You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Minnows & Newbies: The Comment Section Is Your Greatest Asset

in #steemit6 years ago

I agree 100% , except for the 'gamify' part.
let's be real ok.
as I've said a bucha time.
ENGAGE.
actually, you know, read the damn article
then talk about it.

nothing pisses me off more than
"great post", 'thanks for sharing' and silly nonsense like that.
I automaticly mute who ever did that.

I post stuff to DISCUSS...
when I was on FaceBook I'd have threads with THOUSANDS of reponses..
on Steemit, until lately, four or five were the norm
and two or three of those were commnet bots
(I hates em)

commenting can earn steem

one day for me.

Sort:  

can I say that this platform welcomes ALL DISCUSSION- well, NO. If monetization is fueled by positive engagement then you're gonna get alot of generic "great post" nonsense you speak of...naturally. A question to anyone who reads this. DOES DOWNVOTING Demonetize someone? If it does demonetize then the opposite is also true, if I expressed any idea that is different or even disliked by most I risk being punished for it here. Personally, I wouldn't know what happens when thew downvote button gets hit- I haven't used that button . as a general rule I'd like to think that I do not do unto others what I would not like to be done to me...

the first rule of steemit (the platform) is that there are no rules.
do what you wanna do.
upvote/downvote are tools to do so
downvotes definitely demonitize.
an armed society is a polite society and downvotes are arms.
no one said that Steemit was a 'safespace'
use all due discretion.

And all those comments count in the long run. Let the faucet leak for long enough and you'll have a sink full of water.

My point about gamifying was with the intention that people ENGAGE. If I get those resteem, upvote, one liners I just move on to the next comment.

Something hilarious is that I saw on your post about the nasty weather you asked someone "are you a real person?"

yup..and they never replied so I assumed they were a bot.
I muted them.
I don't talk to machines...

and again yup...lots and lots of comments (dripping faucets) can add up to a swiming pool full of steem...

Steemit is a SOCIAL platform..not a place for 'my machine' to talk to 'your machine'.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57249.71
ETH 3092.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41