Steemit International Commerce - Can Steemit help solve the problems that Artesans, Makers and Growers face world-wide?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago

One of the biggest problems I face as a Sustainable Agriculture Professional living in a remote rural area is connecting with my customer. In fact, were I to follow the prevailing winds, I would not now nor never know my customer, that is the person who is actually consuming or using my products.

I believe Steemit, and other applications of the Steem blockchain, can change that.

To prove to you that this is the case, I am going to show you!


TakeCare of My Package.jpg

I began on steemit a mere three months ago and have dicovered an incredible network of interesting people! Seriously, its like all the boring people must have stayed behind. Along with new friends and amigos, I have also been approached by potential clients, and now I have successfully converted a product and shipped - all based on interactions on the Steemit platform!

When @professorbromide approached me (digitally) and expressed interest in trading some SBD for green coffee beans, I thought it was a great idea. Although I had never traded green (unroasted) coffee before, he had purchased them before, and was more than willing to offer his experience about packaging.


picking the best.jpg

Trading green coffee made me a little nervous. Because the product does not get burnt to a crisp before shipping, we were very careful to select each and every bean by hand. Each and every bean!

Over the course of several days we selected all of the coffee, and then we looked for a scale. We ended up borrowing a scale this time, perhaps just a little too small for the job at hand, but at the top of our shopping list is now a 1 kilogram scale. This tiny one let me weigh about 200 grams at a time.


weightsandmeasures.jpg

We packed up the product and found a Steem sack to throw it in.

producto.jpg

Because our plan is to create a guide to help others follow in our footsteps, including rural colombian farmers and artesans who may have never shipped anything before, we began to think about how to show people how easy it is.

One important thing that every package for international shipping must have is the address. Without an address, no one would know where the package is supposed to go. An address has several elements, as shown below. Where I have written 'address' below as a sub element of the entire address I am talking about here, I really mean house number.


AddressInstructions.jpg

With the address attached, it was off to the post office! In Colombia, the national postal service is called 4-72, nice round numbers for the latitude and longitude of Bogotá, the capital of Colombia. This may sound strange, but most Colombians do not know about their national postal service, and instead use higher priced private services often with poor customer service. I have used 4-72 over the last 5 years and, as frustrating as international shipping can be, they have always been open, honest, helpful and quick to help. Nearly every year (when prices go up) I get bids from all of the top shipping companies available in my area for a wide variety of weight classes, and 4-72 has always been the best price.


Asesora.jpg

Although my local post men and women are friendly and helpful, I sometimes get a little curious or even suspiscious about what happens with a package once it leaves my small town. We decided to send a witness, someone who could potentially travel around the world. We name him Steem Traveller.


Steem Traveller.jpg

We have drawn the Steem Traveller to watch over this journey and report back from the United States.

I filled out the necessary forms, which occasionally seem to me to be excessive. Colombia has many rules and regulations in place to try to stamp out narcotrafficking and the infamy of it. Colombia is a proud exporter of cut flowers, bananas, coffee, emeralds, cacay oil and thousands of other promising products.

Forms.jpg

sevenfingerprints.jpg

After that, we are ready to go! This package will travel 262 kilometers to Bogotá where it will eventually board a plane and head for Miami. From Miami it will integrate into the US postal system until it arrives at its destination. The standard international package service requires a signature, and if you aren't home the US post office will leave a note. They will try to come back when you are home, but you may need to visit your local post office if they prove unable to reach you after a few tries.

Here it is! The final photo on this side of the Carribean! Its still America, but South.

Ready to GO.jpg

As the world of international shipping continues to become more and more integrated and standardized, we are happy to experiment with this universal tracking number. If we are understanding the 'science' correctly, anyone of you can track this package as it soars across the world using this code:

Tracking Code.jpg

Thank you so much for reading this far! Since you are here I believe that this topic interests you, and I want to introduce you to the Steem Around the World Challenge.

@stortebeker has created a wonderful idea of a network of artesans, makers and growers showing the world their products and gaining visibility through a series of sharings. It is one of the best and most exciting social experiment I have seen proposed on the platform so far. What's up? We need more people.

Consider what you could ship and share, consider following @stortebeker and the Steem Around the World Challenge. Consider writing an example piece for his SAWC competition (which is staying open until further notice).

And consider telling me all about your thoughts and feelings in the comments below!

-----------------------------------------------------------

I am forever grateful for all of the love and support I have received from my family, friends and of course, the @ecotrain.


Click me to learn more about this train!

Sort:  

This is so cool. You picked out each bean one at a time? That must have taken hours. When the package gets here I will post some pictures.

Say, do you know of anyone who dries the coffee fruits? I've never tasted the fruit from the outside of the coffee bean but I've heard that it is tart and sweet like a cranberry. Do you think you could dry it like a raisin?
@originalworks

I have heard that this is a peruvian beverage and have wanted to try it!

I can confirm it does exist and is a thing.

Remember that old coffee series I started way back when? Well Im still working on getting pictures for part 3:roasting (maybe we could collaborate?) And after that I'd love to try this out! We are picking right now, the fruits are fresh ;p

I found another article about cascara tea: http://www.npr.org/sections/thesalt/2015/12/01/456796760/cascara-tea-a-tasty-infusion-made-from-coffee-waste

It fetches a pretty good price, $9 per 4 oz, so it seems like it would be worth trying to make it if you have a dehydrator. Given the pictures of your farm it must be pretty humid there.

I'd be happy to help you with the roasting pictures. What kind of roasting apparatus do you use? My neighbor grew up in Honduras where they coat the green coffee with cane syrup and roast in a big cast iron fry pan on a wood fire. I bet is smells great and looks very rustic, but it is not the way to treat really fine coffee.

Yes we do roast over the wood stove several time a year, the tradional way!

In order to export, certain conditions need to be reached in the preparation and packing, there are laws, thus certifications and costs.

We outsource locally for roasting and packaging for that reason, and I'm working on pictures of precisely that part! They are basically spinning drums with gas lights underneath.

I'm looking into this cascara!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @ecoinstant to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

The Binary Stars Collaborative Contest Round 1 Voting has started.
Please go HERE and create a comment so that people can vote for your entry.
Thanks and good luck!

Nice, I'll include the link to this in my next update. But, thanks so much to your much appreciated shout-out, another very skillful steemian artisan, @nature.sauvage is also interested, says she wants to write an article, which I also want to include. Thanx a bunch!

Excellent! We are starting slowly but hopefully that means we have a firm foundation!

So here it is, my latest up-date of the Steem Around The World Challenge: https://steemit.com/challenge/@stortebeker/steem-around-the-world-challenge-exciting-new-developments

What a beautiful little practical story of a steemian to steemian worldly action. Imagine (past 2020) the delivery could be done by a network of steemians, that would be too steemy :-)

I've been checking on the package almost every day since you shipped it. The last notice said that it was in Bogata and had been registered with the USPS.

Keep the faith my friend!

The coffee cleared customs in Miami!

YEAH! I said keep the faith but I do get a little nervous every time ;p

But we are still at 100%, as long as USPS does its part now.

The package arrived on Saturday!. It is pretty beat up and it came with a note about the damage, but I don't think too much coffee got lost. It will be a while before I can do a roasting because of business travel, but I will get to it when I get back.

Oh boy - thanks for tracking this with me ;p
Definitely save some pictures of the damages (and a note! Sorry we beat this to hell? Lol!)

Take your time - coffee roasting is for pleasure, do the business first. Always great to hear from you, I'm overdue for a coffee article - I'm between writing about the Coffee Federation and about our drying method - any thoughts?

Blessings!

This is awesome! I am curious to see the arrival! :)
I am actually excited about the whole idea of trading with Steemians! I will check out the "steem around the world" link! Thank you for sharing!

I am so happy it interests you c:

Amazing idea!
This could really grow, thanks for sharing with all your photos too. :)

GreaT POST !! - ))

This fills me UP !! .. and ExciteS me to "NO END" !! - ))
.. the potential(S) and TRAJECTORY .. WOW !!! - )))

STEEM is a plat-form like NO OTHER !! - ))))
and ... weekly the PILE of POTENTIAL .. GROWS - )))
i like THAT ALLOT !!! - )))

lovelovelove )))
greb'Z )

ps .. i've just added you to my steem-auto-voter !! - ))

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66274.97
ETH 3175.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.06