Wow, Thank You For a Great Returning Welcome Steemit! (a recap of these two weeks back on Steemit, plus what I plan to do next...)

in #steemit7 years ago

[ @stellabelle 's cupcakes, which I'm still thinking about ]

These two weeks back on Steemit have been a whirlwind! 

As of now, my most recent post about the Kansas City Summer Steem Party has over $300 in potential payout!!! What?!?!? This is easily the most I've ever had on a post, and I'm very grateful to everyone in the Steemit community who helped this happen and especially to all the people who came to the Summer Steem Party! They were all great, and deserve your follows, so here's the list of everyone who came again:

@stellabelle
@jessamynorchard
@sykochicka
@fungusmonk
@sylviategan
@pierrefilms
@jacobts
@alfonso1003
@reedracer
@clickinchicken
@goatgarden
@rebeccabe
@virtualgrowth
@melodyrussell
@papa-pepper
@little-peppers
@bluerthangreen

What I've Done Since Coming Back:

I grappled poetically and abstractly with my writers block to get back into the hang of things here:

Writing Posts is Hard and I'm Trying to Get Over It (Part 1/2)
Writing Posts is Hard and I'm Trying to Get Over It (Part 2/2)

I talked in depth about the process of making my first full length and full band instrumentation album:

It Took Four Years, But I Finally Finished My First Full Album! (Cold Stars - Summer Thunder)

and then got into the music itself on the day it released:

My first album, Summer Thunder, is finally out! (Instrumental progressive experimental metal)

On those posts, I was graced by the whale-power-wielding votes of @jaybird, and broke $10 for the first time - twice! Then, he pointed me in the direction of @jessamynorchard's Steemit Local Music Society, setting things up to go full circle at the Steemit Meetup.

What's next?

If you remember the things I was posting last summer before my Steemit hiatus, you know I was largely focused on reviewing music. Here's a couple of the better reviews from the series I was working on:

FIRST Music Review Series on Steemit - The Harmonic Series #5: TTNG - Disappointment Island...but not disappointing album!
Steemit's Own Exclusive Music Review Column - The Harmonic Series #6: finding hope in desolation with... Kayo Dot - Plastic House on Base of Sky

I plan to pick up the #harmonicseries again soon, with more music reviews old and new. Writing about music has been a hobby of mine for over 6 years, and I've written somewhere around 200 reviews. If you have drive to seek out and discover new things, I guarantee you'll enjoy these; I place no limits on what I listen to and what I write about, and I'm excited to share more of my favorite finds with you all!

I'd also like to start sharing more of my unedited smartphone photography, as my portfolio has been growing, and I have more coherent sets.

And finally, my music. I have a lot of material building up that I'll be releasing in the coming months in the form of an EP and another album, and maybe a few collaborations with friends as well. I also want to start regularly contributing to @luzcypher's Steemit Open Mic, as I've been so caught up in recording and production for so long that I'm out of shape as a performer; it will serve as perfect practice, or rehabilitation perhaps.

I'm Very Excited to Be Back

A lot has changed on Steemit since I was here last, and as far as I can tell, all for the better! I can't wait to share more with you all and find out even more about what I've been missing. Til next time!

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by fungusmonk from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Great to hear and welcome back! Look forward to what you will be working on and sharing.

I'm glad you are back, too! I needed to stick my toe in twice before I jumped in, so hopefully I'll be around this time :0

Yeah, Steemit definitely made me do a months-long double-take, but I'm here for good now I think.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60460.59
ETH 2624.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55