Steem.Supply Update: Rewards Simulator Now Takes Into Account SBD Printing Rate

in #steemit6 years ago

I've been waiting for a long time to implement and deploy this update, and I'm quite happy I found the time today to do it. As you may already know, the steem.supply rewards explanation and simulator was functioning only in an isolated case, namely when the SBD printing ratio of SBD was 100%.

Since SBD was trading as high as $13, witnesses agreed to print more and more SBD, in order to decrease the price, and take it back to the peg. And this happened for so long, that we kinda took it for granted.

But in the last couple of months, SBD approached the peg and the SBD printing rate is now below 100%.

If you go now at the steem.supply rewards page linked above, you will see a brand new slider, called 'SBD printing rate':


Screen Shot 2018-07-19 at 9.11.31 PM.png


The explanation for the rewards was also updated, and includes two potential scenarios: one in which SBD printing rate is at 100%, and one in which SBD printing rate is different from 100%. Obviously, you can try whatever combination you feel like by playing with the 3 sliders.

As always, looking forward to your feedback, criticism and suggestions.


I'm a serial entrepreneur, blogger and ultrarunner. You can find me mainly on my blog at Dragos Roua where I write about productivity, business, relationships and running. Here on Steemit you may stay updated by following me @dragosroua.


Dragos Roua


Wanna know when you're getting paid?

I know the feeling. That's why I created steem.supply, an easy to use and accurate tool for calculating your Steemit rewards

It's free to use, but if you think this is a useful addition, I'd appreciate your witness vote.

Thank you!


Psst: new to Steemit? Start Here


Sort:  

Awesome update, will check it out :) tipuvote!

Cool update...Now we can have the simulation with any supposed sbd printing rate..
PS
Thanks for introducing JSE coin to me..I bought some and also mined some of them...please tell me how i can transfer my mined JSE to my metamask account...

I don't think you can do that now. I think you will b able to do this once the ICO ends and the tokens are actually distributed.

Ohhh, I see...Thanks for letting me know.:)

Thanks for the new addition man! Playing around with slider does help get a better understanding of the division of STU between steem and SBD. It is a pretty cool way of getting an idea about the system.

This post received 0.58 SBD upvote from @tipU funded by @cardboard | @dragosroua now has a chance to win free @steembasicincome share :) | Voting service guide | For investors | Claiming Byteball Airdrop Guide.

Hmm, there might be a bug in the calculations:
1.png

For example: set SBD and STEEM at $1.
Then from 1 STU the author receives $1.13?

The distribution seems off - 0.75 STU goes to 0.75 SBD and 0.38 SP
Shouldn't it be 0.38 SBD and 0.38 SP?

I saw that after I deployed, still working out the math. Expect an update tomorrow, once my head is a bit more clear.

I'm drinking now too, lol :D

Hopefully we'll see that proper SBD peg as it should be

Hopefully people will get benifits from your slider.

wow another cool addition in steem supply. Now one can easily know about his future potential reward. Thanks for the addition @dragosroua

Bring back the $13 price I say.

Cg

But it's not good for the overall ecosystem..

Hmm, that remains to be seen, I am one of the lone voices that say you should just let it find its natural price. But hey, what do I know? :-)

Cg

Am kind of feeling somehow on this, on one hand, is the opening of the sbd to $1, on another is the increase in the price of bitcoin affecting the steem price at the market.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64937.78
ETH 3242.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63