Steemit Journey - Looking back at my 3 months on Steemit

in #steemit6 years ago

Steemit-3monthsinto.jpg

Hello Steemians! It is the day of the month again 😉, for me to do a monthly check of my progress on Steemit. Exactly a month ago, I posted on what I have learned so far. Today I am going to update the list and add on new observations that I have made over the past month. As usual, let's take a look at a few standard metrics:

Reputation and Followers

Last month I built my reputation by 8, from 37 to 45. But for the past month I had only raised it by 4, from 45 to 49. It is indeed getting exponentially difficult as I expected it to be. Considering that the past month was a short one, and I have not been actively posting, I am quite happy with my 4 reputation growth. Again quality content is the only way to go and I am going to continue to deliver them.

I had 278 followers during my last update and it is 405 now. It is a 127 followers increase and I am happy with it. In future posts, I think I am going to plot a chart to show my progress visually.

Posts

For the past month, I only made 8 posts. It was a huge decrease from 16 posts in my previous month. I have to apologize for my lack of posts as there was a period of time which I was very busy and I didn't post for 1 full week 😌. I will try to post more actively for the coming month, probably at the rate of 1 post every 2-3 days.

The most popular post of the month was a post on Cryptojacking being predicted as the top cybersecurity threat in 2018. It is great to know that people have such strong interest in security related topics. Being a cybersecurity professional, one of our missions is to spread security awareness to others. The topics that I will usually cover are those are easy but important for most people to understand. I think that will be most beneficial to my readers on Steemit.

Investments

The past month had been quite difficult for most cryptocurrencies investors, including me. For those who were following my blog, you will know that I bought STEEM at 0.00397 Eth and 32999 Satoshis. At the point of writing, STEEM is at 0.003736 Eth and 22780 Satoshis, so I am clearly at a loss. However, I am holding STEEM as a long term investment and I have bought more about 1 week ago at 0.00325 Eth. As usual, I have powered them up immediately.

Lessons Learned

Below are some lessons that I have learned and I hope they serve as some pointers for new joiners on Steemit.

  • Focus on delivering quality content and comments.
  • Be patient. Do not be upset or disappointed when the post your spent hours on only get a 5 cents upvote. It takes time to build your profile and reputation on this platform. There are over 700,000 accounts and it is impossible for your content to stand out instantly.
  • Be active and social! Try to engage your readers. I always make it a point to reply to every comment I receive and selectively upvote good comments. In addition, join your local community like #teamsingapore! I hope the communities feature will be released soon, so we can have our communities built on the Steemit platform. (Credits to @dannyzen for providing the update).
  • Use bots wisely. As you might have noticed, most upvotes on Steemit is done through bots. I am not entirely against it but I advise to use them wisely and do not abuse it.
  • Power up if you can afford it. If you are not in need of the cash immediately, try to convert your rewards into STEEM Power. It helps make your votes more valuable and since people tend to follow others with high reputation or STEEM power, it will help you gain some followers.
  • Be kind to others, especially new joiners. We want to grow Steemit collectively and in order to do so, we have to make it as welcoming as possible. So we should all do our part to help each other out.
  • Have a niche and build on it. Focus on blogging on what you are good at or passionate about. Do not blog about topics that you think is popular even though you may not know much about it. Why? Blogging takes time and effort, if you keep writing on things that you are not interested in, it will just bore you and eventually you will stop writing. This is especially so if you do not get the upvotes you expected.

Once again, thanks for reading. Do comment below to share your thoughts with me. I always like to engage in discussions.

GENERIC_banner.gif

Sort:  

Keeping a monthly record of your progress on Steemit shows a highly organized person, in terms of your Steemit activity. I think this will help you grow steadily in the long run. It is like running a business, isn’t it? Businesses that keep good records can better monitor their success and take any measures, if required, in order to eliminate weaknesses, improve strengths even more, protect themselves against threats, and take advantage of potential opportunities. That was a little bit of SWOT analysis from me! Everything, however, relies on keeping consistent and accurate records at first place.

Yea, I like to track progress. And I think tracking on a monthly basis is appropriate to show progress and at the same time keeps me motivated. Thanks for your comment!

"Be patient. Do not be upset or disappointed when the post your spent hours on only get a 5 cents upvote. It takes time to build your profile and reputation on this platform."

Good things take time and this is no different. Looking forward to your next update @culgin. Bought more STEEM and powered-up too!

Thanks bro! Be patient with your STEEM and I am sure you will be rewarded :)

Wow, well done brother! Good article as always and I agree with you in every single point. I was wondering why you suddenly did not post that often anymore haha - just thought "Okay, he presumably will have to do a lot of other things - he will post when he is not that busy anymore.". (;
Congratulations on reaching 400 followers! That is a lot my friend. Keep on posting your helpful and interesting stories.
Cheers bro!

Thanks bro!

Okay, he presumably will have to do a lot of other things - he will post when he is not that busy anymore.

You know me well! Haha..

Use more bid bots to up rep faster haha.
Anyway, I came to realise that we probably shouldn't power up to sp immediately.
Eg, 1000sp and 1200sp makes no difference to you vote value.
Instead, use the 200 steem/sbd on bid bots, spread across many days. Over time, the sp returned will be the same, maybe lose a little bit only.
Just my opinion.

Cool! I didn't know that. Perhaps I can try to do that next time instead.

Congrats, culgin for three months on here! May you become successful in many months to come! Upvoted!

Thanks my friend! We joined about the same time and I saw your post on your 3rd month here as well. Haha..

Wow! Congratulations and what an impressive growth. I also have passed my 3rd month here on Steemit just 2 days ago and you have achieved more than I do. :)

Thanks! You have also made tremendous progress!

Those are great advices for new joiners like me! Thank you, they are very useful.

Thanks for reading! Hope you will come by more often.

Wow! This is really helpful especially to a newcomer like me. Thank you so much for sharing.

Thanks! I am happy it helps!

very interesting, I'll keep you in mind, thank you very much

I didn't realize that you were only on here for 3 months. You did very well. You have the knowledge, the know-how and the right attitude. May you do well. Cheers!

Thanks for your continuous support @quotes-haven. I hope I can continue to deliver the content that I am proud of.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67873.49
ETH 3528.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80