Dear Steemit, You're in DESPERATE Need of a Status Page! (A "Comedy of Errors")

in #steemit7 years ago

Houston, we have a problem!

I'll be the first to admit that I am a bit of a "Steemit Evangelist," and I regularly annoy friends and relatives by telling them this is the greatest thing since sliced bread.... but as of late the Good Ship Steemit seems to have hit some pretty rough seas.

Now, I will preface the following by saying that I have no idea what it takes to build a network like Steemit on a blockchain. However, there are certain very basic things that need to be addressed... that are more psychological than anything.

Lantana
Lantana in bloom

I don't know what's going on with the site, but this morning I found myself-- for the nth time-- having to refresh the page several times each tried to post a comment. 

Not to mention that some pages were taking 20, 30, 60 seconds to load. And sometimes, trying to reload the page would not actually display the "current" version, as a result of which I double posted a comment. Then when I refreshed a 3rd or 4th time... it showed the first comment posted four minutes earlier.

Reminded me a bit of the good old days of surfing the web with AOL 2.5 on a 28.8k phone connection...

I don't know what's going on with the site, but what's with all the "transaction broadcast error" messages? You try to post something, you wait for 45 seconds as the activity icon spins and spins... and then "transaction broadcast error.

It's getting a bit annoying.

Yeah, I know, "Steemit is in Beta," and all that good stuff. I GET that. 

AppleBlossoms
Apple blossoms in spring

The other day I created a new post... sent it, and it ended up... well, I'm not sure where. Not that it's a big deal, but it certainly didn't end up in the "New" posts feed... although it did end up on my blog page. So it posted, but by some glitch was never listed as "new."

For those who think that's "no big deal," think again. That post had ZERO upvotes and comments after 20 minutes... compared to usually about 15-20 votes and 3-4 comments. 

I don't know what's going on with the site, but half the time my upvotes don't actually "take" and become upvotes. So I have to redo them. Only to get a message (sometimes) "You've already made a similar vote.

Sure there are workarounds, but should I REALLY have to sit and constantly refresh my Steemd page in order to see whether my actions on Steemit happened?

This all gets a little "scarier" when it comes to our wallets and trying to transfer Steem/SBD to another user or to one of the exchanges. Did my transfer ACTUALLY complete?

I Don't Know What's Going On With the Site, BUT...

Did anyone spot the common phrase, as I described the above issues?

Post
This is a solid post...

I want to make it perfectly clear that I don't have an issue with Steemit being a bit buggy-- because we are in Beta, after all-- what I have a "problem" with, is not knowing what's going on.

Clearly "something" is not as it should be... but what? Another DDoS attack? New code being tested? I tried checking the Steemit "official" twitter and Facebook pages... but there is nothing there. 

Sure, there are occasional updates on @steemitblog, but that doesn't help a lot if trying to look at Steemit returns a "50x error."

So we're all pretty much in the dark. 

AGAIN... it's not the bugs that are the problem, it's the "being in the dark."

So let's look at that, and the deeper implications.

Being in the dark results in people losing confidence and enthusiasm, and eventually losing interest. And users losing confidence is the last thing a brilliant venue like Steemit can afford to have happen when it is still fresh and new and trying to grow rapidly.

The Steemit community needs to know that "Yes there are problems, and yes we're aware of these and working on them."

The Case for a Steemit Status Page

Most major web sites-- especially those that handle "financial" parts of people's lives (in this case, our Steem wallets)-- have free standing web pages or status feeds. Along with somebody(s) responsible for keeping them current, moment-to-moment-- @andrarchy, anyone in the loop who could do this?

Reeds
Reeds at water's edge...

These status pages live on completely different servers and are typically hidden behind 47 thousand layers of CloudFlare and other anti-tampering protection-- in other words, they have "100% uptime."

Those pages are where you go-- through a link on every page on the main site-- if you want updates while the site is running buggy; or it's where the front page forwards to in case of something like the recent DDoS attacks or a complete site failure. 

Some organizations simply use a dedicated WordPress or Blogger blog; or a dedicated twitter feed... that exists for NO REASON other than to report site status, problems and fixes. In many cases, there is also a "report a problem" option on these pages.

I used to make most of my living from eBay... and whenever I couldn't get anything to work, I would check the live "System Status" site and could usually find my answers: "Photo uploads are down as of 16:34; developers are working on the issue, estimated restoration time 20:00."

At least I would know what was going on.

Developers and Techies vs. the General Public

Yes, I realize there are many who will say "yeah but Steemit.chat, blah, blah, blah" and "Yeah but github, blah, blah, blah."

Water'sEdge
At the seaside...

That's fine and true and applicable IF-- and ONLY if-- you have a fundamental understanding of programming and the tech behind web sites and coding.

For example, yes I know there are other Steemit blockchain entry points such as busy.org and steemitstage.com, etc.

But what must be remembered is that as Steemit keeps growing, the "next marginal user" will increasingly be some "Regular Joe" in the street with a smartphone... who neither knows nor cares what "a github" is; they just care about "where their stuff is.

That's why an "Explain what's happening with the site like you're talking to a six-year old" status page is required. 

Last I checked the domain "SteemitStatus.com" was available. I sincerely hope one of the developers and/or witnesses reads this post and snaps it up with an eye towards implementing it.

And yes, I realize the developers have plenty to work on these days, but I think this really needs to be made a priority... because it would be a great shame if something as original and beautiful as Steemit fails because of poor public relations.

The Importance of Good Public Relations

Some of the greatest ideas and projects can end up dead in the water because of botched public relations and poor communication between developers (owners) and users.

Sunset
Northern sunset

Over the past 20 years, I've watched numerous projects squander their extraordinary potential by focusing exclusively on features while not placing enough importance on communication and public relations. 

Here's a lesson: It doesn't matter how brilliant your product/service might be-- if people lose confidence in you, you're sunk. 

I remember a fairly prominent provider of message boards-- around 2005-- botching a software upgrade. This was a premium service-- forum owners paying from $25-$1000 a month to have their communities hosted. 

When everybody's screens went black... instead of messaging all customers and saying "we know there's a problem, we're working on it, and dialing back to the last good edition till we fix it" NOTHING was said. All the forum owners wanted was some reassurance.

Two months later-- as a result of continued non-communication-- that company had gone from a $2m a month enterprise to having about 300 minor clients and "free" sites... all while maintaining it had just been "a minor glitch." A minor glitch that cost you 98% of your business...

Let's not have something like that happen here!

Here's the thing-- I think Steemit is a really awesome place, and that's why I throw these ideas out there for discussion. I was to see us thrive, not crash; I want to see us move towards $10.00 Steem, not $0.10 Steem!

What do YOU think? Has your approach to Steemit changed in the time you've been here? If you have been here a long time, are you as enthusiastic now, as you used to be? Do you belong to any guilds and groups? Do you buy upvotes and re-steems? Have you ever? Leave a comment - share your experience - be part of the conversation!

(As usual, all text and images by the author, unless otherwise credited. This is original content, created expressly for Steemit)
Published 20171025 16:45 PDT 

Sort:  

My approach to steemit has changed in these ways...

  1. I use it as business whereas when I first got here I used it as a blog platform. But I have found ways to change it.
  2. I don't pretend to understand cryptocurrency and it's not the reason I started steemit. It is a NICE fringe benefit though.
  3. I get frustrated when the website is being wonky and all I can think is... how many UPvotes did I miss? How many comments are lost now? Did people try to comment then get mad and leave?

I belong to a gardening and homesteading community and love the members who are very supportive.

Only been here three months but I am still 100% diligent and post daily, comment more than I actually post and have learned more in the last three months about gardening, etc than anywhere else.

I have given up on other social media websites and platforms.

Sounds to me like you have it pretty well worked out. This remains a blogging platform for me... and represents my "return to social blogging" after about a 12-year break. And I plan to continue that. But I also have a "business" account for my wife's and my small local art gallery... my approach with that is somewhat different and more niche driven.

I do try to post daily... and I actually put as much time and effort in as I used to... but that time and effort used to result in 2-3 post and 40 comments a day; today it results in ONE post and maybe 10 comments because of the bugginess. And THAT sucks.

Ironically, same here. I was absent from writing for about two years due to an illness. I had no ambition to write (I had lost the drive) but when steemit appeared, I was enthusiastic and it helped me find the desire to write. And to be honest I have been writing and have found a new release for my writing.

Somedays I only post once while other days I will post 2-3 times. I like to spend time commenting and reading others' posts. I get just as much "joy" from that as I do writing my own posts.
I always try to give an open-ended comment too. I like to have dialogue going; not just "nice post", etc. I like substance!

The "bugginess' does become infuriating at times. I just plow through it and hope for the best.

I see steemit has changed some things overnight; fingers crossed this will eliminate the "wonky" issues.

You lack of comments today as compared to "yesteryear' could be because of your absence. Visibility is important. Give it some time for people to realize you're back.

I am where you are in all of this @goldendawne I pretty much intend using Steemit for outreach and this platform could certainly fit the bill. I have no idea about cryptocurrency either, but if it helps to reach others, coordinate efforts AND is a sustainable currency that can move us away from central banks I'm all for it and here for the long haul.

I am afraid at this point to invite others but will continue building within the community and learning more about the platform and the cryptocurrency.

I see Steemit for what it can be. I am excited for that. I try to hold on to the hope that after Steemfest is over that the developers or whom ever is in charge will now put their focus on what ever needs to be done to make this a workable project for all of us.

This is only my first month here but I did notice things were much smoother the first 2 weeks. I guess all we can do for now is to Steem on and hope for the best.

And always, let peace be the journey!

Yes @vickiebarker!
I see the future of steemit and I believe it will be what I 'need' it to be.

I told my husband months ago, I will be adding to our retirement; as I am a SAHWife, this is my way of contributing to our future.

Don't let the issues now discourage you. I know it will all be 'ironed' out and running smooth soon.

I totally agree that a nice explanation would be very helpful or at least some kind of communication. I've been here for 3 months and I've seen better times here on Steemit, but I'm just waiting patiently for this website to work properly since every day for the last 2 weeks have been different but no real explanation. I still have big expectations and very excited to be on this platform and like you I hope it will hit $10 Steem.
I make posts daily and I try to do the Color Challenge daily, since I love photography and nature.
By the way, love your nature photography and how you applied it on your post and your previous posts, so I'm following you to see more of your great posts and amazing photography of nature and your previous posts, so I'm following you to see more of your great posts and amazing photography of nature.

A major part of the reason I even bother to make posts like this is precisely that I CARE about this platform and think it has awesome potential. And so, I want to see good things happen. I have also been part of "content platforms" for almost 20 years... and I just feel compelled to speak up whenever I see the same mistakes that previously led to nowhere... happening all over again.

I really hope for the best for this place... and certainly plan to continue supporting and promoting it. AND-- as an active user-- I will also continue to toss what I hope is constructive criticism out there, on a regular basis.

I see so many high ranking veterans (whales) that have worked his or her butts off on this platform. That is the main reason for their success. They work diligently, faithfully daily and put out good, informative content.

Glad you're back to being an active member @denmarkguy

I'm certainly an "active" member but... but it's just a LOT of work these days, and it makes me wonder what happens to the many newbies (NOT the mass-market spammers) who come here and find it an uphill struggle to post even a few articles.

We are very lucky to have you here on this platform because that is exactly what we need is constructive criticism to make this place a better place and keep on improving and growing and like you said having 29 years experience on other platforms makes a huge difference because you have seen a lot and you can see the mistakes and what works and what doesn't. I'm really new to this or any platform since I'm not really a social media person, so its great to have someone you can learn from and trust. Thanks for all you are doing to make this a better place.

The part that really get me is they want us to INVEST in the platform. Like put in real money....serious?!?! Who would do that when the very basics of the site haven't worked for weeks?

And you bring up something really important there.

Steemit is the front end of the Steem token. Sure, Steem could be seen as a separate "investment," but fact is that people look at Steemit when they look at Steem... and if the front end comes across as a clusterfuck, it casts shadows on the currency.

One of the great things (In my opinion) about Steem is that there is an "economic reason" for its existence, in the form of the Steemit social site and all the apps being developed for it. But if that part of the equation doesn't "present well," why--indeed-- should people INVEST in the token?

Exactly. I left this comment earlier today:

Yeah. Communication issues ruin everything. They don't seem to be putting much effort into communicating.

I know people in PR. Perhaps Steemit should be hiring and doesn't know it yet?

You'd think, with all these posts about the issues they're having, that they would. Or at least, be starting to consider it...

This post inspired one, which I'm finishing up and will drop the URL to below. Thanks!

Well, they've put some lipstick on this pig but it's still squealing: my comment never posted, had to close the post and open it again, and saw both that my comment was still in draft, then scrolled down and saw that it had also posted!

Anyway, here's my new post: https://steemit.com/steemit/@libertyteeth/we-are-not-in-beta

That failed as well, here's the evidence, not that it's really necessary, everybody fucking knows this site shit the bed:

Yeah, I'm getting that a lot. I copy everything to the buffer before hitting POST, and then refresh my Steemd profile to see if anything actually happened. It's workable.

But WAIT! I should have to DO ALL THAT.

I totally GET that this site was created by clockchainiacs and developers... but in order for this place to giddyup and run on a truly LARGE scale, you have to de-niche yourself from being a hangout for a bunch of techies. And that means they gotta have a really good PR front to smooth the waters when the shit hits the fan.

Lacking communication is DEATH in this market... all people need is a quick "Ooops, we fucked up and our team is all over that shit," and people will calm down and carry on.

Agreed, sorry for late response.

I would also like a feature where it says "someone else made a similar post ready" as an error. Lol just kidding. I do see a lot if people describing these issues and I'm personally taking some time off until things come back to normal. It's good to take breaks sometimes folks, don't be greedy, spend some time on your other priorities. Another alternative is to acces the steem block chain through another interface. Https://Busy.org and a few others. Happy Halloween!

And that's some good advice, too... I ended up taking some personal time the last couple of times things got SO messed up it was almost impossible to post.

Use busy.org or nd.busy.org to login and use Steemit. It is safe! It works! If you want to post the best one to use in nd.busy.org. If you like to use the slider to upvote posts use busy.org. My son uses it and I just started using it. It works. It is safe. Just talk to some people on Discord if you want to research it first.

I do use busy.org from time to time, although I'm not that fond of their interface-- otherwise I use Steemitstage, which is very close to a mirror of Steemit. I also use chainbb but I find it cumbersome... which is actually weird since I more or less grew up using web message boards.

Agreed. Steemit needs a status page, otherwise people like me think it's the state of our internet. But everyone is having the same problem. I absolutely love your photographs. The proportions in your images are perfectly captured and the colours are represented even better than in nature, if that's possible :)

Thanks for the kind words @katyclark... including my own photos has been one of my personal trademarks for the 20-odd years I've been blogging.

But yes, people just need a small posting somewhere so they know there's a problem that's being worked on, and the site hasn't been sucked into a black hole.

Similar troubles here @denmarkguy..Steem marketcap is huge but nobody can keep the site working?

I'm sure someone can make an argument that the Steem token is an independent investment vehicle, but if Steemit is its "banner," and the banner is unreliable... how much will people have faith in the token?

Another great point @denmarkguy!

It took awhile...but I was able to upvote this post.

Thank you for the extra effort!

wow fantastic photography.1st and last pic is so beautiful.i like it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 59456.51
ETH 2300.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48