Why I want to be a whale - an insight into the phenomena of ❤️Steemit Love❤️

in #steemit7 years ago

Enlight1 27.jpg

Last week I posted on my strategy to become a whale: Maximising your rewards on steemit. Here is the link: https://steemit.com/steemit/@drwom/maximising-your-rewards-on-steemit

Since then I posted on steemit about the reason I have been lacking sleep lately - see my post Steemit: I name thee sleep-stealer! (But I still ❤️ you!) https://steemit.com/life/@drwom/steemit-i-name-thee-sleep-stealer-but-i-still-you

And I recently posted on the creeping dawn of Internet 3.0 https://steemit.com/blockchain/@drwom/internet-3-0-a-plain-english-guide-to-what-all-the-fuss-is-about-with-blockchains Full disclosure - I would have posted this yesterday if there hadn't been a glitch in the steemit website so I posted this morning 😊

I have been contemplating for a while why so many people seem to be suffering from the phenomenon of what I have diagnosed as ❤️Steemit Love❤️ (this is a phenomena where an individual puts energy - over-and-above what may be available to them on a daily basis - into building their profile on steemit).

Trust me, I'm a Doctor. This is a thing. In the interests of another full disclosure, I have a PhD in comparative criminology.

Putting these three ideas together, I have had an insight (I hesitate to call it a revelation, as it's a bit ordinary): There is a logical connection between the posts noted above.

To sum up, we, the early blockchain adopters utilising steemit and being rewarded for our efforts, have seen the huge potential of this platform and technology. We are spending hours online where before we spent more time in other pursuits (I have written before now about how I need to re-achieve some balance in my life since discovering steemit, even before I named our great platform the sleep-stealer). And we are doing this because we want to become whales. We are devoting time and creative energy into this goal. We see in steemit the potential of an off-ramp from the endless freeway that is our career and the ordinary life which is driving us inexorably towards retirement.

For me, the off-ramp leads to the beach where I will write and swim and walk my dog (yes, I will have a dog) and have time to enjoy my life with my family while still earning money to not just live, but thrive.

A beach where I can continue to support the wonderful steemit community as a whale.

The real beauty of all this is exposed in the secret of ❤️Steemit Love❤️.

It's the reasons why so many of us love steemit:

  • Because it's a supportive and creative community which likes to help each other.
  • Because it's fun.
  • And because we can all become whales together.

〰➰〰

drwom-01.png

Picture courtesy of pixabay.com mashed by @drwom
@drwom footer by the awesome @ryivhnn !!

Sort:  

Lol. I dropping the "trust me I'm a doctor" line since I also have a PhD. One time I wrote a dodgy late note on a napkin at the pub excusing someone for being late to a party cos they were drinking with us and forgot about the time. 😁

Ha yes!
It's not all about the fluffy hat. It's what you do with it :-)

Haven't thought quite as long term about this such as wanting to become a whale, was just another "well let's see how I go here" but am now at the stage where I'll be rather disappointed if it collapses XD

goatsig

Love the new upgoat ryivhnn !

I wouldn't know what to do without steemit... well maybe I would, but it would suck not having all my new friends. Thankfully I can't see any immanent collapse. The blockchain is reliable, if not its frontend website.

You paint a dreamy picture @drwom. I think the hint of the freedom you describe would be motivating for many. Others probably just like the novelty of the platform and others still, who knows.

I wonder what your thoughts are on the longer term sustainability of the interest in steemit. It's thriving now but do you see that as sustainable? It's an interesting thought to linger on. Anyway nice post and thank you.

Hey there nolnocluap
I'm thinking I might respond to your question in a post over the next few days...

It deserves some pondering 🤔

That'd be great. I think it's a relevant discussion for all of us who devote our hours to the platform.

Thanks for the response!

You got that right. It is a sleep stealer. On the up side I suppose with the right amount of dedication, followers and insight one may end uo a whale someday. But the downside is that a lot of the success on the platform is dependent on investment and luck. Sadly a lot of users are lacking in these two. Really nice post by the way.

Thanks for the feedback - really appreciated ucheosita 😊

Must have missed your strategy post to become a whale. Gonna check it and see if some method can be applied wink

My friend, @drwom Here is a well deserved up-vote for you! I never forget anyone who helps me become stronger and you fed me with 4 STEEM and the last time you fed me was 0 days ago. Your effort meets my strength and enables me to help you and your friends even more!

Yours, Spinny

Powered by @adsactly.

I like very much when everyone who feeds me also reads my friend’s posts, so please visit @ldauch and read what he has to say! Your name will also appear here. :-) Join my Discord server if you want to meet others: https://discord.gg/Mz2EZP3

This post has received a 13.95 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @drwom. Send at least 0.50 SBD to @buildawhale with a post link in the memo field for a portion of the next vote.

To support our daily curation initiative, please vote on my owner, @themarkymark, as a Steem Witness

Hello drwom, I am a simple vote scheduling service for @randowhale so that you can always catch it awake and get an upvote from them. For a full description of how to use me, check out my guide post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54179.48
ETH 2261.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31