'Steemit Local Music Society' for musicians - opening to the public this Friday! It's my pleasure to be one of your admins!

in #music7 years ago (edited)

Steemit has proven itself as a strong, reliable community for the arts over the past few months that I've been here. I've had the pleasure of meeting an array of artists, photographers, producers, and songwriters over the course of my time on the website, and that network is about to get even more tightly knit.

This began with @jessamynorchard reaching out to myself and a couple like-minded Steemian musicians to create a community - a network where we could build tighter relationships in order to streamline the visibility of our projects and support each other. She did exactly that. Together, we have created an intricately organized Discord server called the 'Steemit Local Music Society'. Here, we will be able to share our Steemit posts to build awareness and visibility to each others' projects.

I am happy and proud to say that my role on the server is going to be a general administrator, so you guys will see me frequenting most channels in the Discord. I will continue to aid her in any ways possible to build this out into the best platform that it can be.

As well as being a server administrator, I will be frequenting the music production channels with how-to's and tutorials, and offering my advice to anyone who may need it.

One of my Torches Academy students asked me how to make a hardstyle kick.

I will also be frequenting the EDM channel with my music that I write under the name 'Elpi5'.

A track called 'Chomp', off of my debut EP as Elpi5.

Why is this important to me?

As I posted in Steemit a couple weeks ago, one of the biggest obstacles I've faced so far on the Steemit platform is just that music and art (culture in general) is typically overpowered by the number of crypto/political/economic posts here on the platform. There is nothing fundamentally wrong with this, but as an artist navigating through the 'hot' and 'trending' categories looking for art and culture, I am bombarded by what I call 'the Steemit echo chamber', leaving interesting posts buried under the cryptonews feeds.

As a music teacher/director, it's important to me that platforms like these optimize their ability to allow people to discover original content THEY want to discover. I would love to reach every new and aspiring musician, every artist struggling with marketing and advertising, every producer designing their own sounds for the first time - and aid them in the best way that I can. That's what this community is all about, and with our new Discord server, we will be closer and more organized than ever before.

As Steemit is growing in popularity, I don't think there's anything fundamentally wrong with creating these break-off communities through third-party platforms in order to promote Steemit content. In fact, I think it will make the community stronger than ever. I think this is a natural part of a social media platform's ability to host content to be shared everywhere. We shouldn't feel the need to remain so loyal to Steemit that we sacrifice networking and awareness power. Steemit is a phenomenal platform to host content, but not so much to communicate and stay in touch with your peers. Discord has done a fantastic job with this, and the combination of the two are going to be huge.

I gotta show some love to the amazing team of admins/moderators we've put together so far:

@jessamynorchard
@Rdollarsign
@GiftedGaia
@rondonson
@Jasonrussell
@rockchickjen
@mattie.b-leaver

We've already created a ton of buzz on our Discord server. If you would like to get involved when we open it to the public this Friday, go on to Discordapp.com and create your account. Be sure to leave a comment here so I know how to find you, and I will be adding individuals to the server who wish to be added.

https://discordapp.com/

This is going to revolutionize the way us musicians are leaving our mark on Steemit. Hope to see you all there!

Sort:  

So excited! This is gonna be fun! 🤘

Absolutely me too! I think communities like this are few and far between nowadays. We found some great overlap through Steemit and now we will all be able to grow together.

Yes! Exactly!!! I never had so much networking in my years of music other than Facebook and Instagram, but both didn't really do much for me or the band at all. I've done so much more here on Steemit and I just know this whole thing is going to go over great! Especially with all the hard workers and awesome people involved! @jessamynorchard really knows how to pick the crowd! 😋

See you there..

Looking forward to it!

lmao! Perfect.

Harrison! I'm super excited, been talking with a number of my more musically inclined friends about Steemit lately, I'll definitely send them your way.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 54373.44
ETH 2875.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.05