Facebook Bans Gay Anarchist Over Topless Beach Photo from Go Topless Day #nsfw

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

The prudes at Facebook are at it again. Thankfully, we now have Steemit, which is free of repressive centralized control of content! Here's the post made tonight at Free Keene by my friend Derrick J Freeman:

I was eating dinner with my boyfriend in our kitchen watching a Facebook live stream debate about guns on campus at the University of Texas when suddenly the video stopped. A pop up said something like, “Session expired.”

Someone reported a photo of me my friends at the beach as nudity, and Facebook responded by restricting my ability to communicate with you on their platform in two ways. I can not post on my wall or respond to messages using Messenger for the next 3 days.

I feel sad that I can’t use Facebook. It is the primary way I communicate with the world. Especially the Messenger app. An acquaintance I met at a conference asked me a question, and I am not able to respond. I am not even able to explain why I can’t respond. That is embarrassing and frustrating. I want to maintain a good reputation with this new friend, but I can’t respond to him, and he doesn’t know that I can’t. Fortunately I have been using Signal, Telegram, and other messaging apps, so I am still largely able to communicate.

The part that upsets me is that it is likely someone I know, not an enemy, who caused this to happen — totally unintentionally. I posted that photo two places: my public wall, and the private event wall. One would assume the public one got flagged by a hater. I checked. It’s still up. In fact it had several “likes” and “loves” in reaction.

However, to my surprise the one I posted in the event page for “Speedo Day” was gone. Could someone from this event get me banned from Facebook for posting a photo? Bizarre indeed, but what other conclusion can I draw?

I suspect that what happened is that someone good-hearted saw this picture on event page and clicked, “I don’t want to see this.” And then have the reason, “Contains nudity” as the reason. They didn’t know it would cause Facebook to lock me out for 3 days and make it easier for haters to lock me out for longer. They just didn’t like the picture and didn’t want their kids to see it or something. Boobs are bad, right?

A great irony is that this picture was taken the same day as Go Topless Day also known as Free the Nipple. It’s a day to promote the idea that everyone should be free to be topless without fear of molestation, especially by government agents.

There is partial nudity in the picture. Everyone has their bottoms covered with a speedo or bikini bottom. None of us has a top. 3 generations ago, it was illegal for everyone. Even gay civil rights hero Harvey Milk was arrested for being barechested in New York in 1947. Only recently did anyone win the freedom to be shirtless without fear of punishment. Isn’t it well past time that everyone enjoyed that freedom?

Shame on Facebook for enforcing a busybody policy that discriminates against and body-shames women for dressing in the same perfectly acceptable way as men.

Sort:  

Take a look at your comments here...some of the same mentality you find on Facebook is very dominant on Steemit. Change does not happen quickly or without serious sacrifices and struggles!

Yip, and I can't imagine any whale on Steemit flagging this post.

It is fucked up that there are still people who are terrified of female nipples.

The rich will always censore the poor. :( That's how they try to control them and protect their money.
Rich people see poor people as sickness that needs to be eradicated.

@ftlian, on steemit if you don't use the nsfw (not suitable for work) flag for this kind of posts you risk being heavily flagged by whales resulting in your reputation going below 0 and your postings turning invisible....

That is oppression which makes this place just another censorship hell.

Where is that, a category?

I see you managed to change the tags before I explained. I hope your post is not flaged.

Ivano,your comment is based on your personal prejudice,and I belive most people here will disagree with you. I don´t care about your religion or your prude sentiments,don´t discriminate others like this. You should be flagged for flagging. If men are allowed to be topless,so should women.

I agree @kooshikoo. However steemit.com has the right to propose his rules. They have the nsfw tag rule for certain (we agree arbitrary) type of content. The thing is that rule is not being properly handled right now and it is an issue that needs to be fixed:
https://steemit.com/steemit/@klye/nsfw-content-not-showing-up-in-blog

Can you undo the flag, @ivano? I've added it in the title. Is that how one tags the post?

By tag did you mean in the title or as a category? Thank you.

To use the "nsfw" tag properly, it needs to be the first tag for your post. It doesn't hurt to have it in the title as well.

Personally, I have no problem with this. But I work for myself, so I have nothing to worry about. Good luck to you.

@ats-david, there is a very good reason why steemians won't use the nsfw tag as the 1st tag and the reason is the site is not properly handling post when the nsfw tag is used as the 1st. one. Check here:
https://steemit.com/steemit/@klye/nsfw-content-not-showing-up-in-blog

I just added that as a category, or do you mean that #nsfw should be in the title?

i vote are you willing to back my vote bloggers ?
I feel happy if you vote me my work
https://steemit.com/photography/@zein/my-work-together-nikon-d3300-original-photos

Steemit is "free of repressive centralized control of content"??
LOL
Just look how many downvotes I get, automatically, whatever I post. Free, right.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56615.57
ETH 2387.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30