DTube can eat up the market share of this alternative video streaming platform. Here is my comparison post

in #steemit7 years ago

DTube was mind blowing. I mean it's not as good as YouTube. But YouTube is HUUUGGEEE!!! DTube is just a bunch of people on the net. STEEM is mainly handled by Top 20 witness. Things like Busy.org steemit.com steepshot.io dmania.lol seemed like a natural progression to me. Some crypto coins already had encrypted messaging/memo features. Adding more text to it seemed a cool do-able upgrade. Even pics don't take much space. Random people on the net can take care of the network without problems. But videos seemed a little too much. I heard that DTube had loading issues in the past. But I only joined January 2018. DTube is smooth now.

I'm making this post after coming across some info on a post by @vimukthi I did resteem it. But if you missed, well wait till the bottom. I need your eyes on my content. I need your eyes on Alexa.com

Major props to the MASSIVE growth of DTube ! They are only ~5 months old and it's already one of the top 20,000 websites and the growth isn't going to flat line anytime soon. I think we'll hit top 2000 sites in this year. I'm 99.9999% sure:)

Now the reason I brought this up is https://www.liveleak.com which is acting as a free speech platform with servers in USA (USSA??) These guys are almost huge. Lots of people (mostly political ones) upload their content onto the side as they risk being censored by YouTube. The Alt-YouTube is a huge market. I had never heard of this site and here are the stats.

I don't know how DTube became so popular in Germany. Maybe those migrant problem stuff made them seek a free speech platform for videos or maybe there was some German language viral phenomenon. Free speech site being being in USA is to be expected and the biggest thing is nobody is earning much on liveleak.com compared to the #dtube vids. Now let's compare the countries where the 2 sites are popular.

That's for DTube and now let's see LiveLeak

What I can see is that DTube is going to catch up in popularity in Germany really well. Quarter of the DTube traffic is German. When something catch fire, it spreads. South Koreans are very tech happy and they have a crypto-craze there. They also don't speak much English and LiveLeak is pretty much just English. Over 60% visitors come from mainly English speaking countries. I've seen few people from Philippines and Indonesia making videos. So DTube has a good footing in Asia. I just hope for more Japanese people on board. I'm a HUUUGGEE anime fan. So more anime lovers is always a PLUS.

Engagement and Demographics



The Bounce rate kind of sucks. Bouncing is when somebody loads a site and immediately leave it.LiveLeak is doing better at this. But they have less page views per visitor. DTube is a lot like YouTube. There is always new recommendations from different people and good videos are easy to find because of curation. If you see a vid with big $$$ you are likely to check it out.

Next one is very interesting



Those people coming from YouTube are due to YouTubers promoting DTube. I've seen a few coming to this side looking for extra earnings for very little additional effort. So YouTube ended up being a great ally in making YouTube loose its throne.

Liveleak.com has lots of support from Reddit. Nobody using Busy or steemit bother with reddit. I think we need to put few promoters into Reddit. Since STEEM is the best social media yet we are too accustomed to this. I think the big whales should try to reach out to these redditors.

The final 2 pieces of data won't suprise you much. But I'll put them down anyways.


Most people into tech are guys. It seems most people who are into alternative video streaming sites is also male. Since we ave less vanity content on both sites, it's likely that people would view the content privately at home. This is especially true for the controversial stuff.

At the end of it all here is what I see

  • You can make more money on DTube
  • The UI/UX is cooler and better and easy to use
  • Better suited to capture the Asian (maybe even African) market.
  • Nobody can take over DTube servers. It's decentralized and global

As for a negative, DTube only has 480p quality. But I don't think it's a problem. We are still not watching short films here. Most of the stuff are Vlogs. If you use a smartphone 480p is more than enough.

I didn't knew anything about LiveLeak until this post by @vimukthi https://steemit.com/politics/@vimukthi/let-s-talk-about-some-ridiculous-youtube-censorship-and-some-bizarre-content-that-had-no-censorship-problems
Maybe most people on LiveLeak don't know DTube exist. So guys..... Please spread the word!!!
I'd love to see this platform grow and to grow with it :)

Sort:  

Well that was good. Keep writing. You make all the right kind of points. People tend to like watching instead of reading as it takes less effort and I do wish we'd move away from primarily Vlog content into Stuff like Game Theory. Actually if a huge gaming channel comes to DTube that would be really epic.

I think we need to make that gaming/ification channel. I want us to set up our own servers for dlive and dtube. For the gaming itself. Not just die the streaming and showing after. For the play itself.

I think you should checkout https://xenio.io/

Open source and decentralized platform for games management and distribution with it's own storefront using smart contracts.

The Xenio blockchain is optimized for gaming, and has been designed with powerful smart contract-based features to allow game publishers and server operators to provide gamers with the highest possible quality gaming experience. The blockchain runs on top of the global Xenio P2P network, and features our own Proof-of-Net working consensus protocol

I Judge A General Purpose Smart Contract Platforms with a simple test. I ask a simple question that would cover pretty much everything. Can I run a Massively Multiplayer Online First Person Shooter on it after that game hit 30 million daily active players on this particular smart contract platform without ruining everything for the rest of the DAPPS on the platform?

I think we could make turn based RPG/strategy games on EOS. Maybe SMTs could allow us to play collectible card games on STEEM. We still haven't gotten game streaming right. So things will take some time.

I love the SMT idea. It's linked to the STEEM account so It'll be like those FB games I barely played, but made more sophisticated.

Gonna look into that. Sounds much better than what we have now. I think that some form of MMORPG is coming and I continue to think that it’ll be largely “RPG” as in REAL play games.

You can delegate to Dmania to earn some rewards. I saw Zappl having a witness server. DPoS is about voting a bunch of people to maintain the services unlike traditional PoS and PoW. Taking part in SONM fog computer would also be nice.

Decentralized game servers would certainly make games as a service awesome. The community will be able fund their own servers and have fun. Not every games has to be a AAA game.

Not every games has to be a AAA game.

Sometimes unpolished games have their own kind of Joy. Also those old games had some real simplicity. Easy to pickup. Nightmare to master.

A resteem costs 0.05 SBD. Thank you for using my service.

@d-zero just got this post resteemed to 5000 followers.

I am not a bot. Upvote this comment if you like this service

Resteemed upvoted

Congratulations @d-zero! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Curious? Read @resteembot's introduction post
Check out the great posts I already resteemed.

ResteemBot's Maker is Looking for Work.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63184.34
ETH 2560.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72