Manipulating the Steemit Hot and Trending Pages

in #steemit7 years ago

Do You Frequently Wonder How Some Posts Appear in Hot / Trending, But Other Posts Do Not?


source

Simply from observation, and maybe a little bit from discussions around Steemit with those who are more familiar with the nitty gritty details, I think I am understanding the shortcomings of the Steemit Hot and Trending pages.

I'm going to try keeping this brief, because I really would like a broader discussion in the comments from those who can confirm or deny my observations.


Most of us know that there are "curation trails" all over Steemit, and I believe that being part one of these more popular trails will automatically elevate a post to the Hot and/or Trending pages.

Let me explain why...

  • The Hot Page will show you some of the "more recent", highly upvoted posts. Now before you get excited (or angry), if you have 100 votes from 100 accounts with 0.500 Steem Power and Reputation of 25, you're not likely going to see your post on the Hot Page. I believe that the Hot Page also considers Steem Power (as does almost everything related to Steemit) and potentially Reputation. Therefore, If you're part of a curation trail with some Higher Reputation individuals (who typically also have higher Steem Power), then your post is more likely to become part of the HOT Page. In addition, I've noticed that if you Promote your post with several SBD (or more), you're much more likely to see your post on the HOT Page.

  • The Trending Page will show you highly upvoted, commented, and promoted posts from the past Several Days. Similar to the Hot Page, I believe that the Trending Page also considers Steem Power and Reputation. Again, If you're part of a curation trail with some Higher Reputation individuals (who typically also have higher Steem Power), then your post has some more potential to become part of the Trending Page. Since there is a longer timeline for these posts to be allowed to exist on this page, you need a HEAVILY Promoted, Upvoted, and Commented post where many of the voters/commenters have a high reputation score, and considerable Steem Power.


I touched on this above .. PROMOTEd Posts get TONS of Attention on Hot and Trending

If you take a look at some of the Top Posts from these pages, you'll notice that a common denominator is that they were Promoted. This is definitely more relevant for the HOT Page, but Trending has it as well. @jerrybanfield is notorious for Promoting his posts, and I think he even posted a blog about it quite a while ago (before he quit his job and made Steemit his full-time job, if I remember correctly).

Personally, I feel that Promoting a post should NOT have an impact on appearance on the Hot and Trending page. This makes the pages seem misleading in that those with the most power (i.e. Steem/SBD) will have the most influence on these pages (which is where "Manipulating" comes from in my Post Title).


What do you all think?

Feel free to test out some of my thoughts / comments. Specifically with the Post Promotion -- throw 3-5 SBD toward a post that you think people might enjoy and upvote, then hop over to the HOT page and see how far down your post lands. I'm willing to bet if you throw more than 5 SBD toward Promoting your Post, you'll see it no more than 30 Posts down on the Hot Page (unless others have caught on to this trick since I tested it last).

Might the Steemit Developers consider changing these algorithms to help promote non-Promoted Posts too?!?


We already have a "Promoted" Tab, why should promotion get you into the Hot AND Trending Tabs too..?


_____________________________________________________

Thanks for reading, I hope you have a great day!
_____________________________________________________

My Crypto Updates:

If you want to read more, please take a look at some of my other posts:

Sort:  

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57291.92
ETH 3066.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36