What is the true nature of Steemit, as a venue? Steemit Community Roundtable

in #steemit7 years ago

A Brief Introduction: 

This article was written for several reasons, but was inspired in large part by @sykochica’s post from yesterday: SteemitTalk Special Event: Community Round-table Discussion and the ensuing comment discussion.

Additional inspiration from comments and posts around the Steemit community—thanks to @shadowspub @krnel @kus-knee @stellabelle @jd3y @ebryans and many others too numerous to name, but with whom I have had the privilege of interacting over the basic issue of "what IS Steemit, and where is it going?"

Shasta
Mount Shasta

Why this post?

I have only been part of Steemit for about a month, but I really am enjoying this community and this content format. I have "met" some interesting and insightful people here and have reached the point where I feel somewhat invested in seeing this platform grow and thrive. There's a truly great potential here!

At the same time, I am seeing a lot of transition and flux, people concerned about the future, along with squabbles and assertions that things need to change. Some think things are going badly and there's a lot of doom. More factually, the number of active participants in the community seems to be stagnant and that's never a great thing.

Naturally, Steemit is a pretty new platform so “growing pains” are a natural part of the process.

That said, charting a course forward to ensure Steemit’s long term viability and success as a community requires input from the community. I thought it might be wise to “take stock” of what I see here, and what I hope the future will bring—as an exercise in clarity—rather than be drawn into the more “reactionary feedback” I have been observing.

I am using “steemitroundtable” as one of the tags for this post—should anyone else feel inspired to engage in their own explorations, you might consider using that tag as well, as a way to keep these kinds of exploratory posts connected.

JoshuaTree
Joshua Tree

My Own Background:

To wrap some perspective around this commentary, I’m a writer, blogger, content provider. I’ve been part of forums and groups online (and even hosted some), since being a “sysop” on an all-text BBS system at the University of Texas in the late 1980’s. I’ve also written content for about 60 “user generated content” sites (like Steemit), many of which were also peer curated (like Steemit) and involved some form of reward or revenue sharing (like Steemit)

I am NOT a developer, I am also NOT a cryptocurrency/blockchain expert… in the most general sense, I know what Bitcoin is, and now I know what Steem is.

I did work in IT for a few years, mostly in Usability and Human Factors, as well as globalization (which often earned me "most hated" rewards from developers!); I was a technical writer working (mostly) on INTRAnets, I also did time designing computer adaptive skills tests for large companies and the education field. 

I bring up “background” because my interest in Steemit is strongly based in the Human/Community angle, married to the content creation angle. Fifteen years ago, we called this “social blogging." 

More about that later.

Columbine
Columbine-- Marble, Colorado

How I found my way to Steemit

Irony—a very alternative/anarchist friend posted a link on his Facebook feed to an article about Viva Coin and a discussion of that project’s White Paper. As it happened, the article was written on Steemit.

For no particular reason, but probably related to the pretty active (and INTERactive) discussion in the comments, I decided to poke around the site a bit, because I'd never heard of it. 

And I was reminded of the old “social blogging” platforms, previously mentioned. 

I also thought the site interesting because it was also (keep in mind I don’t know much about this stuff!) the first time I’d seen blockchain technology used to support something everyday people could actually use and understand—content creation. 

Sure, I’d been pitched the virtues and promises of Bitcoin years back, but found it all too technical, too much micro niche for a subset of deeply entrenched developers. “Too much learning curve,” I thought, “no real day-to-day applications I can just pick up and go with, in this moment.”

Steemit was the first blockchain thing I'd encountered that didn't seem like a "black box mystery."

So I created an account and started writing.

Sparrow
This bird likes Steemit, too!

What I really LIKE about Steemit

This is a really cool hybrid site, of sorts.

It fills a gap between the Facebook, twitter, Instagram, SnapChat school of “all social” but no significant depth… and the opposite approach of keeping a “serious” blog (or writing articles) on WordPress, Medium and Blogger which can be information rich, but largely lacks the “social” aspect. Throw in a few aspects of tumblr and DeviantArt, and we have the creative/artistic end covered. 

I also really like that I don't get fed a stream of "targeted content" ("censored?") that doesn't necessarily reflect what I want to see... but evidently does serve someone's commercial needs.

I like that there is relatively little "filler and fluff" on Steemit; most contributors here have some kind of interest or passion... whether it's writing or creating cartoons or photography. 

Discussions on posts seems more... intelligent... here than most places I have visited. Sure, there are a few trollish people here and there... but that's just part of life.

Social blogging is an interesting beast. 

If you're not familiar with it, "Social blogging" was the intermediate step between the relatively "primitive" and static early web and the emergence of Facebook/MySpace. 

Trees
Trees and sky, Mt. Shasta

"Blog rings" were really the first attempts at a “social web” (outside of interest-based forums), doing more than individuals simply having their own pages... Blog rings were groups of blogs organized roughly by topic/interest, with pointers from one individual page to the next. People got to “reading each other” and commenting on their way through the “ring.”

Then someone got the idea of bringing more people into the fold by creating a simple user interface like Steemit and giving everyone their own subdomain (like we have here) under a single umbrella. Inside these host sites, "Communities" formed (basically a more complex use of tags). There were a good number of providers, including Diary-X, Xanga, LiveJournal, TypePad, MyDearDiary and many others. 

This was pre-Facebook. 

Then Tom at MySpace and Zuckerberg with Facebook came along and skimmed off all the "social bits" and made the level of interaction way shallower. 

Although I joined Facebook for its “shiny newness” and still have an account there, it still annoys me that it “fluffified” meaningful and creative content creation. 

Facebook didn't really create a better web, merely a different web.

I’m also growing really tired the “channeled” (aka “censored”) content Facebook and Google delivers. Frankly, it confuses the hell out of the Facebook algorithm that I like to look at both sides of an argument or situation. 

I know I’m not alone. 

Sure, there are lots of people who are happy with pictures of their dinner and 140-character tweets, and some are happy with their “very serious” WordPress blogs… but there’s a middle market that's not being served.

Trees
Near Mt. Shasta

Steem, cryptocurrencies and the Reward

Steemit has something really great going for it—the reward system. Not from a technical “how it is distributed” angle, but from what is distributed.

It’s a beautiful gateway for “ordinary bloggers” to gain soft entry to the world of alt. currencies without needing to know a bunch of tech. 

What’s also really cool isn’t just that we get rewarded, but the way we get rewarded.  There is the allure of SteemPower—a sense that contributors can become stakeholders in the platform through simply letting their Steem and SteemPower ride. So you’re contributing, and through your contributions, you’re also investing in the very platform to which you’re contributing. For me that's not only conducive to "brand loyalty," but to wanting to create "good stuff" to help the community thrive.

Now, I recognize that statement may only sound like a swell deal to the more idealistic among us. But it’s still a great feature… enticing enough that I decided to take my accumulated Steem from my first month and Power Up, a couple of days ago.

BigSur
Big Sur, California

So WHO is Steemit going to be attractive to? 

They are probably aged 30-60, have had web access for 15-20+ years so they remember the pre-Facebook web; like me, they are tired of Facebook, twitter, instagram, snapchat that may be great for quickie updates but lack any real connection... they are probably creative-- writers, poets, photographers, videographers, artists, anarchists, change agents, activists-- and they are tired of Facebook/Google's attempts to "channel" (censor?) what they get to see and say... because on those sites "commerce" is more important than "content."

And God forbid we offend the advertisers!

Steemit is definitely a niche site, and will NEVER get "half of Facebook" (I know, "never say never"), but we might skim off the most independent and free-thinking 1%. That's still 20 million people, and that wouldn't be too shabby, the "1% Fallacy" notwithstanding.

I want to kick in something important here. I'm sure Steemit might also look good to people who want to "get paid for writing online." But they are a horrible market to try to reach because they tend to focus on short term benefits, not the long term well-being of a venue. More about that further down...

The not-so-good: Community vs. bots and technology

Recently, there seems to have been a good bit of upheaval over the use of bots and flagging and related issues. I haven’t been here long enough to know whether this is an ongoing issue, or something new, so I’ll refrain from offering much opinion.

LavenderFarm
Lavender farm near Mt. Shasta

However, communities are built by humans, "clever technology" is merely the infrastructure. Peer-to-peer doesn’t mean that my bot does lunch with your bot… it means you and I sit down and have an actual meal.

One more time: Communities are built by PEOPLE not by technology.

I'm not against bots/scripts per se, but we have to look at their functionality. 

For example, the @cheetah bot serves a function, ferreting out potential copied content. Other bots have other functions, catching spam or abuse or plagiarism or whatever. BUT... many bots work more like a destructive virus than tools to build connection and community. 

Let's face it, bots are basically-- stupid. Unless someone has the time (and skill) to sit down and actually write a really complex script (I'm talking on the level of Google's search algorithms) a bot can't tell a bad photo of a dead baby from a researched essay on Byzantine history. Bots don't "agree" or "disagree" with an opinion, they don't "feel" anything about a piece of art, they don't recognize a 9-year old's stilted writing from Shakespeare. 

Having a bot go around and upvote everything simply “because it exists” begs the question of whether that REALLY is "getting around the community?" Does that actually reward content of value, and bury keyword spam, nonsense and so on?

Depends on your metric, I suppose. 

Value is subjective.

But let me offer an analogy:

Is getting in your car and driving through the center of town and then coming back home... and announcing "I saw everyone in town today!"... really the same thing as parking in town, getting out and having a conversation with everyone you know, and meeting a few new people at a café? 

Framed like that, most people would say no. 

Cholla
Cholla cactus in bloom

What I’d like to see Steemit be/become

Seems to me Steemit has the bones to become a thriving content hub for independent thinkers of all persuasions, as well as artists, writers, poets, photographers, activists and others who are a little tired of excessively fluffy and censored "guided" content. 

It could also be a great home for organizations trying not only to create awareness of their causes, but also as a fundraising/support venue where supporters could donate directly to the organizations, using Steem from the content they create.

I believe Steemit could be especially appealing to those interested in alternative economies and currencies... and could easily extend to include an alternative global marketplace... perhaps building on initiatives such as PeerHub. The same way Facebook became a faceless giant, eBay was--once upon a  time-- a really cool marketplace for quirky collectibles and plain "weird" stuff... a peer-to-peer situation, not today's giant commercial machine dominated by corporate sellers (I opened my eBay account in 1998-- it was cool, back then...).

The additional benefit of a thriving community would be its attractiveness to investors. "Investors" being those who might simply buy and hold Steem, without being community participants... simply because Steemit looks "like a good thing." This, in turn, increases the demand for Steem, prices go up, and the community looks more attractive to new content providers, causing more growth and it starts feeding itself.

Juniper
Twisted juniper tree, Joshua Tree National Park

What are the problems, and what’s missing?

My experience on Steemit so far suggests things still need some tweaking before a major "coming out party" is warranted. There are a few ideas and some fundamentals that might be discussed:

Clarification of bot vs. human value and interaction. Conventional (non-developer) users will immediately question how their content is upvoted 200 times, but only read 20 times. As a content provider, I want my stuff read by humans not pinged by bots. Or, at least, I want human interaction to have more worth than automation.

It would be really nice to have some kind of internal site message system. Nothing fancy, just something basic. Yes, I know Busy.org has that... but that brings up another issue. Most "average" users aren't going to want to run 17 "helper apps" to make Steemit what they want... they'll just say "too much hassle" and head back to Facebook or tumblr. Decentralized apps is a great idea... as long as they can be executed centrally. 

Steemit needs some kind of referral tracking system. When I post an article recommending Steemit in a venue where I "know people" (or I simply recommend it to friends) and they become members, I'd like to know. It's not about me wanting a reward or a cookie for my work, it's about COMMUNITY. It's about me knowing that Fred and Susan made accounts, so I can send them a welcome message (on above message system!) and encourage them to publish their own content... and maybe offer help and support. Shouldn't be super hard to do-- our usernames are already part of every unique URL here. 

Bigfork
Evening cloudscape, Flathead Lake, Montana

Marketing Concerns-- Patience-- and Cautionary Tales!

One final point before I end relates to marketing Steemit externally. All I can advocate is patience and allowing for gradual "organic" growth.

In my opinion, the single biggest mistake we can make is to market Steemit on the "rewards," rather than the "community features." Sure, getting paid is a great attractor, but just who does that approach appeal to?

Let me share a story of the last disaster by a venue who positioned themselves as "get PAID to do social media." An already forgotten startup named Bubblews brought themselves to market about four years ago. They had the plan, they had the big time venture funding, and things were going pretty well. Then the company and management started getting noticed by mainstream media and Wall Street... and the founders started doing interviews and getting press coverage. 

All of a sudden there was a truly spectacular growth spurt as the world flocked to this new site that "pays you to do social media." Something like 1.5 million accounts added in a few months.

But who were all those people?

Tanager
Red Tanager, Sedona, Arizona

The "Clicking for Cash" crowd is the absolutely worst user you can ever attract. Sure, they come in stellar numbers if you utter the words "make money online" but they are like an army of locusts whose only ambition is a single minded adherence to "I Make Money Online Clicking Buttons." They do NOTHING for the community except "use" the system to fill their pockets through any and all manual or automated methods that do "the bare minimum" to maximize their returns, and when the cash stops flowing, they exit en-masse, leaving the host site depleted and filled with trash. 

MEANWHILE, 90% of the "serious" users will have exited in disgust... and next thing the company fails. 

"But that can't happen here..." you might be thinking. Sorry. Wrong.

Understand that these are the same people who think getting two cents for transcribing supermarket receipts on Amazon Mechanical Turk constitutes "Making money online" even though they are getting paid 70 cents an hour. Their number is legion... I would guess there are a couple of MILLION of them, worldwide... and their numbers are actually growing rapidly because developing nations have better and better connectivity, which means more and more people are online from regions where not only is $100 a month considered significant income, but "cheating the system" is a somewhat acceptable behavior inherent in the local culture.

BigSur
Foggy Sunset, Big Sur, California

I would strongly recommend presenting Steemit as a "censorship free content site" rather than a "money making venture." Let the money follow the content, not let the content be a bi-product of the lure of money.

By the way, Bubblews is not some isolated case of greed causing havoc. In fact, they were small fry. Another great content project-- the brainchild of (among others) web marketing guru Seth Godin-- named Squidoo made it all the way to 43rd most active web site worldwide (according to Quantcast), before crashing and burning at the hands of money-for-nothing-seekers whose pervasive attempts to "game the system" overwhelmed efforts maintain a high quality standard.

Let's NOT follow them... let's be patient!

And let's develop a really strong human-based peer curation system designed to uplift worthy content and bury the crap (which is bound to come, one of these days) in obscurity... and without reward.

Well, if you actually read this far, congratulations and thank you! You're pretty dedicated, and probably care about the future of the community. 

I'll end by saying that I probably don't know what I am talking about... but I thought I'd share, anyway!

(As always, all text and images by the author, unless otherwise credited. This is original content, created expressly for Steemit)

Sort:  

money-for-nothing-seekers

That's the problem with game-picking gambling mentality to enter into a free-lottery 0-risk get something for nothing scammyness. Been an issue for a long time, and people can't see it. Adds 0 future value to the platform. No one cares about it. They are only in it for the money. A campaign needs to stop this crap.

Don't get me wrong, it's fine for people to be "in it for the money" if their contributions add value. Someone comes in and contributes a new piece of high quality content once an hour because they actually have the skill and determination to do so? Brilliant! Have at it, and here's a nice hunk of ching for your service to humanity! It's the group that makes 20 "Hello Steemit, I am getting paid to post online, please upvote and comment and follow me so I can make more money" posts a day with spammy tags that's the problem.

In the interest of non-censorship and all that, the latter shouldn't be prohibited from posting, but the peer curation system (giving more power to actual EYEBALLS) should be able to sink such content into oblivion within minutes, rewardless. If there's zero rewards for completing an action, it will eventually not be done.

But part of the challenge is imparting the idea that "it matters" in the greater picture... specifically that content matters beyond the initial 24 hours... even if the creator is no longer being PAID, the content remains an "ambassador" for Steemit in perpetuity; meaning the next potential Steemit contributor or investor who randomly lands here is going so see that piece of content and use it as a basis for the choice point "This is a GREAT venue! I'm joining!" vs. "This is a pile of CRAP! No way!" But people have to get onboard with a time horizon that stretches months and years, not just 24 hours...

What crap are you talking about here @krnel - which campaign you referring to? You talk about an issue for a long time, here on steemit or on other networks? Which networks you have been active you are talking about?

Excellent post, @denmarkguy ! I'm agree with your thoughts about the community of Steemit and yes, I'm aged 30-60, have had web access for 15-20+ years, I'm tired of Facebook, twitter, instagram, etc, I'm a creative woman. I'm in the target :D

Thank you @silviabeneforti, and you are an excellent example of the misunderstood idea that "quality" does NOT have to be a 5-page essay. The way you share your art and creativity is really interesting!

Well @denmarkguy that was an excellent analysis of the situation and I enjoyed your future vision for the platform. Steemit should be very happy to have you on board.

I've promoted your article to get it on the front page and I will recommend it to others.

@kus-knee (The Old Dog)

@kus-knee, thank you for your kind words... and it's very kind of you to promote the post, as well!

I feel hopeful that Steemit can continue to grow if the community works together as good "shepherds" on what develops here. As I ended in the post, I don't necessarily know what I am talking about... but I do know that discussion is important, so things don't just get ignored.

My hope is that the post will fall on the eyes of those that have the knowledge and ability to steer the ship in the right direction. If you "don't necessarily know what you're talking about" what should I say! :) Keep up the great writing!

I hope it does, too... I do genuinely hope this ship sails in the right direction!

Brilliant post @denmarkguy and I agree with most of your thoughts - I commented on the post of @donkeypong about the new community focus of the guilds which I am sceptic about (depending on how this will be run in the end - we do not know enough to judge) as I made my experience in such platforms as well.

Also agree on the marketing part, slow organic growth is more sustainable in my view and we indeed need to be careful to have all these click to be paid spammers which will come for sure when they get attracted by "rewards" - that is normal, but they are not easy to get rid of.

I also pointed out on a post by @papa-pepper I think that we need some kind of referral tracking system.

Great post - resteemed and upvoted! It is important we all work together as team, can only say that over and over again.

Steem on! BePositive! Dream Big!

Thanks @uwelang, appreciate your comment, and the resteem! Positivity is important-- not in that blind to the problems way, but in terms of highlighting what is good and can be built on.

I am a little skeptical of some of the Guild efforts, as well... we get back to the issue of concentration of power vs. functionality. If there is a genuine effort to "highlight excellence" and/or "bury spam," that can be a positive... on the other hand, a closed circle of "mutual back scratching" is not so good. Personally, I like groups that discover great content and publish lists of it...

Thanks @denmarkguy - i think at this stage we just do not know what the plans are so we need to be patient - the only reason i have not posted yet my preview as I do not want to write about speculative things. Could have written a warning but that could also lead some people feel attacked as they might have considered things I would have written already - I certainly do think if marketing is implemented the Spam issue will be difficult to manage but I trust our leaders to handle it. Re Guild efforts still not sure what it means to become more lean and de-centralized in one - sure our friend @donkeypong or other whales might help more here.

Either way we need to see how it develops and if i should buy now some thousands of steem or not lol

thank you for your interesting post @denmarkguy, and wish long life to Steemit

Thank you! I also hope Steemit has a long life, perhaps as a "model" for what can be functionally built on the blockchain... and NOT as a model of "what not to do.!"

„…I probably don't know what I am talking about…“, @denmarkguy you must not hide your light under a bushel! After a lot of words regarding your sophisticated social media background.

You are right and figured out the real scenario. I agree 99%, except the part about the people you described as „ from regions where not only is $100 a month considered significant income.“ There are a lot of unique information these people are able to produce but in every system where money is involved the cheaters are already sitting in. In many cases you see them cheating but there are lots of cases you don't. You cannot pick out a group to point to. And there's no average empirical knowledge you can rely on. But a lot of very clever people exists mainly focused on just draining any pool in their scope. And by the way, this is very common in systems were money is involved. Sorry, but you can't avoid, even carry these „clever“ ones.

I just wanted to stop voting Steem–politics. But I can't stand your posting. Upvoted and resteemed.

@afrog, thank you for your thoughtful comment. I'm just going by the old wisdom the we can help by speaking our truth, but not to become attached to that truth being THE truth!

I did not mean to offend, with respect to any particular groups. People everywhere have something worthwhile to contribute-- in fact, I find the global nature of information very interesting. That's not the issue, nor in question. The problem is people's behavior, EVERYwhere. And the fact that people will behave differently for a reward that means "I eat for a month" than for a reward that means "I eat one nice dinner." Interestingly enough, on a couple of now defunct sites, the LOUDEST protestors against cheating were the high quality contributors from places with a high concentration of cheaters.

GREAT article. Also love the photos you used to spice it up. Happy high quality steeming!

Thank you! It's a good way to use all my own travel photos in connection with writing.

I would strongly recommend presenting Steemit as a "censorship free content site" rather than a "money making venture."

This is what I've been thinking, too. The difference is really big with people who are attracted by these marketing points.

Indeed. The problem with the phrase "Get paid to..." is that it draws people who don't really care WHAT they are getting "paid" for... so they often have zero passion for the actual venue they are part of. If you attract someone simply because they expect "a great content site," they are more likely passionate about great content... as a result of which they add to the value of the venue.

Interesting thoughts I enjoyed your insight.

thanks for fina foto

Thank you, glad you enjoyed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63071.06
ETH 3121.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84