Autovoting And Stuff...

in #steemit8 years ago

Autovoting And Stuff...

It looks like the old Autovoting Yes Or No debate is on the rise again.

Well, I won't be the judge whether is it good or bad for the community, rewards pool, whatever, ... I can only tell you my own experience then you decide if it applies to you and if you can learn from it.

Autovoting is convenient for several reasons as you might know by yourself now. It also goes against the spirit of curation which is rewarding with your vote the content which you personally find worthy.

Enough of philosophy. Let's go to details.

I am a user of two autovoting services: SteemVoter and Streemian Curation Trail.


SteemVoter

SteemVoter

The idea is simple and straightforward. You set a list of accounts for which you vote automatically. You decide when (how long after the post has been published) and how much (the percentage of your voting power). Then the service does the work for you.


Streemian Curation Trail

Streemian Curation Trail

Here the approach is a bit more complicated. Officially:

Here, you can use your account to help curate valuable content on Steem. You can act as a curator that picks valuable content, or support your favorite curators as a follower that helps raise awareness for this content.

In short, you follow a curator (five max). Whatever this curator upvotes, you upvote too.

So, Streemian trail is more about delegating your voting power than really voting with your own will.

Beware - both services drain your voting power!


My Experience With SteemVoter

I love the easy setup and the straightforward approach. This way I can award the posts of my friends even if I miss their posts or am not around to check them in time.

I use it for select accounts, six to be exact. I autovote for the 100% 30 minutes after the publishing. And that's it.

Yes, my own account is among them.


My Experience With Streemian Curation Trail

Since curators, that you are following, are established users with lot's of power, the posts that theyx pick, tend to get a lot of attention. Your vote can thus gain some curation rewards. Correct me if I am wrong.

Here you can also fine tune how much power will you vote with and whether will you vote on posts, comments, ...

This way you can consistently get curation rewards. But ... it drains your voting power!

I didn't use Streemian for a while. When I switched it back on I followed five of the top curators.

My voting power sunk from 99.5% to 33% in several days. Check it out for yourself.

Now I will switch it off to regain my voting power. Then I will start again with more careful approach.


Any Other Options?

Are there any other autoposting services available that I am not aware of? Thanks for you advice and help!


Further Reading

You might also read these posts from @klye:
I've Stopped Using Upvoting Automation...,
Don't Like The Way Some Auto-Voting Services Are Conducting Business? Build Your Own!
and @gavvet: a House Divided.


Conclusion

As I've said there won't be any real conclusion. Except - know what you do and know your tools :)

What is your opinion and experience?



Better and better!
Orange Swan By Lemark
2500+ Steem Power 62+ Reputation 200+ Followers 1500 Posts


These beautiful badges are prepared by @elyaque - thank you!

Sort:  

Wow, great find! Thank you.

Looks like this tool has many interesting features available. Time to play :)

Autosteem is browser side tool. Pure gold! Will definitely try it out and post a review.

OK, switched off steemvoter to give autosteem a try. For the start I've entered several authors into the Authors to Match filed. Let's see how will it work out.

Streemian has also introduced something called Fan Base .. not exactly sure what it is supposed to do. I think it is supposed to upvote but the test account I added hasn't been upvoted. So may still be in development.

Yes, I've noticed this new option. Didn't take time yet to try to understand it :)

An interesting post keep up the good work. Nicely detailed overview of the autovoting pro's and con's. My own view is that it is important for someone to genuinely think about how they apply their vote. I also carefully monitor my voting strength on the eSteem application, ensuring that it never goes below 85%. I try not to let my enthusiasm overcome quality in judgment.
.



ColdMonkey mines Gridcoin through generating voluntary BOINC computations for science...


Thanks for your reply and opinion. Yes, it is prudent to check your voting power regularly.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 58484.86
ETH 3100.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40