the hidden hand of the Steemit algorithms

in #steemit6 years ago

Officially, there ARE no algorithms on Steemit. No code (or people) behind the scenes, deciding what does well and what doesn't, what we see and what gets missed, who goes viral - and who gets avoided like a virus. It's one of the most beloved parts of the site - one of the main draws. We're all on even footing here, finally, and censorship like on FaceBook and YouTube is impossible. A free marketplace of ideas! But is that true?

A few things hint at problems:

  • I recently lost access to my account until I agreed to abide by a list of rules. This was troubling enough, but when I read the rules, one of them was against "promoting anything illegal". A lot of my activism is by definition illegal. Peaceful civil disobedience of unjust laws is every free persons' responsibility, and I believe the blockchain to be an excellent place for it. This is as public as one can digitally get. My wife's account and our team's accounts got the same treatment, so perhaps it was site-wide. It still bothered me.
  • Quality doesn't equate to success on Steemit, and vice versa. Some of the "trending" and "hot" posts are nearly worthless, while some extremely top notch content goes mostly unseen. But just because quality content isn't driving success here, doesn't mean a hidden hand is.
  • As I reported here, my account growth abruptly stopped a few weeks ago. Since then, I've made many quality unique posts in various categories, and many comments, but only gained 2 followers. Until recently, that volume of content would bring me 100-150 new follows.
    followers.jpg
  • Today, I typed up a great article on the announcement of cannabis legalization. The PC was logged into our team @greatesteem account, so the article got posted there instead of here on @DRutter. I removed it, then logged into DRutter to post it where it was supposed to go. Same article, same title, same categories.... different account. Normally, I've never double-posted anything like that. But because of a simple mistake, it revealed a glaring inconsistency: @greatesteem gained dozens of new followers for posting something and taking it down right away. DRutter posted it, left it up, and still didn't gain a SINGLE follower.
    dfsdsdd.jpg
  • I can start a new Steemit account, make 2 or 3 empty posts with no effort or content, and have the account at 200+ followers in an hour. No bots or services, just a few friendly intro posts, maybe a stock photo or something. I've done it, it's easy. That's not my style, I'm just saying, I know how to gain followers. And yet I'm stuck around 530, week after week. Am I really to believe there are only 530 other people on Steemit interested in cannabis legalization, cannabis growing, cannabis modeling, silver, gold, cryptocurrencies, philosophy, comedy, and Steemit?

On Steemit, it's GROW or DIE

Followers aren't why I'm here, especially not followers that don't really care about my content, but without them we're talking to ourselves. Being cut off from new followers not just stifles an account, but ruins it.

Furthermore, is Steemit really what we signed up for, with a list of rules to accept otherwise we lose access to our accounts? With someone or something behind the scenes deciding who succeeds? Threats of accounts being deleted and people being banned? Is our content really ours, here? Do we maintain control over it? Is this just another private company, another (but smaller) FaceBook, with some cryptos to make it seem evolved?

And where is that "any day now" major site update that has been promised since I signed up here almost a year ago? A fix for the nightmarish signup process, helping the site grow and compete? Instead, we saw the millionth account about a month ago, and now we're at 1.003 million or so. Major stagnation.

The warning signs are piling up. Something stinks at Steemit.com :(

And that really upsets me to admit because I burned bridges in coming here. I feel like I put too many of my eggs into one basket. I'm on the lookout for other, more legitimate and sustainable, baskets to move some eggs into.

I mean no personal offense to anyone with this post. This is how I see things. I'm always open to debate and new information.

DRutter

Sort:  

I can't imagine this to be right. but I like to participate in experimenting around. I followed you and I will resteem it so you gain some more viewers. I haven't been on the platform for long, but it might be a different audience. I don't know what to expect in changes of the platform itself but I do enjoy the apps and additions made by steemians and I feel like there is something new every other day but your post made me curious! It shouldn't feel like utter stagnation after just one year!

I have seen this from @bamboozled's resteem. Curious to follow you now.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks! I came here from YT and FB to get away from censorship, and from having my content 'managed' by the unseen hand so that it could never be widely seen. So if that's going on here, Steemit pretty much loses it's draw.

Thanks for commenting and helping me figure out what's going on. Looks like you and @jk6276 added +2 to my followers.
reerewwe.jpg

Please check out Busy.org, which is a more user-friendly site still based on the steem blockchain.

Thanks for that reminder! I will :)

Yeah I stalled out at 3350 followers. In the past week I've stayed exactly where I am.

Even though I am still writing the followers has stopped.

Before I'd get about 100 followers a week. This week it's been a loss of a couple and hovering at 3350.

Gotta say you are speaking truth.

And illegal as to what laws?

If I film myself doing something right but there is a law against it? What about activism? That's about challenge to injustice.

Let's keep growing! You got my support!

Thanks, let's grow!
My drought has been longer than a week. It just goes and goes and there's no good explanation. Have a look at the posts I've made, there's quite a few, videos photos and text, on hot current topics.
I wonder if I pissed somebody off with my post on making free accounts a few weeks ago..?

Nope! And join the curation trail with @canna-curate

We are going to organize and would love your help!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57324.42
ETH 3010.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36