Let's Talk—How Did You Decide On Your Steemit Username?

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

On social media people are often known and referred to by their usernames. Even if someone knows you by your real name, in practice they would call you only by your username. If a user wishes to remain publicly anonymous, and you know their real name, you never use it in public unless you want to dox them.

That my friends is the unspoken rule of the internet. Therefore, this ensures we end up calling people by their usernames while making conversation. Referring to users by their real names-even when you know them isn't preferable. They might even find it annoying if you use it constantly.

Any successful influencer will tell you that there are many things to remember when selecting a username. But few people actually give creating a username or online identity any real thought. The importance of a good brand name carries a lot of weight and importance, far more than most people think it might.

Importance of a good username?

In the world of marketing, the correct brand name can make all the difference between getting traction in the community and failing to make an impact or generating sufficient traction. On the internet, usernames need to be easy to remember but more importantly they need to sink into the minds of anyone you wish would remember it. If it really matters to you, then it needs to be in-line with what you are trying to accomplish.

Real name vs pseudo name

My real name isn't hard to remember or pronounce yet it's just easier for Steemians to call me by my username. Even at SteemFest, except for my friends and members of my crew, everyone referred to me as firepower or FP. As someone who loves observing what other people do, I found this situation quite interesting. Because Steemit isn't just an online content sharing platform, it has offline side to it where Steemians interact with one another on a regular basis, form real relationships and whatnot!

It was great because people have heard of the username Firepower, even if they didn't know me on a personal level. Most know me as the admin-mod of Steemit.Chat. If not, they knew that Firepower Crew is who they need to contact for any assistance during SteemFest etc. Admittedly, the username is also catchy!

For my @steepshot account I use @mnaik. This is where I share lot of pictures from my day-to-day life, travel and things I'm doing. The username is basically a combination of the initial of my first name and my surname brought together. It is easy for people to remember and has a personal touch to it.

Why Firepower?

When I first discovered Steemit I knew this is going to change lives for the better. I felt I can become part of that change and felt like I've found a new purpose in life where I could do something good for others and also benefit from doing something right.

This platform, for me infused a lot of positivity in it's character and foundation. Ergo, I felt that this is going to make a massive impact on the lives of most of it's users-which it is already!

However, I didn't just guess my username, use a name generator or flip a coin. The morning of the day I signed up, I was watching a few tank videos and that's how the name Firepower came to me. As a motorhead in my personal life, I love everything automotive and in particular I enjoy watching and reading about battle tanks and military aircrafts. I don't like war but I think these machines are awesome nevertheless.


Source

Now the real question I asked myself at the time was, 'Why should I use it?" and "What am I going to do on my account?"

I wanted my work on the platform to make a positive difference and the username Firepower was desirable. Because to me, this name packs a punch! From that perspective I suppose the username (luckily) fit me appropriately given my journey on this platform and a some of my accomplishments. These were my aspirations when I signed up!

Since hindsight is 20/20-this platform gave me an incredible opportunity to prove myself and the username I feel sometimes, turned out to be rather lucky for me!

Infact my friend @surfermarly has a very interesting question concerning our usernames in her video here! Be sure to check it out and answer it on her post!

So, Let's Talk!

How did you come up with your username and why? I'm sure many of you here are trying to create a brand of your own on Steemit. If so, does it tie-in with your future goals on this platform or any others that you are on?


If you like my work kindly resteem it to your friends. You may also continue reading my recent posts which might interest you:

  1. Steemit Mentioned In: How to File Tax Returns in India for Your Bitcoin Profits—My Latest Feature In TheQuint!
  2. 4 Tips For Steemit Account Recovery & Wallet Security!
  3. Steemit.Chat Contest #10 + Contest #9 Winners Announcement!

Follow Me: @firepower

Sort:  

Life is an endless topic and I have been through many experiences just like others so I wanted to share my journey of life as my username

Well given the fact that statistically I have lived 2/3 of my life expectancy it just ocurred to me than I am on the way out...plus I had nothing else to do at the time.

Yes, usernames are important to brand your content in any way. As long as your content is appealing to people, your username will be known as well.

Haha! :-)

Me too ;)

Indeed! :D

I love the username firepower. Its so cool

Noticed am getting addicted to reading your blog @firepower. I always find it interesting.
My username came from who i am and what i am popularly know and called.
By my proffession as a pilot, i am refered to as 'captain'. My name is precious, friend call me Pee. So i am popularly called Capt Pee.
Now coming to steemit, I just change the 'Capt' to cee, hence the username Ceepee!!!

Awesome! Had no idea whatsoever as to the origin of your username. But now I know better .

That's actually pretty cool!

Cool that was lit...

That’s my first nickname since 2006, then in 2008 appeared an Italian wine with this name

I wanted something that was simple and rasy to remember. So I chose Dber.

It was only months later that I googled dber and found out it is an acronym for "Discipline Based Educational Research", which is what I've beeen trying to do with my mycology posts from the start. Pure chance.

What a fun topic! I work in TV production. One of the clever things producers who open their own companies do is have a catchy name for their production company. I don't have a production company but I always knew that, if that opportunity ever happened, I'd use a play on my last name. I kinda loved the idea of a title card saying Piece of Schmidt Productions. :) But, for Steemit, I didn't go with that idea. Instead I chose the other name I've always wanted to use for a production company, @schmidthappens.

Yours is definitely one of the coolest here on this platform! A+ :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63799.64
ETH 3130.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97