A long delayed 'introduceyourself' + Is it appropriate/desirable/correct ? Steem Decorum

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

![tom and lo.png]
Hi Everyone

That's me and my son. I don't really like putting pictures of him online so in case you're wondering, he doesn't have something wrong with his face.

I'm not exactly new here but I never bothered introducing myself.

I've written over 60 articles and thought I better write something that actually tells you about me in case anyone is interested.

I came to steemit through a video I watched on Youtube having not that long before bought my first crypto currency.

The potential of I believe crypto currencies can achieve is the answer to some things I've felt were needed for a long time. But I was only recently convinced that cryptos were the solution to at least some of the issues that I believe exist (I'll save that for another article). But steemit in a certain way, at least for now, provides the answers to the concept I hold in the highest regard which is under constant attack from every direction - FREE fucking SPEECH.

It's not even something that I particularly care to take advantage of in this 'free speech friendly' environment. I'm just attracted to it as a space knowing that it's there.

Moving away from ideology now, it can be a bit intense. I'm a web developer who has gradually moved to being a minor business over the last year. I live in the UK and Italy but am from Ireland.

Now, as I said I have written 60+ articles so I've got some questions in the odd event anyone reads this far. I don't do particularly well with my articles but I'm keen to get someones view on the below so I figured I'd put it in some different articles.

Firstly I can see why some people get annoyed about people self promoting their articles in the comments of other peoples. I wouldn't personally care. If anything it's a compliment in so far as it demonstrates how much traction your article has achieved. But I can empathise with a silent lol.

But is an advertisement like this okay and in line with how people think steem should be used.
![Screen Shot 2017-06-14 at 02.52.01.png]
()

So the above is from this article https://steemit.com/recipe/@develophper/try-this-recipe-i-m-so-confident-you-ll-like-it-i-ll-give-you-a-steem-if-you-don-t which has done very badly but I think it's fair to say attempts to offer some useful content.

If that's okay is this article okay?
https://steemit.com/help/@develophper/two-clicks-is-all-this-will-take-and-i-m-not-asking-for-an-up-vote-but-will-pay-you

It's a much more blatant attempt at self promotion.

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem @develophper I have sent you a tip

Welcome to the community. Wishing you great success with Steemit. Followed

Welcome to steemit! If your looking for crypto currency updates, carpentry and a bit of photography follow me 😎
https://steemit.com/@cryptohustler

Also you should check out the minnow support! It's here to help us small guys grow!!

https://steemit.com/minnowsunite/@hypexals-spiral/minnow-support-project-how-to

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60596.21
ETH 2611.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64