You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What is the true nature of Steemit, as a venue? Steemit Community Roundtable

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Brilliant post @denmarkguy and I agree with most of your thoughts - I commented on the post of @donkeypong about the new community focus of the guilds which I am sceptic about (depending on how this will be run in the end - we do not know enough to judge) as I made my experience in such platforms as well.

Also agree on the marketing part, slow organic growth is more sustainable in my view and we indeed need to be careful to have all these click to be paid spammers which will come for sure when they get attracted by "rewards" - that is normal, but they are not easy to get rid of.

I also pointed out on a post by @papa-pepper I think that we need some kind of referral tracking system.

Great post - resteemed and upvoted! It is important we all work together as team, can only say that over and over again.

Steem on! BePositive! Dream Big!

Sort:  

Thanks @uwelang, appreciate your comment, and the resteem! Positivity is important-- not in that blind to the problems way, but in terms of highlighting what is good and can be built on.

I am a little skeptical of some of the Guild efforts, as well... we get back to the issue of concentration of power vs. functionality. If there is a genuine effort to "highlight excellence" and/or "bury spam," that can be a positive... on the other hand, a closed circle of "mutual back scratching" is not so good. Personally, I like groups that discover great content and publish lists of it...

Thanks @denmarkguy - i think at this stage we just do not know what the plans are so we need to be patient - the only reason i have not posted yet my preview as I do not want to write about speculative things. Could have written a warning but that could also lead some people feel attacked as they might have considered things I would have written already - I certainly do think if marketing is implemented the Spam issue will be difficult to manage but I trust our leaders to handle it. Re Guild efforts still not sure what it means to become more lean and de-centralized in one - sure our friend @donkeypong or other whales might help more here.

Either way we need to see how it develops and if i should buy now some thousands of steem or not lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 59522.29
ETH 2588.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45