Canine Laissez-Faire In Acapulco

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

acapulco-street-dogs.jpg

How many stray dogs do you see in the picture above?

I count six.

Four along the street curb, and two at the end of the sidewalk.

When I snapped the shot (with my iPhone 6), it was early enough this morning, that the street-lights were still on.

I was making a quick produce run to the grocery store, and noticed the street dogs were just waking from their night's sleep.

They amused me with how they took their time yawning and stretching... very slowly... in NO hurry whatsoever...

...completely unphased by moving cars, bikes and walking people.

There are A LOT of dogs in Acapulco who seem to be without a home.

And despite their ongoing challenge against heat, thirst and hunger, they are absolutely gentle.

I mean, they might be conserving their energy, and maybe just can't afford to expend the calories it'd take to be mean.

But when I see them, it's usually near the doors of an air-conditioned business, so they can get a blast of cool air each time they open.

Or, they are merely hanging out like this... not dead.

lone-street-dog.jpg

When they find shade, coolness or the just-right spot on a concrete slab, DOWN THEY GO!

Middle of the sidewalk. Middle of the street. It's almost as if they are saying:

"Oye, me ves aquí. Camina, amigo mío." (Hey, you see me here. Walk around, my friend.)

And, respectfully, we do!

It's a problem that needs a solution, but I enjoy the peaceful relations between the dogs and people.

They don't bother anyone. And, likewise, it seems they enjoy not being bothered.

Upvote || Resteem || FollowMe

Sort:  

It's definitely interesting to see that the dogs have a good enough relationship with humans at this point that they aren't bothered by them, and they coexist peacefully. However, the amount of dogs that are just lying around on the streets without homes is definitely something of concern. Is the area doing anything to help solve this problem? Maybe an adoption fair or even a shelter could help some. Thank you for sharing this post, it was definitely something different!

Followed!!

It is awfully hot there. Interesting.

This could be a serious problem. How will I avoid adopting a ton of these guys?

@lensessions, maybe by just leaving out bowls of food and water for whichever of 'em comes 'round?

Nice post so I vote you

Oh gosh, they look totally pooped from the heat!

One nice thing I've noticed, @runaway-psyche, is that people are kind to leave bowls of dry food and water out for strays. Many of them are quite thin, but fat/obese animals might be a peculiarity unique to the US.

Well I'm glad they're getting something to eat. And that's so true about fat pets in the United States haha!

Reaaly amazing

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59708.78
ETH 3185.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45