Is this the New Steemit?

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

Hey steemit community. I'm Eduardo and I'm a designer from Brazil. I'm also the guy who rode across Brazil on his scooter.

I've been playing around with the source code the last few days and these are some suggestions I think would help make the steemit community better.

I've also been obessed with how I'm going to intergrate steemit with my company Scribe.

I can honestly say I haven't been as excited as I am for Steemit in many many years. The potential is amazing and I will do everything I can to help build this community with you all!

While I believe in the future of Steemit , I think what will set it apart in the future is a design that is both welcoming and bold. A design that invites those around the world to share even just a small piece of their life. A design that says the world of crypto is very real.

These are a few mockups which I think will help Steemit reach its true potential. Sure, a strong community, commitment to the steemit technology matter. But a good design is a foundation to all things great

Bright Theme

Steemit Layout 2

Dark Theme

Steemit Layout 3

Default Theme

Steemit Layout 1

While the ability to share our stories with a finacial upside is the back bone of Steemit, I believe my design will place a focus on community by highlighting both comments and votes.

Steemit Layout 1

Steemit Layout 3

I would love to hear any and all feedback you might have on my suggested designs or how I could best integrate steemit with Scribe when the time is right.

Would love to talk more whether that be on here. Please just leave a comment.

#steemcolab

Sort:  

i like it, good start man! Some areas are to noisy but at least maybe just to me .. i would no overlap the voting icon section, this could reduce the noise extremely IMO. But man .. GOOD work!

Thank you! Yeah, I like to break some rules when Im creating. I'm anxious to put this mockups to work and have the real feeling of using it.

I made the first clone of Steemit
https://steemit.com/steemit/@artakan/welcome-to-the-first-steemit-com-clone-notice-the-i-instead-of-the-i
just as a proof of concept, it works ! I haven't touch at all the apparence ... so if you need help to put your idea into reality from a technical perspective, maybe we can work together . ....
And yes your designs are great !

Hello @artakan would be incredible to have a chat with you. I'm on slack as @dudutaulois too. Thank you

I thought slack was down, i don't know where to contact you

You can find me there https://steemit.chat/channel/general under my artakan name

I do think there should be some mention of the money or payout. When scrolling through Steemit a higher paid post definitely gets noticed.

I really like the top design. Congrats on the good work.

I also think that it might be better not to mention money amounts but instead maybe just the amount of upvotes. It surely raises security concerns if someone has published all his/hers identity information while everyone can easily spot how much money they make per post. This might lead to a higher risk of physical attacks (i.e. robberies) and cyber attacks (i.e. hacking/phishing attacks).

Hey @mctiller. Thank you.
I agree with you. Showing the amount of money has another side effect. People get excited to see the posts with big numbers but soon feels frustrated to not be able to generate the same money even dedicating a lot of effort and posting good content. Succes should be measured by the audience it generate and not how much money it value.

Yes, you are absolutely right!. It really has this "disapointed", "frustrated", "angry" effect on lots of people.

I do think there should be some mention of the money or payout

or at least it should be users choice. I would put

  • reset password
  • recover account
  • permissions

all under one tab called settings

There would be also enough room for putting some advanced yes/no etc settings - like disable votes and payout amount .. if wanted by the user ..just brainstorming of course

It looks way too clunky imo. Good effort tho.

Focusing on upvotes could be relatively meaningless due to bots. You see some posts get 40 bot votes within the first minute and others not so much. Money on the other hand, well... that can't be faked.

I like the way you approach it in general though, it's refreshing.

Thank you. I didn't though about the bots. Good point.

@dudutaulois I wouldn't stress the upvote bots. They all run the same code we're all getting the same number of upvotes from them. Nice work though!

@alexgr Weight a post with money, but only show upvotes?

It could be an option... obviously some people would start wondering "why does this rank higher with less votes?"...

Well then they would know that it's money but they don't have to see how much money and if they can't see it, they can't feel jealous about it.

and if they can't see it, they can't feel jealous about it.

Yep... however I wouldn't bet against the platform managers actually wanting to display amounts in order to increase platform attractiveness and success story narratives...

It's too empty meaning I need to scroll more to get more posts, which is a negative UX in my opinion. with the current design I can see about 8 posts in one screen.

Hi @ooak it's hard to have one size to fits all. I understand that some people that use small screen prefer to see more post at time and for that reason I'm already creating a new mockup based on this idea. Stay tuned! Best.

will stay tuned.

Yeah they both are pretty awesome.. Great job!
Maybe like a day mode/night mode like on Poloniex :D

I like the idea! Thank you!

I seriously love the job you did, and I would be impressed if they take you as example to make up the new design of steemit, I would be honored to use it with that graphic!

We Steemers appreciate​ quote "I will do everything I can to help build this community with you all!" Thanks and welcome aboard! I personally love all your themes, and think they would be a great addition. Looking forward to seeing what else you come up with.

Together we really can 'Disturb the Universe' ;)

Very sleek. I really like it. Looks much more like what a site like this deserves.
We'll be talking to new users one day and use the words "Now, the way we did it back on the old version of the site..."

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60946.76
ETH 3395.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57