My first album, Summer Thunder, is finally out! (Instrumental progressive experimental metal)

in #music7 years ago (edited)

IMG_5708.JPG


Here's a link to a post I wrote a couple days ago detailing the challenges and process of writing this album:


https://steemit.com/music/@fungusmonk/it-took-four-years-but-i-finally-finished-my-first-full-album-cold-stars-summer-thunder


It took four years, but I was finally able to realize a vision I've had for so long! I finally finished my first full band album, all written, performed (except for my incredible drummer), recorded, and produced by on my own! 


Summer Thunder is a three piece instrumental music album unlike anything else. While initially taking influence from a few diverse bands such as Tera Melos, Animals as Leaders, and The Fall of Troy, the long period over which the album was written (2013-2017) would lead it to expand in influences to acts as wide ranging as Tigran Hamasyan, Krallice, Elder, Ni, Yowie, and Cult of Luna.


Each song on this album was approached from scratch, with form developed intuitively and composition being focused on juxtaposing and stringing together diverse, unique musical ideas. Everything from avant-prog, mathcore, post-metal, and jazz is represented stylistically, and they blend into something totally new, and hard for me to even describe. 


The vision for this music was the blending and contrasting of styles centered around intense, chaotic, and heavy playing, intended to engage the listener physically and mentally, and by product of the two, inspire an abstract, subjective emotional experience. In simpler terms, if you like heavy, eclectic, engaging music that takes you to unexpected places, I think you might really dig it.


I'm super proud of how it came out and I hope you enjoy it too. If you have any thoughts or like what you hear, let me know!

You can listen to Summer Thunder here:

https://coldstars.bandcamp.com

Sort:  

Tight stuff. All instrumental eh? Congrats on your album, sounds pretty good!

Hope this helps!

"I'm not going to upvote you 🐋 Do it yourself! #8 Contest

  • I have been granted the power to support some of my favourite content creators and some new ones that I have yet to find. Check out @htooms 's blog for deets on how you can contribute to this positive chain

jaybird

Yeah, I have some non instrumental stuff too but this project is all about the riffs hahaha. Glad you like it, I seem to be finally running into some people with similar tastes on here! Back when I originally joined steemit there definitely weren't as many musicians.

Agreed. it's still a small music community. check out the group on discordapp

Oh, how can I find that?

sign up for discord it's a chat/voice app thingy and then you'll be able to find the music room or just msg me when ur signed up if u can't find it.

Oh yeah, I have discord, I just don't know how to use it really. How do I find the music room/you?

contact @jessamynorchard tell her i sent you for an invitation to the room.

LOOK in my last music last post and tell me your opinion

Woah 4years?! Thats intense. Kudos mahn, listened to some of your tracks on soundcloud. I enjoyed "New Genesis " the most (it has some soothing kinda vibe)!!! I'm not into Electronic /Metal and likes (more of Hip-Hop/Rap)but I know a good sound when I hear one. Now following man

Thanks a lot! A much better mix of New Genesis is gonna be on my next EP, which should be out within the next couple months.

That'd be great

this is super crazy awesome amazing!! keep it up man!!!

Thanks, I'm so glad you like it!

Holy moly @ fungusmonk, that shit is TIGHT!!!! Finally had a moment to down and listen tonght! Super cool to meet you and I'm stoked to be listening to your music!!!

Ahhh thank you, I'm glad you like what I'm doing!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60745.88
ETH 2640.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56