How the heck I became a bilingual person

in #steemit6 years ago

Cómo diablos me volví bilingüe

Cerebro-Bilingue.jpg
Source / Fuente

Happy Friday for all my followers and new Steemians who have joined us today to our community.

Feliz Viernes para todos mis seguidores y para todos los nuevos Steemians que se han unido hoy a nuestra comunidad.

Taking a look back to what I’ve done with my life, I realized that have learnt to make lots of things that have helped me highlight among people when it comes to professional life. One of these things I’ve achieved – one of those that make me feel totally proud of myself – is the fact of being a bilingual person: having the capability of speaking English and Spanish languages. In past days, after talking to my wife about what I’ve done till now, I wondered myself something that I have never thought about: how the heck did I do for learning a second language?

Echando un vistazo a lo que he hecho con mi vida, me di cuenta que he aprendido a hacer muchas cosas que me han ayudado a sobresalir entre las personas cuando se trata de la vida profesional. Una de las cosas que he logrado – una de esas que me hacen sentir totalmente orgulloso de mí – es el hecho de ser bilingüe: tener la capacidad de hablar inglés y español. Días atrás, después de hablar con mi esposa sobre lo que he hecho hasta ahora, me pregunté a mí mismo algo que nunca había pensado: ¿cómo diablos hice para aprender a hablar una segunda lengua?

hw.gif
Source / Fuente

This question also came into my mind because, when I talk to my fellow allies from @thealliance in Discord chat, I sometimes see how they try to interact in both Spanish and English languages. For example, I know @latino.romano and @crisangel use Google translator in order to speak with all of native English-speaking allies and, as result, their effort is very well rewarded as I’ve seen how some allies, for example @c0ff33a and @katrina-ariel, have also made the same: trying to speak in Spanish language.

Esta pregunta también vino a mi mente porque, cuando hablo con mis compañeros de @thealliance en el chat de Discord, veo a veces cómo tratan de interactuar tanto en inglés como en español. Por ejemplo, sé que @latino.romano y @crisangel usan el traductor de Google para hablar con todos los aliados que hablan inglés de forma nativa y, como resultado, su esfuerzo es muy bien recompensado ya que he visto cómo algunos aliados, por ejemplo @c0ff33a y @katrina-ariel, han hecho también lo mismo: tratar de hablar en español.

Well, I’m ready to tell you how my journey for learning to speak English language has been and how I feel when speaking another language.

Bueno, estoy listo para decirles cómo ha sido hasta ahora mi camino para aprender a hablar inglés y cómo me siento cuando hablo otro idioma.

Everything started at elementary school. I studied five years at a private school that had very good teachers. I still remember some fragments of my English classes at that time (I was maybe 8 or 9 years old). I knew since that moment that it was going to be easier for me learning another language ‘cause we made so many repetitive tasks and exercises that helped me reinforce basic knowledge about grammar, pronunciation and other skills required for it. I also remember my English teacher’s name: Nancy!

Todo empezó en la escuela primaria. Estudié cinco años en una escuela que tenía muy buenos profesores. Aún recuerdo algunos fragmentos de mis clases de inglés de esa época (tenía tal vez 8 o 9 años). Supe desde ese momento que iba a ser fácil para mí aprender otro idioma porque hicimos tantas tareas y ejercicios repetitivos que me ayudaron a reforzar los conocimientos básicos sobre gramática, pronunciación y otras habilidades requeridas para ello. ¡También recuerdo el nombre de mi profe de inglés: Nancy!

egg.jpg
Source / Fuente

After that, at high school, I also had a great English teacher: Luz Nelsy. She helped me – while she was working at my school – to increase my English skills through exercises, recommendations and dedication to me by seeing some potential in me. At that time, I was that guy who helped classmates to do their English homework – I earned some money by doing it – so I decided to take advantage of that opportunity as those tasks allowed me to learn more and more. I always said something when that kind of situations happened: I’m earning something more than money, I’m earning knowledge and they are losing the opportunity to learn something that will be useful after school.

Después de eso, en la secundaria, también tuve una gran profesora de inglés: Luz Nelsy. Ella me ayudó – mientras que estuvo trabajando en el colegio – a incrementar mis habilidades en inglés a través de ejercicios, recomendaciones y dedicación hacia mí al ver mi potencial. En esa época, yo era el chico que le ayudaba a sus compañeros a hacer sus tareas de inglés – gané algo de dinero haciéndolo – así que decidí aprovechar esa oportunidad ya que esas tareas me permitieron aprender más y más. Siempre decía algo cuando sucedía ese tipo de situaciones: Estoy ganando algo más que dinero, estoy ganando conocimiento y ellos están perdiendo la oportunidad de aprender algo que será útil después de la escuela.

Once I finished high school, I felt I still was very weak in my English skills as for searching a job opportunity related to that. Besides, due to the lack of money at that time in my home, I could never pay a decent English course to master this language. There only was a single thing I could do for improving it: learn English language by my own.

Una vez que terminé la secundaria, sentí que aún mis habilidades en inglés eran muy débiles como para buscar una oportunidad de trabajo en ese campo. Además, debido a la falta de dinero en mi hogar para ese entonces, nunca pude pagar un curso decente de inglés para dominar este idioma. Solo había una cosa que podía hacer para mejorarlo: Aprender inglés por mi cuenta.

ycdt.gif
Source / Fuente

I started looking for easier ways to learn English, besides I already had some habits that helped me a lot such as, for example:

  • Listening to music in English language (Rock & Metal, my favorite music genres)
  • Reading a large variety of texts (such as song lyrics, articles, books and others)
  • Watching subtitled TV programs (movies, prime-time shows, documentaries, etc.) and YouTube videos from people who teach you how to speak English.

In order to complement these activities, I found a particular job that lead me to the next level in this field: working as a freelancer by translating any kind of text from English to Spanish and vice versa.

Empecé a buscar formas más fáciles de aprender inglés, además ya tenía algunos hábitos que me ayudaron mucho tales como, por ejemplo:

- Escuchar música en inglés (Rock & Metal, mis géneros musicales favoritos)
- Leer una gran variedad de textos (tales como letras de canciones, artículos, libros y otros)
- Ver programas de TV subtitulados (películas, shows en la hora estelar, documentales, etc.) y videos de YouTube de personas que te enseñan a hablar inglés.

Para complementar estas actividades, encontré un trabajo en particular que me llevó al siguiente nivel en este campo: trabajar como freelancer al traducir cualquier tipo de texto del inglés al español y viceversa.

My job as a freelancer has been the best work experience I’ve ever had till now ‘cause I worked at home, managed my time and earned some good money doing what I liked the most but, unfortunately, the lean times came into my job and had to look for one at a company. The good thing was that my job as a translator precisely helped me to be hired at a bilingual call center, so I kept practicing my English skills by handling all the software provided in this language.

Mi trabajo como freelancer ha sido la mejor experiencia laboral que haya tenido hasta ahora porque trabajé desde casa, manejaba mi tiempo y ganaba muy buen dinero haciendo lo que más me gustaba pero, infortunadamente, llegaron las “vacas flacas” a mi trabajo y tuve que buscar uno en una empresa. Lo bueno fue que, precisamente, mi trabajo como traductor me ayudó a ser contratado en un call center bilingüe, así que seguí practicando mis habilidades en inglés al manejar todos los programas en este idioma.

freelancer.gif
Source / Fuente

Now that I’m here in Steemit talking to you, I’m improving much more my English skills because, by being this one the primary language used in the platform, I see myself obliged to give the best of me and use everything I know in order to fluently speak to you in your mother language. I feel very happy and proud of me because every day I learn and know a lot about you thanks to this ability.

Ahora que estoy aquí en Steemit hablando con ustedes, estoy mejorando mucho más mis habilidades con el inglés porque, al ser este el idioma principal de la plataforma, me veo obligado a dar lo mejor de mí y usar todo lo que sé para hablar fluidamente con ustedes en su lengua materna. Me siento muy feliz y orgulloso de mí porque cada día aprendo y conozco más de ustedes gracias a esta habilidad.

Being an autodidact person and taking the initiative to speak English on my own have lead me to where I am now, besides I’m totally sure that this ability will open new job and life opportunities better than expected.

El ser autodidacta y el tomar la iniciativa de aprender inglés por mi cuenta me han llevado a donde estoy ahora, además estoy totalmente seguro de que esta habilidad abrirá nuevas oportunidades de trabajo y vida mejores de lo esperado.

Well, this is all for this post. There’s only one question I want to ask you as native English-speaking Steemians: Do you consider that I speak English well? I’d really love to read your answers ‘cause this will help me to look for another ways or tools to improve my skills as a bilingual person.

Bueno, esto es todo por este post. Solo hay una pregunta que quiero hacerles como Steemians que hablan inglés nativo: ¿Consideran que hablo bien inglés? Realmente me encantaría leer sus respuestas porque esto me ayudará a buscar otras formas o herramientas para mejorar mis habilidades como bilingüe.

Thank you for taking the time to read me and see you in my next post!

¡Gracias por tomarse el tiempo de leerme y nos vemos en mi siguiente post!

Thank you - Hannibal.gif


Did you read my last posts yet? Let me invite you to read them:

¿Ya leíste mis últimos posts? Permíteme invitarte a leerlos:

Behind The Curtain challenge / Reto “Detrás de la Cortina"

Goodbye, Stephen Hawking! / ¡Adios, Stephen Hawking!

Beksinski’s Art – Part II / El arte de Beksinski – Parte II

Seven cardinal rules for life / Siete reglas básicas para la vida

Petro is not a cryptocurrency / El Petro no es una criptomoneda

Sort:  

Speaking more than one language is a must nowadays. With the arrival if the Internet, the distances shortened and we got the opportunity to meet people from different countries, learn about their culture and practice our language skills more often.

You are totally right @lymepoet, for me a second language has helped me to get some jobs and have the opportunity to speak to the world - a priceless benefit among people I know who don't speak English.

Thank you for stopping by and commenting my post, dear friend!!! =D

I’m earning something more than money, I’m earning knowledge

This is so true! I love your attitude, and I think you speak English beautifully. Thank you for the opportunities to practice my Spanish. I hope one day to understand and speak Spanish even half as well as you are able to communicate in English. :)

Thank you for your comments @katrina-ariel. Actually, one of my next posts is intended to explain why I write bilingual posts and trust me sweetheart, it will surprise you!!

Wow you are amazing You deserve a Resteem @felobtc .. please continue supporting @minnowsupporter

Thank you for the resteem @minnowsupporter!! =D

Sure thing. I am gonna post Feature A Steemian soon. If you follow the mechanics, you might be the very first one ;)

I have never seen you chat on a lengthy basis. I blame that for my inactivity in the qurator community. But I could mistaken you for an native English speaker if you did not mention it. I'm a non-native English speaker but the language comes more fluid to my mind that my own dialect. You're doing well. :)

Trivia: 8 years old is the most optimum time to learn different languages.

Thank you for your king words @adamada. I can see that you also speak English very well, that's great because this is the wey we can know each other and oper our minds to a different world. =D

You speak/write it very well and I'm sure the posture to tackle learning it has paid off. Great post too 😎

Thank you @enginewitty for your kind words and yeah, I feel totally proud of the way I've been learning English language and agree with you when saying it has paid me off very well!!

Languages can be beautiful, I also started learning english through cartoons, tv and music, hadn't realised how fortunate I was until I was older and saw how sometimes it would get me more recognition than some of my peers, many things such as steemit have made me enforce that realisation but now it kinda sucks that I speak it better than my native tongue. Lol So at some point I plan to also spread it here as I also improve my english. Thanks for the good read, the motivation and shoutout to @minnowsupporter too for revealing another talent.

Thank you @ange.nkuru for your words and for sharing me this part of your life. I think many of us have taken the decision to learn doing something through the available means and this is really valuable when it comes to put it on practice. And yea, of course I'll be supporting what @minnowsupporter is doing for us!

Thank you so much @ange.nkuru just like @felobtc you are a talent :) just continue supporting @minnowsupporter and you might be the one to be featured next :) Check on my post to find out what is Feature a Steemian and how to be one

You have collected your daily Power Up! This post received an upvote worth of 0.25$.
Learn how to Power Up Smart here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 59274.98
ETH 2600.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44