Over 500 Fresh Followers And Posts Get Only 3 views?! - Im Losing Steem - Cant...go...on...

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

I had an amazing start on Steemit, gaining over 500 followers in just over a month, but somehow my posts are only getting 3-7 views on average. How is this?

littleenginethatcouldnt-garylarson.jpg

Im honestly losing the desire to post here, so forgive my lack of deep content these last few days. (I have also been moving to a new apartment so I have been pressed for time) But previous to the last week, I have shared some serious insights into things that people have hard times putting into words, things from the dark and hidden, things I want to continue to share, but what is the point if only 3 people actually see a post out of hundreds of fresh followers?

Steemit needs to make some sort of adjustment so people who have recently been followed may be seen. Im not being viewed and this is a problem when people have just recently expressed interest. If this was any other platform, the people you follow most recently will show up in your newsfeed.

Is it something I am doing? Or not doing?

Is anyone else experiencing this?

Any insights or ideas?

Thanks.

With love,
Doc

Sort:  

Here's a couple thoughts. I looked at your page on Facebook and even liked it, I forget how many people like your page on there but it's a lot. I just looked, close to 200,000 and I do believe steemit has somewhere around that amount of active users.. So your page on Facebook is around the size of steemit..

So.. You've got good numbers over there. Now.. If you only had 500 likes/followers over there on Facebook, do you think you would be getting significantly different numbers?

I've studied the algorithims a bit and there are studies out there that show that Facebook shows your stuff to 1% or less of those following you.
So, yeah you should be getting a bit more than 3 on some of those posts perhaps, but.. Not that much more.

I've personally noticed that I get more interaction here on steemit than I do on my Facebook page with roughly the same amount of followers over here as I have over there.

SO in my experience.. The algorithims here have been better than Facebook plus I get paid something.

Something else you may want to consider is the time of day you post, there are certain times of day that are better or worse as I would imagine you would know.

Also you should perhaps interact a lil more with people who comment on your stuff cause that helps pop your content back into the feeds as well if I'm not mistaken.

I commented on one of your posts the other day and pretty sure you didn't respond. If you did it may have helped your post get seen more, each time someone likes or comments or whatever, that helps it get seen more.. So try to encourage people to comment on your posts, ask questions, stuff like that.

I mean even if someone says something basic like "Nice post".. Just saying "Thanks" will help rather than totally ignoring it.

I'm sure there's numerous other things that can help but.. You've got almost half of the followers I've got in around 1 month that it took me almost a year.. So in two months you'll have what took me a year or so.. I mean.. I think perhaps you're a lil used to(perhaps spoiled, I probably would be too if I had that many followers) your huge numbers on Facebook and aren't really putting this into perspective.

Also, I share similar kinda stuff that you do often on my page and.. It's just not a very popular subject compared to other stuff.. Most people are not interested in the occult.. That's one reason it stays so hidden.

And finally.. I'd just like to say, I hope any of that helps, if you have any other questions I'll try my best to answer and I personally hope you don't go cause i enjoy your content and I'd like to see it around more in general and not just on Facebook.

Cheers and good luck with everything!

Oh man @apolymask I'd kill for a follower like you! Great advice! Upvoted and Followed.

Well you're a charmer aren't you? Lol. Thanks for the nice words. I checked out your page and I liked some of the stuff you posted so you earned a new follower!

Haha. Awesome! Thanks for the follow and the uovotes! Woulf aooreciate your thoughts on my posts.

Checked out your page and followed back! :)

Word. And you're welcome. I'll share my thoughts when they flow naturally! See you around on here!

Sure! Thanks man.

That rare weather phenomenon and the canyon shot are some of my favs gor now. All the best! See you too! :)

I followed you too! That was a great post. I really did not know people are not interested in the occult - wow!!! I am so very interested in it.

Seems that interaction is what I am missing. I will try to interact more, but honestly, I get spent after posts, especially since I do it on a few blogs and facebook pages as well. Im also deeply involved in a craft outside of the online world which takes time. But again, I can see how interaction can help me.

However, with your point about Facebook... I also have a personal page there with only a few thousand followers, and when I post just about anything, I can expect a hundred or so interactions with the post. Besides, we shouldnt be comparing Steemit to Facebook. We are supposed to be anti-Facebook here. The reason why they only share your posts with a tiny fraction of the following on "fan/business pages" is so they can sell you the rest. Steemit, as far as I know, isnt trying to keep you from your followers for potential profit.

Seems that interaction is what I am missing. I will try to interact more, but honestly, I get spent after posts, especially since I do it on a few blogs and facebook pages as well. Im also deeply involved in a craft outside of the online world which takes time. But again, I can see how interaction can help me.

I think a good way to look at it is like "starting over", and when you start over it takes a while. Though you have a great boost immediately because you have a big site on Facebook and I guess stuff elsewhere to help you there and that's an extra bonus on steemit because the whales tend to favor people with bigger influence.. You have a lot going for you that most people on here don't.

In regards to your comment about Facebook and the other stuff, I'm not sure if there's a difference between personal pages and fan/business pages in that sense, there might be.. This stuff is ultimately not disclosed to us so we don't know how it works exactly, thus studies have been done.. But we don't know for sure.

I'd say similar with steemit, though.. They might have come out somewhere in their whitepaper or elsewhere and explained what the amount is, I wouldn't be surprised if you could find that number if you dig.

You could also be getting more on Facebook for numerous reasons other than that, for example you might have a lot of your personal friends and family that comment regularly which help boost it, or you might have certain people who regularly argue on your posts.. These things really make posts explode.
I'm sure there's a lot of people out there who know how this works and use it to game the system. I don't.. But I'm sure there are a lot who have fake conversations or bots that say stuff, I think steemit has some of that as well with the bots and such. It's not perfect, it's just a bit better than Facebook.

Ultimately I think maybe some day there will be a platform better than steemit, but right now.. This seems to be the best one in my opinion.

Another thing you might want to consider IS what I just mentioned above about the bots. I think many of our followers on here are bots and not real people, thus the numbers we see are uncertain. Who knows how many bots are following us.

That does seem to be a problem with steemit but I'm not sure you can stop it. It's freedom.
They can limit it, but they don't seem to that much and it's pretty obviously happening in my opinion. So.. When you say 500 people.. That might be.. 400.. Maybe more maybe less. And 1% of that then is even less.. So.. I would be careful to judge too much until your further in.. Give it another couple months at least. I've been here almost a year and I don't have nearly as much of a pre existing fanbase as you. You have a lot more potential than I do on here right now.

And yes it does get tiring responding to people and stuff. I'm not nearly as big as you but I spend a ridiculous amount of time responding to people and it makes my wrist sore sometimes.. Seriously. Not cool. However.. At some point.. it's just too much and you can't keep up with it.. But you should try to respond like as much as you can in my opinion.. It only helps with everything from peoples opinion of you to the algorithims and how much your stuff shows up in peoples feeds.

I also take it as a challenge to see how creative I can be in my responses even if they don't give me much to work with. :)
I think it can help with communication skills if you look at it the right way!
Anyways.. I need to get to other work. All the best to you, we need to see occult stuff become more known and less hidden, so I wanna see the people out there who are putting this info out do well! We need more people sharing this kind of info and just more aware of it in general! Peace man.

I have said this before; the problem is that there are too few people with power here (its HEAVILY centralized, not decentralized at all, which destroys the whole point of social media - its like Rupert Murdoch having a forum on which he only allows the opinion he likes to get published) - no amount of small people liking a post will give it anything like the reward of one "whale" liking an introductory page or a stock photo.
This will remain a pretty useless place until that changes. Just look at the content being posted. Mostly junk being posted by friends of the whales to get rewards and a thousand wannabees who also post junk thinking that it will work for them also.
People who write intelligently like you are very rare.

I think there is a problem with whales, but I wouldn't go to the extreme of this place is "useless" I posted on Facebook for like 8 years and never made a penny, even if I'm not one of the big fish on this platform, I made more on my first post than I ever made on Facebook.

I'm not sure anyone is out there arguing that it's perfect, but it is refreshing as hell to see people making an effort to give back to the people who provide content.

The hope is that in time as it becomes more popular, some of these issues with the whales and such will be more ironed out, but even if they weren't it's still a MILLION times better than any other social media including YouTube in terms of how it gives back to it's content creators.

And in regards to what's being posted, I disagree again. I see a lot of good stuff, I find it more interesting usually than my feed on Facebook. So..
It sounds kind of like you have a few valid issues, and then you just demonize the entire platform cause it's not 100% perfect even though it's making much more progress than any other platform in regards to rewarding the people who use it.

I guess you could argue YouTube has probably paid out more, however.. You could say that platform is the same and it's only the BIG FISH who make money over there as well.

I've only made around $4 on YouTube.. But here on steemit, my account has been worth up to 6.5k, in roughly around the same amount of time using it.
The price fluctuates of course, but I could have cashed out for that much already.. So I mean.. Clearly.. A smalltimer like me with a small audience has made WAAAAAAAAY more on this platform than any other platform, no.. More than ALL other platforms combined.

What's your argument in regards to that, plus the fact that it's a lot less censored here? How can you say this place is useless, when I've made more off of my content here than ALL other social media combined? And I'm not a whale, I dunno if I'm even a dolphin.. I'm definitely not one of the big fish.

Maybe you're just following some boring blogs, most of the people I follow post awesome content regularly.

Well said @apolymask... the point I keep adding to people is that "something" (on Steemit) is still better than "nothing" (on Farcebook and elsewhere)... and we often tend to forget that YEARS went into creating our presences on other social media. Sure, I came here with a Facebook page that had 16K likes... but that took six YEARS to build. Hello? Sure, if I were on Steemit six years and still getting ten views per post, you bet I'd be complaining!

"Im honestly losing the desire to post here"

Seems that you are honestly not all that supportive of Steemit either. You seem to withdraw almost all your earnings rather than invest some in your own steem power on the platform (which would give you more ability to upvote others).

If you don't believe in the value of steemit, why would steemers be suportive of you?

I actually trade steem. I dont convert into dollars. And I dont mean to sound like Im gloating, but I tell good stories and make good presentations. That is what I offer. One five cent upvote here and there pales in comparison to the value I offer. Again, I hate to brag, but I have a huge following outside of here and know my value.

I was ecstatic about Steemit, but right after my first week I plummeted, although the quality of posts didnt. That really had nothing to do with my supporting other people with penny upvotes. I gave the best of my mind an that takes time, energy and attention. I gave. And I continued to give. And even through abusy week of moving, I still made time to give a little.

I understand 100% what you mean by giving to the platform, but some people do it with upvotes, and some will go to the depths of their creativity and intellect, and find that after those few hours of work, that they are spent. That is often my case, especially since I have other social media obligations which actually pay my bills.

Im still here. I just want to know why a person with 500 fresh followers is putting out posts with only 3 -7 total views. Is it due to something Im not doing? Im not above criticism. But also, this platform isnt above criticism. Criticism is the only thing that will make it better.

So I am supportive of steemit. I have made posts that were viewed by tens of thousands outside of steemit, and MANY of those people created new accounts. Those posts went viral, giving much publicity to steemit, and I didnt get a thing for it. I did more for steemit in one post than most steemians will do in all of theirs combined. Again, not gloating, but no one else is going to bring this point up for me.

I think the issue in this post should be addressed, shouldnt it? And not how I choose to play with my steem.

Remember these words from an old song "It's a long way to the top if you want to Rock n' Roll."?

When steemit first came out, I was putting in 14 hours a day, 7 days a week on the platform: promoting, curating, building relationships, e-mailing friends to take a look at other friends' posts, getting people to sign up and try it, learning how to post photos (that did not used to be so easy in the early days), keeping up with rule changes, etc. etc.

Having spent many years as a starving musician, I also know that the quality of what you do is not enough. You have to market yourself. You have to market yourself, or join a group where members market each other. It's all about building relationships.

Do you have any idea how many great novels and books of poetry have never even been published?

Attitude is everything! You must have an unconquerable will to win.

Point taken

I agree totally, but I can imagine it's hard as newby. How to start marketing yourself? How to select a group which support each other.? I am giving also my utmost best. Yes took some SBD out because of my dream I want to achieve.. but will never power down.. Eventually I want to invest in steem.. but first need to build relationships and get noticed.

" I also know that the quality of what you do is not enough. You have to market yourself. You have to market yourself, or join a group where members market each other."

And that is why we have a world teeming in junk with little quality. Marketing is rewarded better than producing work of quality, so we end up with a world that excels at marketing and not very much work of quality.
Please note that the whole POINT of marketing is to sell stuff that wouldnt be sold otherwise. So when you have a world that rewards marketing, you have a world that actively promotes poor quality work. It's even HARDER to find good work because its drowned out in a tidal wave of garbage that is being marketed with great skill.
As long as Steemit rewards marketing rather than work of quality, it will end up as a sea of "look at the photo I found on this great stock photo site".
It's sad, but there is little anyone here can do about it. THe only people whose votes actually count are the whales, and they are not interested in promoting quality posts - just posts that market the platform and those that are written by their close friends - regardless of the quality.

We all have a choice as to what to market and what marketing to pay attention to in our lives.

Your position is naive in the extreme. Even the best of quality products or content will fall by the wayside if no one knows about them, has never heard of them, and does not get to see them.

Van Gough, other painters and sculptors, and many brilliant musicians died impoverished and without an audience who had ever seen or heard of them. How many great novels are there that may have never been read.

it is not so much marketing that is at fault, but the quality of the marketers themselves and the audiences that they are marketing to.

Word of mouth is also (sometimes very effective) marketing. Becoming socially involved by interacting with other posters on their pages is also marketing, but it is also rewarding for both parties if it is sincere.

I liked that post of yours. I think for a little while I will follow you and @apolymask. You both have some very great comments, and clearly think a lot better than I do, so I will try to learn from both of you and improve my thinking and writing. It is all about words, and connecting them, then connecting to people. If you don't speak, no one knows you are there.

I hope you can respect my hustle here. My time is worth money and I know my value. I can write a post tomorrow and it will get tens of thousands of views outside of here. I respect what you do, and how you supported me in the past, but I have to stand my ground here and continue to pose the questions in this post.

Steemers would be supportive of anyone who provides useful content, one would think. This site is not short of people who game the system - what it IS short of is decent content. Those who actually post original and carefully considered content are the ONLY ones actually supporting this platform.

Bullshit x2 Its the combination of all which makes it a success

are you kidding?

I'm following you and viewing and upvoting your content. It's very good.

BUT - you are new here, many of your followers may be newbs too.

Give it a few months, and if anything do less posts, and more interacting.

I have 600 followers but that took a year to build up - my last post got 95 views.

I have 560 followers and my last post got 3 views - I have no idea why

After looking at your timeline I have a theory straight away - it's your top images - they need to be 16x9 landscape format with bright colours - yours are not suitable at all.

eg - good:

bad:

good point. I will consider that.

Hi, welcome to Steemit :)

Maybe you are about to break a threshold and if you keep pushing your results will look significantly better leading to more motivation?

Congratulations @docdelux! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published 4 posts in one day

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I think, as with anything, and since you've asked our opinion, that everyone would benefit if you keep going and don't give up. Consistency does pay off... I am a fitness pro and that is certainly the case in my industry. And, like the previous commenter, a comparative viewing to your other platforms just isn't available yet on steemit due to its total size. But... have no fear. I myself am just getting started to unleash content on steemit. Keep going. Even if it's just repeat and re paste for now, to save your energy, those of us who can't stand the Facebook platform will benefit from seeing your material, as it is new to our eyes. Present company included! Thank you, so much, for your authentic thoughts here. We see you. You are doing amazing things in a brand new paradigm.

Hey @docdelux, check out my [NEW] STEEMIT HACK FOR MORE VIEWS.

I'm sure it will help you put a huge spin on things! Wish you all the best. 👹

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61696.14
ETH 3401.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52