One Year on Steemit!

in #steemit6 years ago

That's right, can you believe it? One year has passed already! I had no idea.. I opened up steemd to have a look at my profile and there it was in the corner... 365 days today! Time flies when you are having fun!


20130929-IMG_4184.jpg

So what have I spent my year doing? Well as a photographer I have been focussed on sharing my photography with my audience. Whether its a tutorial, a story or a travel write up. I have built up 1404 followers, joined #thealliance and made some wonderful friends there, travelled to some far-flung regions of the globe. Lets have a quick look back:

I live in Edinburgh Scotland, and one of my favourite things to do has been to share some of the beautiful sights of my city.


5887590505_b37874f8b1_b.jpg


20121021-IMG_2112_3_4_tonemapped.jpg


20140122-IMG_4927.jpg


20121104-IMG_2274_5_6_tonemapped-edit 2.jpg


20121104-IMG_2318.jpg


20110629-IMG_5281_2_3_tonemapped walter scott.jpg

Scenic Ceilings

I posted about the uniqueness of ceilings that you can find in Europe as well as other places.. an often overlooked and completely unnoticed part of a room.. there are some incredible ceilings out there. Just think about how often you actually bother to look up .. then think of Michelangelo spending 4 years hunched over, painting the sistine chapel ceiling. Here is one of my favourites, the ceiling of St Giles Cathedral:


20140511-IMG_5879 copy.jpg

Sunsets

I shared some of my favourite sunsets. Its a popular topic in Edinburgh as we have such expressive skies. Every sunset is unique and beautiful and worth a photo! Even outside of Edinburgh sunset photos are popular among photographers.. we don't call it golden hour for nothing! Its like crack for your eyes:


20170507-IMG_5625.jpg


20160604-IMG_3374_5_6_tonemapped.jpg


15244497681_3f44eb4b86_o copy.jpg


20151029-IMG_1758.jpg


Tutorials

I wrote some tutorials over the past year as well..

How to Photograph a Solar Eclipse:








How to photograph an International Space Station fly-by:


20140418-20140418-IMG_5601.jpg





How I make an HDR:


20170507-IMG_5630_1_2_tonemapped_1 copy.jpg





How I made my Steemit Profile Pic:


IMG_3760.jpg

There were more tutorials than these that I have on my feed. If you scroll back far enough you will find them all. There was the tutorial for photographing the moon, building your own tilt shift lens, photographing lightning and avoiding copyright violations and plagiarism.




Travel around the World

I went on some pretty amazing trips in the past year. This was not planned to coincide with steemit or anything like that. In fact, these trips were mostly booked and planned long before I even discovered steemit. It was just serendipitous that my travel plans and love of photography are compatible with steemit and what I like to share here. Here are some of the more memorable travels I have posted on:

Singapore

After a week and a half in the Indonesian jungle with NO AC, we were relieved to be in Singapore.. still hot as hell, but with the sweet relief of air conditioning whenever you went indoors.. and Londoners... Singapore's metro system is also Air-Conditioned.. Tell your local government to install AC on the tube!


20180128-IMG_6198.jpg


20180128-IMG_6204.jpg


20180130-IMG_6598.jpg


20180130-IMG_6583.jpg

Glenfinnan/The Harry Potter Train

I shared with you a trip I made to the scottish highlands, to the glenfinnan viaduct and even rode the steam train that they filmed on. Although admittedly this trip is from about 5 years ago! I only now on steemit had ocassion to write about it!


20140715-IMG_6636 copy.jpg


20140715-IMG_6803_4_5_tonemapped copy.jpg


20140715-IMG_6814 copy.jpg

The Maldives

Without a doubt the one trip I was most excited about this whole year was my diving trip to the Maldives. It ticked two boxes on the bucket list for me. Doing a liveaboard and diving in the Maldives. A Liveaboard is when you 'live aboard' a boat for a few days, week or more and go diving ever day all day instead of having to come back to shore every morning.

There were some major highlights, but none greater than encountering a whale shark!

I got some serious sea legs on that trip, when we got back onto solid land I struggled to walk in a straight line!


20170925-IMG_0565.jpg


stingray on d1d3_1.2.1.jpg


8_1.14.1.jpg


IMG_8857.JPG


2_1.5.1.jpg


1_1.1.1.jpg

The Future

It has been an interesting and wild ride this year. I had some early posts payout in the hundreds of dollars, blowing my mind, and posts that paid out less than a dollar for months on end.. it can be frustrating and demotivating, and it can be exciting and hugely rewarding!

Steemit has it's ups and downs but I have faith in the platform. Its one of the first of its kind in being a decentralised, blockchain technology.. and though I don't understand all the technical details, I understand enough to find it exciting, with an interesting future. I have invested some of my own fiat currency into steem not just to increase my SP voting power but also because I have confidence that this platform will continue to grow from strength to strength. There are some great witnesses out there doing a lot of work for the community, @nobelwitness, @enginewitty, @guiltyparties and @c0ff33a to name but a few. They have my vote, and I would implore you to vote for them, or take the time to learn about witnesses, their importance to the platform and use your vote on witnesses you believe contribute positively to the platform.

As steemit grows, I hope to grow with it, so I may contribute more to the community, but also to meet more great people, make even more new friends scattered across the globe and of course make a living off steemit! At the moment I am still miles away from that goal.. but one day!

I had hoped that I would have reached rep 60 before my 1st year was up, but I am currently on 59.916 according to steemnow.com which is sooooo close! But I did pass 1000 followers which I am proud of.

Thank You

Before I wrap up this post, I just wanted to thank every one of my followers for .. well following me, upvoting, commenting on my posts, being supportive, and producing amazing content for me to upvote, comment and enjoy on this platform. A special thanks to my steemit family #thealliance for being the amazing, support group that they are. They do so much for the steemit community its hard to believe! Just the charity initiatives alone are making a big difference to many lives!

I am looking forward to another year of adventure on this platform. I predict things are going to get even better!


image

Thanks for Looking.
Follow me and read more of my posts here: @fiftysixnorth
Don't forget to Upvote and Resteem


Sort:  

Congrats buddy 👍 #steemon

Fabulous.png

Every one of these shots is spectacular and magical! Wow! Incredible views, breaktaking photos, and superb processing!

HappySteemiversary.png

Thanks so much @thekittygirl :) I can't believe its already been a year now!

Awesome recap of one successful trip around the sun while being a Steemian
20140330140208-bb1d17c3.gif

Thanks so much.. and that gif is the most amazing thing I have ever seen. lol

self aggrandize UV on it cause peeps can jack it , from giphy, lol
;) glad u like

lol! awesome.. next birthday on facebook is getting this!

alliance fam....salute from ltc (yolandi)
yeah is freaking rad, take it ez :)

o7 likewise :)

Thank you @fiftysixnorth for this great post. It was very interesting to read about your last year. You had some amazing trips and your pictures are extraordinary. I would like to be able to take pictures like that.

Let´s hope the next year will be like your last. Resteemed.

Thanks so much @billy-thai :) It took a lot of practice to start taking these pictures :) but it's a labor of love! Thanks for the resteem :)

This is a really creative way to celebrate your first year on Steemit - I'm really impressed you took the time to reference your own past posts that are landmarks on your journey - great idea and one I am sure you will see reproduced.

Of course the main thing that strikes you reading through this post is the photography, every single photo is a visual feast - you have a real talent for finding the absolute best angle of any situation and then capturing it perfectly.

I'm confident the next year will be even more exciting, plenty of new developments on the horizon. It's a shame you didn't get to hit Rep 60, I don't actually know how it works I think it's a combination of posts including comments and also the amount and value of upvotes - that's why you see relatively new accounts stepping in and hitting mid 60's rep in a few month because they bought in Steem and bid bot posts into the $100's

c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance #witness

Thanks mate :) I wasn't sure how to do a 'bday post' but figured maybe running through what I consider to be my highlights was a good way to go, and it lets me share photos that i've posted before that newer followers haven't seen yet :)

Thank you for your kind words on my photography :) Its always a great motivator to get positive feedback from people!

I think the rep is mostly calculated on payout. At least its a big factor. I think the bid bots do artificially slam up people's rep score.. the first week on steemit I had a post catch the eye of a whale and I ended up with a $250 payout.. my rep went from 25 - 56 from that alone. Its been a long slow climb ever since! lol

Happy Birthday! Loved the hanging gardens posts. That ceiling has a dizzying effect, oof. Glad I was here to help share it all😎

Thanks man, and I think that one was one of my favourite posts too. The place was incredible and its one of my favourite memories now.. I bet you would love it in person!

Oh, it's been etched into my places that 'I must Visit' because of that ;)

Awesome. I hope you do make it out there one day :)

Many congratulations @fiftysixnorth. I wish you get more success on this great platform.

We share 1 year on steemit my friend! Your post is terrific and all of the best in your future endeavors! Blessings and upvoted!

That's great! Congratulations to your one year on steemit too :)

Incredible post @fiftysixnorth. Amazing pictures. Congratulations!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61383.17
ETH 2915.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61