Brief Update on Reputation Score

in #steemit8 years ago

Many of you may have noticed the recent updates to Steemit. Among those updates are the addition of a single digit score next to your name. My score is an 8.

Reputation scores work like earthquake richter scales, they operate on log base 10. In other words a reputation level 8 is 10 times stronger than reputation level 7. Likewise, -8 is 10 times more negative than -7.

Those with weaker reputations are unable to harm the reputation of those with strong reputation.

This score is a simple algorithm that could be changed at any time and will be tweaked. If there are problems with it or if it starts to be gamed, then we will fix it.

We have already identified one bug that will be fixed at the next update.

If you feel you have been unfairly punished by the current algorithm, then you can appeal on slack. Less than 2% of all accounts are currently being filtered due to reputation.

ReputationNumber of Accounts
91
886
7712
61500
51617
41910
31780
21609
134,455
-1106
-2120
-398
-4193
-5116
-6203
-716
-81

The lowest rep is @wang, being the first bot got him singled out by a lot of downvoters over time. We appriciate the service wang provided and he earned some good money from his efforts.

Sort:  

LOL... I've noticed @stellabelle out on her own with a 9. She is indeed The Oracle of the Steemit Matrix!

we have 1 week users account with reputation of (11) !!! Must be a bug!

@dantheman how is it possible to have a reputation of (11) eleven ???
accounts @carlyadams and @cryptogal

and they are new accounts (about one week)
I think on your algo you must use time also! It make no sense a new user has a reputation more than (6) six (example)

I love it! She has been a great contributor and helped build this place early on.

then you can appeal on slack

Perhaps this should be updated prior to the ability to edit being removed? You guys announced that the Slack channel would be nixed within a week and most everyone has moved to http://steemit.chat.

Yeah, aren't we all moving to steemit.chat or will some remain on slack?

She is Steem incarnate =P The physical embodiment of everything that makes this place great:

  • Honesty
  • Compassion
  • Helpful
  • Fun

When something gets me angry and I want to rage-post, I try to remember WWSBD? (What Would Stella-Belle Do?) Break out that RAY OF HOPE yellow! XD

She's the reason I'm a 7.

Lol me too.

This is very encouraging for a minnow like me!

Same, haha love the new rankings!

I was a secret writer (ousted by @earnest if anyone wants to know) but she has made a platform that everyone can use. Hopefully this new idea for a marketplace will add as much value as @stellabelle has to the community. Take a look at this proposal if you have the time Decentralized Steemit Marketplace

thanks to her I got here pretty early too. Could have gotten earlier if only i had listen :) Always thankful for that to @stellabelle

True, she has been looking carefully at good content and upvoted properly.

can we get a nine?

@dantheman , thank you for this. I have been in the IT industry for many years and one thing that I am sure we have all learnt is to listen to the end users and then enhance our software. You guys are doing an excellent job in listening and adjusting. Let's see how this change impacts. It makes a lot of sense. Good luck with the platform...

@dantheman I see whether reputation will boost one's popularity here at least get an award or something Upvote really appreciated their posts, if it is too weak against the pope I think the correct word @wang Farewell, So Much Hate

@dantheman, Maybe I do not really understand the purpose of these updates ..
If this update makes changes of income that I can vote from a previous post, I get repotasi (5) to mngartikan it makes me want to ask @dantheman ..

Perhaps, I see this update only to turn off such @wang bot, and the bot user more..

I concur, it makes sense and I am of the same opinion of @jacor that you listening makes a HUGE difference. We know you don't have to, but because you do, you are earning serious respect which translates to trust.

I had to learn to listen as I thought I always new best, but now I am a very good listener. Except if you ask my wife :) but that's a different conversation.

everything remains on the blockchain... be careful with your statements :)

One of the first things I posted about was the mayor of my hometown, Kalamazoo, MI, being a pedophile. He attempted to solicit me for sex when I was 14 and molested many of my friends. I like that it's there forever. Bobby Hopewell destroyed my life. I need a voice!

I have added a suggestion to the reputation system in my latest post which I believe would bring even more equality to the system https://steemit.com/steemit/@kuriko/dantheman-my-suggestion-to-the-new-reputation-system

Weee, im i have 7 reputation score, same like you @jacor :D
I love this update, it have made a lot of thing clear, and the additional bonus is that we cant instantly see if someone has good feedback over here, or he is rather a spammer or hater.
BTW. @stellabelle you are the only one here who got 9, congratz!!!!

@dantheman I've tried to put out good content, and have fun with a new social media platform, and I come back to find I can't even type a blog for anyone to see! Can I get some help here! Pleases!!

share it everywhere bro. That, plus use of key words plus a good tittle and a great thumbnail.

One does not just get popular. One must promote and build a reputation and following.

As i was meet stellabelle with her insights here etc, i doubt she will be happy with being the only person with REP. She is damn deserving this but as i was noticing her attitude...she won't want to be in focus like this :) just post and write amazing stories. Adorable!!

Anyway i love her posts and crazy but respectful and funny but also tough stories! Doh :) Great to have you here @stellabelle


Hopefully you'll get my message, PITA for me to express my emotional feelings without graphics :/

Hi @dantheman.
I am not BOT.
But, You Down Vote to my comment. so my Reputation -6.
Please look URL goo.gl/OzORZ4
and please look my posts.
Please help me

I upvoted you to fix the rep.

Thank you Vote. And, thank you for help.
It has been restored "6" in you guys, thanks.
This kindness will never forget.

I was downloaded to for using steemit tag to talk about steemit and the @steemcleaners bot downvoted me because i talked about steemit with a steemit tag

@dantheman.
He is really in trouble.
Please give help him.

Quick update, if we allowed 0 then there would be 32,000 users with 0 and 2000 users with 1. We will be tweaking the algorithm to enable 0.

we should do that

This was a needed feature but how does it actually work, for example: if you get downvoted by @wang who has a lot of SP but low reputation will that downvote not affect you?... it won´t affect you in a way that your comments could still show but your rewards will still go down?..

Correct, @wang can still impact your payouts on the posts he downvotes, but he will not impact your reputation.

Flagged for platform updates draining the same pool that rewards all platform users (and disproportionately since unlike any other content they are relevant to the entire user base). IMO the pool is better used to draw new content and users to the platform. Good update and the hopefully the reputation system will improve the platform, so not downvoting on merit.

For platform updates please consider using the blockchain feature that was added to disable rewards on a specific post.

Yeah, @dantheman why not display updates in the green box that was used to inform people about important information about account recovery and all.

@smooth said we should disable rewards while taking in a reward for this comment of $1.60 as of right now 2017-06-24 Saturday Saigon time 6 PM: two faced

You realize: a) there is no feature implemented to disable rewards on comments. b) this was a year ago c) the decline rewards feature is now being used for platform updates so apparently they decided I was right after all.

@smooth, you may or may not be using that excuse or fact as a justification for getting rewards and getting rewards is not really a bad thing in my book but I thought that it was bad in your book. Regardless of whether or not comments had rewards or the ability to op out of rewards, it does not totally excuse you. I am trying to turn your own code of ethics and morale back on you. In my book, I believe in making money. I love capitalism and competition. I like money. I like making profits. But in your mind, maybe you hate money or something. You can live in your world if you want. You have that freedom. You try to tell people that they should not make money and then you make money while you tell people not to make money. That is irony. It is also lazy not to find a way to op out of rewards later if you truly believe it is so bad to make money in certain situations. I believe in making money and you believe that money is bad in some situations. You made an excuse which could be understandable, but it is still kind of transparent or muddy. Maybe, you do this kind of thing sometimes. I know many people say one thing but do a different thing all together. I cannot say that is your character or lack of integrity but I can say it is possible.

Hi @smooth I have been trying to contact you re: SCC in Chat. If you're having problems with Chat you can contact me on my Facebook page please. Thanks

The lowest rep is @wang, being the first bot got him singled out by a lot of downvoters over time. We appriciate the service wang provided and he earned some good money from his efforts.

2nd that - wang the friendly bot :P

Do I understand correctly that it serves as an indicator and don't impact any calculations or publishing rights? Based on the code current algo counts only following and mute marks. Does that true?

Reputation score is a great step forward, I was just discussing the idea in a post yesterday, I'm happy to see wheels were already in motion to get it implemented.

I think it would be good to add a badge or a symbol for each rating. It would make it more visually appealing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64455.55
ETH 3147.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94