7 weeks on Steem: $20 in post rewards, $200 in cell phone data overages

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

Steem Uses Too Much Data

Something really needs to be done about this. It's like Bitcoin miners who make less than their electricity bill. It's a data hog!

I think the ap downloads data for post you don't open. Sometimes I find I can open many posts on the subway with no connection. Maybe just loading the pic and first line would save on data?

I hope someone is working on this before that Chicago Steem billboard goes up!

Sort:  

Is anyone else seeing this?

Yes, I can see this.
I don't use the app - not sure what else to say :)

Hmm by this I meant data charges. I use my safari browser in iPhone but I am getting killed on data.

I suggest using Puffin Web Browser, Opera Mini, or a mobile browser with a data saving feature. Basically, instead of downloading webpages and resources directly, powerful servers in fast data centers will download and stream a more optimized and compressed copy to you. So, if for example, a Steemit post has a 10MB image as a part of it, instead of downloading the entire 10MB like what happens normally, if that large image will end up showing in a say 300x300 box on your phone anyway, you'll instead get a smaller copy of that large image.

Thanks which works well on iPhone?

I haven't tried too much on iPhone except for Puffin, no complaints. But actually, Chrome for iPhone has the data saver feature! It's in Settings > Advanced > Bandwidth > Data Saver

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54357.85
ETH 2282.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31