Comparing the size of STEEM accounts to actual Marine Life: How does our terminology stack up?

in #whales7 years ago (edited)

what-is-the-largest-whale-comparison-chart-full.jpg

I exclude exchange accounts and 'steemit' and get an adjusted market cap of $150MM. Then I divide the remaining accounts into deciles of $15MM. I do not include 'steemit' since these are development funds and I do not include exchanges because these accounts have STEEM belonging to 100s of individual users.

Breakdown in USD

Correlated to Marine Life Weight (Mass)

I correlate each account value linearly to a weight, I use the biggest whale 'freedom' and the weight of a blue whale (300,000 lbs) to establish a basis. Then I assign a fish species roughly in line with the calculated fish mass.

It turns out by this metric the top 500 accounts are all considered whales to some degree. The next 500 accounts are dolphins and the remaining accounts are the minnows.

Correlated to Marine Life Length

I thought perhaps we would want more granularity than calling each of the top 8 deciles of steemholders whales. So I ran the numbers again using LENGTH. I again used the top account 'freedom' to have a length 90 feet which is that of a blue whale as the basis. I then assign common marine life species to each decile based on their length

Image Source: Smithsonian

Sort:  

Does this mean that to be a minnow or small fish (8th Decile), you would need a Steemit account valued at a minimum of $29K ? Wow, i'm still a very tiny plankton. @ironshield

yes. or another way to say it is 90% of SP is in accounts larger than $29,000.

I wonder if they bought steem back in March, when it was $0.07 @ironshield

It's harder to say. Very few, if any, have actually invested over $1MM in STEEM..

We might see that opportunity again soon. I would not mind the opportunity to buy a more significant percentage.

An upvote from one of the foraminifera!

Good info @ donaldtrumpfan
Re-steemed og upvoted!

Nice article 👌 please visit my account to see my posts you will like it

Calculos .matematics haha nice .me falta mucho para ser ballena

This was very entertaining. I really enjoy dry, pedantic statistical observations. You get my follow and vote for today!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56095.11
ETH 2533.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.23