NSFW Content Not Showing up in Blog?

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

I had just finished posting my latest post I was sort of shocked and saddened.. The was the post? Announcement: Steemit Talks Sex - Hosted by @royaltiffany and @klye when I noticed it didn't seem to appear in my blog. I wonder if this is because I included the #nsfw sign first..?

While I am aware that the source code is now public to setup my own clone of this site, Is this completely necessary in order for me to easily view my own adult content? I felt as if I'd been kicked in the nuts a bit after I spent a good while working on the above post only to realize that no one who even follows my blog is going to be able to see it...

One thing I can say for certain is that I do agree that we need to be keeping adult content out of the eyes of minors it almost seems as if we've gone a wee bit overboard on the measure here without proper thought given to the nature of humans and what they generally seek for entertainment.

A possible solution...


@dan or @dantheman we need better tools to be able to safely deliver adult content without it being seen by kids. My suggestion is that you allow for some sort of image/content mask (spoilers) that a user has to click on in order to view it. This would allow for users that enjoy NSFW content (A large portion of us) to deliver accurately labeled content and hide it from those whom do not want to see it.. but not be penalized for freely expressing ourselves.

I am pretty disappointed personally on the way adult content is currently handled on Steemit... :/

"Change how it looks.. filters out the good bits."





Please go check out this post. This live show is going to be awesome, please go get your questions in:

Announcement: Steemit Talks Sex

Sort:  

Yes it is a bit odd. We can't see our own content due to a tag, but Steemit still shows muted accounts in our replies section. It seems a bit backwards.

I think it should show up on blogs, maybe with a check box. Not throwing it up on the front page where people who don't want it is fine, but if someone decides to look at your blog, that is their choice.

People not using the nsfw tag as the 1st tag, but using it, have a valid point until this issue is properly handled. At the moment using the nsfw tag as the 1st tag is nearly equivalent to not posting at all.

Great suggestion, @klye. I touched on this a bit earlier stating we should be properly tagging NSFW content. However, that's not a complete solution right now when the tag has been buried.

Downvoting is a toss up for me. There are some posts that definitely should be hidden, (i.e. harassment, bots, etc) but when it comes to original content, or "explicit" images, there is also a fair amount of people that want to see that.

I think @timelapse's idea is great. Click to consent, a warning, or a tag could be an easy fix for situations like these.

Here's to future updates that will make everyone's experience better! Cheers!

Crappy circumstances.. Still unsure why this was done in the first place to be honest.

No #nsfw shows in your Blog or in the searchable tags. I have had that problem several times. It will show up on Steemd and Steemstats though!

Damn silly if you ask me.. Give me the tools to allow me to hide my content from eyes that don't want to see it...

Don't just friggin take my post and throw it out of sight completely.. That ain't right in the least.

Good idea. It's kind of annoying that adults can't see adult content or view adult materials because "Think of the children".

It's the nanny state at it's worst and it is reaching everywhere. It is the responsibility of the parents to police there children and monitor what they are doing NOT the whole rest of the world. If we still had real parenting and people took responsibility for themselves and looked after their own children this would not be an issue.

You raise a very valid point cryptofiend! While I'm still all for some sort of spoiler tag implementation it is at the end of the day the responsibility of the parents to keep their kids from adult content. Thank you for the reply.

Although my illustrations are very cartoon in nature.. They did NOT start out like that. I write and illustrate for an adult audience. :P Basically all my old work is NSFW. Shame I can't upload it here with an nsfw tag without fear of no one (including myself) not being able to see it here.

My idea is actually better, if a post contain nsfw, sex or related, We user has to remember to tag it for adults. so when people click on the post they are forced to answer the question: "Are you an adult over 18 ready to see the content?" YES or NO.

Solid argument in posts and comments. Hard to talk decentralized and censored together.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62102.31
ETH 2432.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67