About Tag Awareness and Magic TagssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

On Steemit, you have to tag your posts.
This is to categorize the content.
Many users don't know how to tag right.
They spend hours for their writing, but then put it in the wrong category.

A few days ago, I noticed that timsaid had set a wrong tag for his post.
I contacted @timsaid and this is what I remember the chat went like:

me: Hello ! how are you today ? :)
timsaid: I'm good, thanks for asking ! How are you ? :D
me: Good. Thanks. :) Can we talk about your tags ?
timsaid: Oh yes please ! 
me: You tagged your last science post with art ... I think that's the wrong tag :)
timsaid: But it has the word 'art' in it ...
me: I think: It would be unfair, if your post goes trending and then blocks the art channel ...
timsaid: OMG ! I checked the art category and my post doesn't belong there !
me: ;)
timsaid: I changed the tag - thank you so much for making me aware !
me: np, bro

Shortly after that, the post - miraculously- went trending.

I'm not sure, if it was because of the 'art' tag itself, or because of the edit, or for completely other reasons.
I'd like to pretend it was magic.

Let me explain, what I think the tags should be used like:

You can browse all content on Steemit, by filtering it for tags.
When you make a post on Steemit, you have to choose at least one category.

Attention: You can not edit the first tag, after you have posted.

If you haven't set a tag, you can not post.
To find the right tags and to get an idea of how they work, let's look at the frontpage.

There you can find the categories, that are trending at the moment.
If you think, you have found a category that matches your post:

Click on it and have a look

In the picture, I filtered the content for:

  • trending
  • category: art
  • last 30 days

Does your post really fit into the category you chose ?

Before you decide for a tag, you should consider, what others have used the tag for.
The Steemcleaners announced they would fight tag-abuse soon.
I hope that we can all find an agreement on how to use the different categories and tags.

For this post, I decided against #magic - Even though it is a keyword.
Instead I will use #howto #tag-magic

Since @charlieshrem (Top Witness) recently used #steemit #steem #steempower for this post:
https://steemit.com/steemit/@charlieshrem/i-m-never-taking-off-my-steem-jersey
I will add those three, too - I think that's fair game now.
I don't think they make a lot of sense, but Charlie took them to trending again with his jersey.
I will just try to ride the wave, too.

I think:
It is not a good practice to just copy paste the 5 top trending tags under your post.
Some dolphin accounts do what I would call tag raids and just exploit a trending tag.

I hope I can raise some awareness

Please tag carefully.
Thank you for your consideration.
Have a great day !

Sort:  

Thank you for posting. Principle. Find the perimeters and work within them.

@felixxx - resteemed, i couldn't agree more and thank you for this

The Steemcleaners announced they would fight tag-abuse soon

There are so many post that use these :steem, steemit, steem power for tags and if you read the blog- it doesn't have anything to do with those tags. @berniesanders once commented on that or blogged I can't remember which is which anymore as it was already been blogs ago but anyway, using it on an article that doesn't have anything to do with it is like manipulating the upvotes specially of those who don't read and just tail the whales.
We are in beta though, I wish they add more categories, plus I noticed that most tags are general - I hope they accept tags that are more specific like for example :
general tag : food
specific tag : Chinese food , Korean food
but then we could also put them just beside each other.

Thaks alot Felixxx, this was helpful to me & i just resteemed it .
Also going to follow your steem :)

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about linkback bot v0.4. Upvote if you want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts. Flag if otherwise.

Built by @ontofractal

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61054.53
ETH 2976.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65