You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hey Steemit, recommend me the best keyboard to keep Steeming

in #steemit7 years ago

Looking at how frequently you post I'd really invest in a decent keyboard with mechanical switches. (Don't wanna promote here but take a look at Das keyboard: https://www.daskeyboard.com/products/mechanical-keyboards/ )

If you have time and you want to know more about mechanical switches and which ones are most recommended for you, have a read here: http://www.keyboardco.com/blog/index.php/2012/12/an-introduction-to-cherry-mx-mechanical-switches/

Personally I prefere the cherry MX brown for tactile feedback but non (little) audible feedback.

Sort:  

very interesting, I have been hearing more about mechanical keyboards but don't know much about it. I'll read your links. Thanks!

They're nice. They are what we used to call "Keyboards" way back when. Then they started making them out of paper-mache and snot. Personally I find the idea of paying over $100 for a keyboard to be insulting. Fortunately now that they've been on the market for a while there are just as good but not so premium choices out there as well. I'm looking forwards to picking this up at the P.O. tomorrow. Lit for coders who have to tell the difference between a : and a ; all the bloody time.

https://www.ebay.com/itm/Real-Mechanical-USB-Keyboard-Enhanded-Gaming-Backlit-LED-Changeable-Color-Black/291971572923

that is interesting! I will check it out

What you mainly have to know about them:
-Best tactile feedback you can get
-Lasts about 50 MILLION keystrokes (up from 5 million on your normal membrane keyboard)
-They are "heavy" and robust, no more sliding/tilting on the desk

*Keycaps are super simple to remove (if you'd ever spill it's easy to clean)

My Logitech K120 has never worn out, and is easier to clean. You just open it, all the keys remain in place, and wash the front of it with all the keys, and the rubber gummy. Wipe down the circuit board and put it back together.

I've not seen one fail in ten years of constant use. So...

Yep Cherry makes good switches and they have been around a long time also. Some people love them some hate them. I find I can do well with the softer feel also. Up to the user. A good choice for sure.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58921.34
ETH 2593.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43