Belgium


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67661.55
ETH 2619.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72