Acapulco Steemit Meetup? Plus, The Sweetest Sound You'll Ever Hear.

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

dog-pack.jpg


Austin. Bucharest. Cape Town. Cebu. Denver. Dublin. Lagos. NYC. Vienna.

These are some cities I've noticed that are having local Steemit Meetups.

Heck, Brooklyn -- @hansikhouse + @voronoi + @hitheryon -- has even collaborated AND FURNISHED their own interactive community garden called Steem Park, which is scheduled to open July 16th!

On my way to OXXO this morning, I saw the dogs pictured above. They reminded me of another gentle, stray pack I saw a few weeks ago.

They looked so... READY.

I actually waited to see if they had some canine instinct, and something was going to happen.

Nope.

It seems they were just starting their day because they are street dogs, and the streets were coming to life the way cities tend to, on weekday mornings.


steemit-meetup.png

I am not suggesting correlation (!!!), but for whatever reason, I got to thinking about the considerable number of anarchists who live in Acapulco, and are also active on Steemit (as writers, as curators, and several as non-upvoting readers.)

In the other cities, people are scattered by distance or other life circumstances, and there seems to be an EAGERNESS for folks to gather... and then GREAT EXCITEMENT once they do. Oh, the possibilities!

In Acapulco, it's a bit different, as many of us have been living here -- aware of each other -- for more than a year or two. So we're not really new to each other, and there are varying degrees of closeness among us.

I think it's safe to say that we each insist on greater amounts of freedom, or we wouldn't be living here. But beyond that, it might be foolhardy or naive to presume we "agree" on much else, such as:

  • diet
  • race
  • crypto
  • science
  • intimacy
  • community
  • spirituality
  • security/privacy
  • even anarchy, itself!

We are different from each other. No doubt about it.

And I think that's one of our strengths.

We're not an unnaturally homogenized mono-crop a la Monsanto. We are more like wild, pioneer seeds... blown into town from various places... ruled by none.

So, is it possible for us to gather, as naturally as that pack did, at the corner this morning?

Would we even want to... and if so, for what purpose? These are rhetorical questions. Musings. Maybe @lily-da-vine or @mikeonfire or @scottermonkey or @modprobe or @jeffberwick have ideas about the intersection between Steemians and Aca-dwellers... if there even is one, outside of our individual posts??


Well, I am glad I asked! Check out these EXCITING ANSWERS from @lily-da-vine!

Announcing Our Intention to Fork the Anarchapulco Conference!

Steem Fest Forking: Acapulco Edition


So, about that promised "sweetest sound."

oxxo.jpg

This picture is representational. It looks very much like the actual OXXO I went to (which are like 7-Elevens, for a U.S. context).

The one nearest me I've been going to for more than a year. One day I realized I was embarrassed...

...for having gone there so long... for having seen the same faces so often... and for having NOT yet had a meaningful conversation with anyone in Spanish.

My linguistic embarrassment sometimes causes me to act more withdrawn than I want to. Maybe it was hanging back to watch the dogs, I'm not sure, but I had warmth and friendliness in me, and I wanted to share it.

So, as I was checking out, and the lady whom I've seen hundreds of times... as she bagged my things, I read her badge (same as the guy is wearing above).

"Muchas gracias, PAOLA!"

And I pronounced "Paola," like POW-la!

Upon hearing her name, (hopefully said correctly), she gave me the HUGEST smile I have yet received in Acapulco (and there are a lot of big, beautiful smiles here!)

Bottom line? I will no longer wish I was further along in my Spanish fluency. Instead, I will make greater use of two previously untapped resources:

  1. MY INSTINCT. I easily trust it in English. But when Spanish is needed, I feel less sure of myself, and end up acting oddly/nervously. Today, it was a little thing. A human thing... to say someone's name, and load it with warmth and friendliness that was received. Those urges are communication, too.

  2. MY SUB-CONSCIOUS. Which I've already instructed to create enjoyable, accelerated ways and experiences that will help me fast-track my Spanish comprehension and conversation.

Inadequacies can be perceived as paralyzing, or as penetrable. Use your developed strengths, as you build your lesser ones. @erikaharris

Sort:  

Hola, @paasz, ¡qué hermosa! Muchas gracias!! :-)

Hey Erika. I wish I did live in acapulco to meet because im so juiced about everything positive thats going on in the world id like to be in communion with likeminded visionaries. I recently saw an Anarcast episode with you and enjoyed your perspective. In the same mindframe as you and Jeff ive been wanting to move back to my granparents home in Mazatlan. I Would love to create a crypto-anarchist group out there.

Hey Erica! If the meetup spanned across a few days, @sharingeverybite and I would strongly consider coming. We've been learning Spanish for a while now and are very seriously talking about checking out Mexico as a place to live. In fact, today, we began the "get rid of unneeded stuff" process.

It sounds like you're wanting to learn Spanish - We have been using Pimsleur courses, and they are a great tool for learning to speak a new language. I'd highly recommend them!

Local Steemit meetup sounds good.
I have passed, usually without comment, several people on the street or in shops, like the Oxxo you mentioned, who have been there the whole time I've lived here. I rarely talk to them, but it's fun when I do. Every encounter with them after that, especially in a place where they don't work, is special.
And I think it's only fair to give your own name when you address someone by name whom you don't know. After all, they're wearing a name-tag for all to see, but you aren't.

THANK YOU, @stevenlytle! You are absolutely right. See, that's a social blunder... totally innocent, but still. The way it FELT between us, I don't think she read any disrespect, but I will be sure to offer my name next time :-) Baby steps. It took a whole year for me to get over myself, and spit out her name! lol

Hey @erikaharris, Acapulco is a bit far for me to travel, I Iive in the UK, but hope your meetup goes well for you.

wow, are those dogs attending for the steemit meeting?

Feel free to check out my latest blog post : Why Steemit will disrup social media and gain market share

@charles1, attending? They're leading! lol :-)

That's a great-sounding title. I will check it out, thanks!

welcome sis, hope you will like it

@charles1, upvoted and commented! 🌺

bless you sis, hope to see you one day and buy you an ice cream!!!

Great post! Well said.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60238.27
ETH 3215.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46