Hey Steemit, recommend me the best keyboard to keep Steeming

in #steemit7 years ago

20171221_181750.jpg

I currently have this piece of crap that came with my Dell computer, and I've never liked it. The keys don't feel good, and also it has no wrist wrest so there's like a 1 inch cliff below it.

Please recommend the best keyboards to keep Steeming at a high rate. I know I can count on you!

Sort:  

Looking at how frequently you post I'd really invest in a decent keyboard with mechanical switches. (Don't wanna promote here but take a look at Das keyboard: https://www.daskeyboard.com/products/mechanical-keyboards/ )

If you have time and you want to know more about mechanical switches and which ones are most recommended for you, have a read here: http://www.keyboardco.com/blog/index.php/2012/12/an-introduction-to-cherry-mx-mechanical-switches/

Personally I prefere the cherry MX brown for tactile feedback but non (little) audible feedback.

very interesting, I have been hearing more about mechanical keyboards but don't know much about it. I'll read your links. Thanks!

They're nice. They are what we used to call "Keyboards" way back when. Then they started making them out of paper-mache and snot. Personally I find the idea of paying over $100 for a keyboard to be insulting. Fortunately now that they've been on the market for a while there are just as good but not so premium choices out there as well. I'm looking forwards to picking this up at the P.O. tomorrow. Lit for coders who have to tell the difference between a : and a ; all the bloody time.

https://www.ebay.com/itm/Real-Mechanical-USB-Keyboard-Enhanded-Gaming-Backlit-LED-Changeable-Color-Black/291971572923

that is interesting! I will check it out

What you mainly have to know about them:
-Best tactile feedback you can get
-Lasts about 50 MILLION keystrokes (up from 5 million on your normal membrane keyboard)
-They are "heavy" and robust, no more sliding/tilting on the desk

*Keycaps are super simple to remove (if you'd ever spill it's easy to clean)

My Logitech K120 has never worn out, and is easier to clean. You just open it, all the keys remain in place, and wash the front of it with all the keys, and the rubber gummy. Wipe down the circuit board and put it back together.

I've not seen one fail in ten years of constant use. So...

Yep Cherry makes good switches and they have been around a long time also. Some people love them some hate them. I find I can do well with the softer feel also. Up to the user. A good choice for sure.

After reviewing hundreds of boards, I have found this to be the most ergonomical, well-constructed, budget-minded keyboard:

CrappyCasio.png

Kindly check on razer blackwidow chroma v2. There's a lot of keyboard at amazon.

I tried the Razer Blackwidow Chroma v2 but found it difficult to locate sheet music for.

get a macbook.

This Microsoft keyboard was the best ever.

41BYHW2PV6L.jpg

I think Micorsoft still makes the best keyboards.

hahah I remember this thing!

OMG - I had these at work for a bad year. The boss got many like this and we were all stuck. He thought they looked good. I did accounting and every single person had trouble with space on their desktops. Horrible!!!! People bought their own in from home or bought one for work. Finally they all went out the door one day and we got "real keyboards.

That lip in the front is my enemy!

Posts like this are actualy a good use of steemit :)
On youtube the comments would be too much and too random to follow.

I couldn't agree more!

Logitech K120. I have been using them for years. They last me almost 10 years and I use them hard and long all day every day. Easy to take apart and clean with soap and water and likely under $25.00 most places.

Thanks, will check that one out!

Welcome and any time! They use a membrane switch approach on a plastic circuit board switch matrix. Impossible to wear out and easy to clean and mine travels on top of my soft side duffel bag with PC buried below in travel case. It has not broken yet and has been all over the world many many many times. So I give them a thumbs up.

The best keyboard is one that's within budget, and something "you" like. Amazon usually has a ton of reviews and pretty devent pricing, might not hurt to browse.

i used laptop but toshiba keyboards are great

I use the K120 on my laptop done to not ruin the whole computer by overusing the keyboard on them. Best idea I know of to extend life of the portable. Get a Belkin USB hub and put all your items on it like KB and Mouse and save your ports also.

I type fast and hard and you also want to decouple the motion and force and keep it off the planar of the PC etc.

I’m a very tactile person. The only way to buy a keyboard is to go to a store and try them out. When there, close your eyes and type something from muscle memory. (Userid and password). Repeat on all keyboards until you find the one that feels perfect!!

yeah, just not sure any of the local stores actually have the higher quality keyboards to try

With regard to keyboards, It's not really about quality. (you want a minimum standard of quality of course) It's about personal preference. Are you going to be using it to type novels or for gaming? For video production or just for typing? Do you need/want programmable macro keys? Do you want it to have an embedded USB hub in the keyboard?

Do you like the feel of a mechanical keyboard or is a simple spring loaded key acceptable? What depth of throw do you like your keys to have? (1/8", 1/4", 1/2" etc etc) How much resistance from the keyboard?

I have access to almost any keyboard available, but this Dell is what I travel with. I've highlighted some of the reasons in the picture. It's going on about 5 years.

My view is I spent $20 on it and had it shipped and it worked well since 2005. I loathe to spend $200 on a KB. If you hate it use it as a spare and be out $20, but I kept it and use it on my laptop to save it from getting stressed or broken from typing.

PC varies also and I can overtype on most machines excepting things like a Sun Workstation. So it depends on OS and port style etc. Agreed. I had a Northgate Ultra a long time ago, made noise but it was FAST...

I have the Kinesis Freestyle 2. I really like it.

  • mechanical keys
  • split keyboard
  • hotkeys for copy/paste/cut & more
  • has an add-on for adjustable tilt & pads

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58994.66
ETH 2596.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43