Putting my 15K STEEM POWER towards Steemfollower! (Join Me!!!)

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

steemfollower-green-stars-blend-thumbnail.jpg


Hello friends! This is an update about how I will be pledging most of my current voting strength (around $2 for a 100% upvote.)If you want to continue getting upvote assistance from me, please consider using the tool Steemfollower.

steemfollower-green-stars-blend-thumbnail (1).jpg

What Is Steemfollower?


steemfollower-green-stars-blend-thumbnail (2).jpg

Steemfollower is a third party tool created by the Steemian @mahdiyari that connects with the STEEM blockchain using your private posting key to display your most recent post. The tool used to login with this key is Steemconnect which is used by professional services such as @minnowbooster and others for giving/receiving delegations and is generally considered secure.

If you are uncomfortable with using your private posting key, do not use Steemfollower.

That being said, I trust the service to be confidential, so it is not a problem from my perspective.

steemfollower-green-stars-blend-thumbnail (4).jpg

What Does it Do?


steemfollower-green-stars-blend-thumbnail (3).jpg

It allows you to connect to the STEEM blockchain and explore different categories of posts. You can click on the post and it will expand it, or you can right click and open it in a new tab. Once you find a post that you like that you want to support with an upvote, you can enter a very specific value of vote from 0-100% to two decimal places (Example: 94.58% upvote)

Once you upvote, your Steemfollower balance will be credited with more SBD than the upvote that you just gave. Specifically, you will get up to 2x the amount given depending on your Steem Power. The less Steem Power you have, the higher amount of upvote you will potentially receive back. Here is the formula:

Your Steem PowerReward Amount
Less than 50At least 200%
Less than 100At least 175%
Less than 250At least 150%
Less than 500At least 145%
Less than 5,000At least 120%
Less than 20,000At least 110%
Less than 100,000At least 105%
More than 100,000At least 101%

As you can see, minnows stand to gain the most from this service, as the lower you are in SP, the greater the multiplier. It says at least because you can receive more than your balance, for instance if you have .07 SBD in your balance but a dolphin (like me!) sees your post and gives it a 100% upvote, you are getting much more back than you gave. In return, I will also receive support in the future from other users, continuing the synergistic cycle.

steemfollower-green-stars-blend-thumbnail (11).jpg

Isn't this service a scam/ spam/ a bot/ artificial?


steemfollower-green-stars-blend-thumbnail (10).jpg

No, because it is real users finding your posts and upvoting them if they like them. It is nothing mentioned above! It is just a convenient tool for curating content. If you want to make a real contribution to the Steemit community, don't be lazy, open the posts up in a new tab and make a thoughtful comment after you have upvoted the post in Steemfollower.

steemfollower-green-stars-blend-thumbnail (5).jpg

But @d-pend, why don't you just
support minnows manually???


steemfollower-green-stars-blend-thumbnail (6).jpg

That's what I've been doing for the entire 3 months I have been on Steemit. To me, Steemit is a place to give, not to get. I have given away over 700 STEEM in the form of powering up to others, paying to promote their posts/ bidding bot votes, and gifted delegations. Also, I use my own borrowed delegations to support users that are making excellent content. It will be a very long time until I even break even from Steemit, I have put over $7,000 of my own money into the platform because that is how much I love it and believe in it. I'm about to get a job as a cashier in a grocery store just so I can continue to power up my account (oh yeah, and to help pay for optional stuff like food & bills too.)

I love giving and will continue to do so, however, without major consistent support from whales (which I do not yet have) the 8+ hours of work I put into Steemit on a daily basis will not be sustainable without a tool such as Steemfollower which helps return some of the support that I give so that I can keep building on the site and help more people.

steemfollower-green-stars-blend-thumbnail (8).jpg

So please start using Steemfollower
so I can continue supporting you all!


steemfollower-green-stars-blend-thumbnail (7).jpg

I understand that many people do not like these tools and think they are lame, or a scam, or distasteful. I respect your choice. However, I do not agree. I think they are absolutely wonderful and play a positive role in the evolution of the Steemit ecosystem. In the future I will be blogging more on the current functionality of Steemit, with its strengths and pitfalls. I also understand if you do not wish to use your private posting key on a service. I have already mentioned why it is not a problem for me, personally.

I only covered the most basic aspects of the service. For more, go read the creator @mahdiyari's posts and others that blog in detail about the extended functionality of the service.

If you have any questions, please leave them in the comments.

steemfollower-green-stars-blend-thumbnail (2).jpg

Have an amazing day! STEEM ON!


steemfollower-green-stars-blend-thumbnail (1).jpg

Much Love,
Daniel Pendergraft
@d-pend
9/11/17

Images are the
Steemfollower logo blended with
a free domain photo.

steemfollower-green-stars-blend-thumbnail (6).jpg

Leave a comment telling me if you decide to use Steemfollower and list the categories you normally post in. I will look for your posts, and if they are genuine & well-made, I will upvote them!
.
.
.
P.S. The more popular the category you post in is, the harder your posts will be find. I'm especially fond of curating Poetry, and that category is almost completely empty on Steemfollower! So this will especially benefit fellow poets :D

Sort:  

Glad to see another account doing this:

The reward pool is almost entirely a few large accounts that mutually up-vote each-others content. SteemFollower gives small accounts a pool of content they can mutually up-vote as well.

Yes your right bro

Precisely. I am enjoying being an early adopter there. I appreciate your recent support through the system! I also dug your Size comparison of whales post, haha!

@d-pend and @donaldtrumpfan I already followed your recommendation and already using steemfollower. @tytran , did you know about steemfollower?

Hi everyone, thanks for stopping by. :)
I realized I didn't really explain how to use the service. All you need to do is navigate to the "upvote exchange" using the drop down menu at the top after you use Steemconnect to log in. From there you can see your balance on the right hand side, as well as the option to promote your post by "spending more upvotes" to do so. A big thing I should have mentioned is it shows random posts, so it's more for browsing and discovering content to curate :) I'll probably make a follow up post doing a more in depth walk through of using the service later. Also, keep in mind that it is still in beta. I believe it has only existed for around a month.

I'll be waiting patiently for the walk through :D

d-pend thanks so much for your upvote on my Foolish Phil's nonsense posts.

You are very welcome @steemengine1 :)

I have been using steem follower for about a month now I found it relatively soon after joining steemit one thing I really like about it that you didn't mention is that it shows your voting power which I know some other apps do as well but since I use steem follower pretty much every day I don't have to go to a bunch of other pages to see my power well just wanted to drop you a comment to let you know I enjoyed your post

Great point man, I forgot about that. In fact I feel like I did a relatively poor job of explaining how to use the service lol. Might make a part 2 at some point to be more step by step and point out other features like promote. Thanks for the comment, glad you enjoyed!

I signed up, but my life doesn't feel any differenter!

Lol! I have noticed that it can be dead at times. I sometimes use the 2x promote option, where your post is prioritized to show up, but costs you twice the upvote. I just see it mainly as an experiment. I've gotten a couple of dolphin votes from it.

When did you start using it? Make sure your balance is above zero, or your posts won't show up at all, and your life would truly be zero percent differenter!

I just literally signed up 15 minutes ago when you posted this. Im on the road right now so it's hard to figure it out. Tiny screen space and all...

Oh I gotcha. Good luck with the hectic-ness and your upcoming move!

I'll have to figure out how to use steam follower... I'll probably go and check it out more in-depth once the dust settles. :D

Heck yea!

I have been using Steemfollower for several weeks now. I have noticed that I get fewer viewers/commenters than votes now.
I am thinking that people are using SF or bots to vote instead of actually reading the post. I try to do both Steemfollower and manually read/upvote/comment to make sure I am promoting something I support.

Yeah, I know what you mean. I think the biggest factor is lack of commenting support in Steemfollower. People are too lazy to open the posts up in a new tab on Steemit and comment (what I usually do.) I was planning on asking @mahdiyari about if that's something it will feasibly be able to support in-app in the future. I fully agree with you about making sure to be meaningful in how we use these tools and to combine them with manual methods. Thanks for stopping by @bluethread! Appreciate the comment.

What happens to the balance on steemfollower, can one withdraw ?

No, the balance will be "paid out" by other user's upvotes, over time :)

Wow! Great article and you really tweaked my interest when I saw you were looking for Poetry content. I am hesitant to give out my password but I will look into it in more detail. I have been posting some Edward Lear type of nonsense poetry and I am trying to see if I can come up with anything that people think is funny. Please check out my posts under Foolish Phil's Nonsense.
Thanks

Been enjoying those poems, they make me chuckle. I've always been fond of that sort of thing!

Love ya work legend!

Thanks boss!

That's pretty cool that you're getting a second job to pay for your steemit addiction.. I work for a moving company and have recently decided to put 50% of my tips into steemit.. obv it's been very recently as my minnow status and useless UV show.. but it's nice to hear I'm not the only one..

Haha... right on. That's sick though man that's gonna help you build up quick!

That's what I'm hoping..

Persistence is key!

I'v been using steemfollower, and it is a pretty good tool. At the moment, I don't get too much out of it right now, but I think it will be worth it in the long run. @mahdiyari had a good idea, and it is definitely a better idea than a lot of the other ones out there. Only problem is that it doesn't seem to like Chrome, and is quite slow in Firefox.

I've seen you on their @ajdohmen. What categories do you normally post in? I agree that it doesn't always give spectacular payout in the short run. I want to use it to support minnows, and a few dolphins.

It also runs really slowly for me at times. (in Chrome)

I bounce around category-wise, though I use the tag 'blog' a lot when I can't think of where to stick things. I haven't been writing too much these last weeks due to personal reasons, though.

I agree that what steemfollower needs are people who have a bit of steem power under their belts, so I'll stick with it and see where it goes. Doesn't hurt to have people read your posts, even when their votes don't have any weight to them. Having someone read and like what you write should come first.

Gotcha. I'll be on the look out for your stuff, and all the best :) Thanks for the re-steem, by the way.

EDIT: ok, NOW I remember... I found you on SteemFollower and gave your recent post about Moral Decline a 100% upvote, maybe a day or two back :) I neglected to comment there but I could relate to much of what you discussed.

I found a few good people's work there lately. The quality of posts is definitely getting better, which means steemfollower is starting to drawn some serious interest. At least that seems to be what is happening. BTW thanks for that upvote - I noticed that someone gave me a relative whopper.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 59404.52
ETH 2610.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41