Writing Posts is Hard and I'm Trying to Get Over It (Part 1/2)

in #writing7 years ago

Where to begin?

Well, that seems to be the question every time I open up this form to make a post.

As it is, my iNtuition based personality draws me towards possibilities in many directions,, both flowing inward towards my Self and outward towards Object reality.

I have found that deciding on only one topic is insufficient for productive writing. From one point, there are infinite potential directions of inquiry and consideration; this is contemplation in an abstract and pure form, endlessly swirling entreatment towards the broadest and most pervasive ultimate truth. Thus, option paralysis sets in.

Hardly an undertaking within the capacity of anyone; certainly no one I know could manage it. Certainly I couldn't, much as I try. To consider one thing is consideration without remotely visible conclusion. 

"So what about two?" I think, as I add the second tag to a post I have yet to write. 

Things immediately become twice as clear. With two points, lines of connection and reasoning begin to form. Interrelation offers clearer perspective, for what can exist without something to contrast it against? Relativity is the nature of reality. Progressing understanding begins with the dividing process, one into two.

Yet still, two offers staggering possibilities. If one seems insurmountable, two seems at the least incredibly daunting.

I add a third tag.

Three is considered a holy number by numerous cultures, religions, schools of thought. A closed system, an odd number; the first odd prime number, in fact. Indivisible, it stands as a strong monument to clarity.

Triangulating my point of consideration gives me more to work with, but... what's this? Where two doubled my focus, three only gave me 50% more. Still a significant advance, but it's clear I've got logarithmic diminishing returns with each additional point. Three spotlights - or psychic lines or what have you - illuminate this point with even more nuance.

Three is a challenge, but it's one I feel capable of approaching,, if nothing else.

Oh, but I've gone and got all caught up in a vortex of mysticism, and in my singular contemplation of form itself,, brought myself back to the original dilemma: a single point of reference engenders infinite directions of thought. How to get myself to focus, to center on an idea in a way that I know can be concisely and clearly concluded from the outset?

As it seems, writing is most fulfilling when I attempt to articulate what I don't already know. To form a conclusion as part of the process, rather than recording conclusions already made. How to determine then, if,, when I begin writing, it will end concisely and with evident value?

Oh well, next time I'll tell you about four and five,, and maybe there will be a clear conclusion by then. 

-

This piece divided into two posts, with the goal of making myself write more and post more, and not to not worry so much about reception. If I treat every act with the utmost significance and perfectionism, I'll hardly be able to move at all!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60745.88
ETH 2640.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56