DO RESTEEMING AND MENTIONING actually work well? Are those efficient ways of building reach and exposure on Steemit?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit5 years ago
124.jpgLately I've been discussing a topic that is related to mass memos with several people and it’s safe to say that I have learned enough about that particular way of "advertising" our content.

INTRODUCTION

line2.png

... And I've encoutered suggestions several times over now that perhaps it's better to use mentions or resteem as alternative tools instead as this would allow us to get more exposure to promote publication (either ours or posted by someone else).

To be honest, I've mixed feelings when it comes to the efficiency of those two methods. In my opinion, resteeming doesn't bring almost any traffic and mentioning users is very easily skipped by them (since the notification system doesn't really work at all on Steemit).

So, today I would love to share my little experience as well as learn what is your opinion, my dear readers. After all your opinion is the only one that matters to me, since I'm engaging with many of you directly.

RESTEEM

line2.png

Those who know me for quite some time now are already aware that for each post I publish, it enjoys very high engagement.

Which makes me believe that many people out there do make an effort to visit my account sometimes and check out my latest publication.

If this assumption is true, then I should also be able to assume that at least some part of this traffic will visit my latest resteemed post. Unfortunatelly after a few "tests" I conducted, each time showed that it is not happening.

My impression is that hardly anyone ever does care about any resteemed content. I personally don't. The only exception is when I recognize an author of a resteemed post. Other than that, I really don't open resteemed publications and I hardly doubt that other people do it as well.

Please allow me to give small example:


Just look at amount of comments.

Those are 3 quite recent publications, out of which two are posted by me and one is resteemem (@nachomolina is an author). The moment when I shared his work on my account he had 4 or 5 comments. Over 2 weeks later, he had only 6. At the same time, my own publications are enjoying close to 200 comments each one. How do I not have the impression that resteeming this post has been pointless then?

MENTIONS

line2.png

I've been trying to figure out how many people do actually react when you mention them in your post.

I quickly realized that mentioning is not as useless as I initially expected.

After all, the notification system on Steemit doesnt exist and the only way I know how to monitor who and when mentioned you is by using www.steemworld.org. Is there even any better way?

Based on my current experience, a majority of users mentioned in our post will hardly ever visit it. Which only underlines the problem with awful an notification system that all users are facing. Using different tools to check out Resource Credit (steemd.com), different to check out notifications (mentioned steemworld.org) and Steemit.com to publish our content and engage ... it all does look so confusing and it doesnt seem to work for many users. At all.

MY OWN FINAL CONCLUSION

line2.png

I personally gave up on the idea of bringing traffic to my publication by mentioning users within this post.

Sending memos to all those users seem to work way better.

I rather like receiving memo, which is easy to ignore if I would find it not interesting instead of someone mentioning me (by mentioning a very long list of everyone this person know), then followed by the process of opening this publication just to see if I even care takes more time than judging memo.

My strong impression is that people only care if resteemed a post that has been published by someone they know. So when my post is being resteemed by 20-50 people then it surely is a great way to reach many users. But pretty much only those who are familiar with my work will bother to click on that resteem. Otherwise it's just not worth it and it does make our profile look like a spam account.

SHARE YOUR VIEW

line2.png

I wonder what's your personal experience with resteeming?

Share your opinion with me. I read, reply and upvote each valuable comment.

Do you guys bother to visit resteemed posts? Do you think resteeming works fine for you? And what's your view on using mentions as well as the current Steemit notification system?

Yours, Piotr

Sort:  

If my posts are manually curated and resteemed to other networks who then upvote it and then share it to other networks (ie, 'go viral') they can generate quite the author rewards.

My article about the comedian 'Gabriel Iglesias' generated 14 Steem organically.

However, I personally don't have a big network of followers so I have to careful what I resteem.

Posted using Partiko Android

@crypto.piotr has set 5.000 STEEM bounty on this post!
logo_for-light-bg_1000.png

Bounties are a new way you can earn rewards irrespective of you Steem Power. Go here to learn how bounties work.

Earn the bounty by commenting what you think the bounty creator wants to know from you.

Find more bounties here and become a bounty hunter.

Happy Rewards Hunting!

Loading...

Hm. This looks very interesting.

WOW! Thank you so much 😍

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @crypto.piotr. Still new to the platform, so I'll withhold judgement on "resteem" for the time being.

As far as leveraging memo, I can see where this is tricky, but I'm definitely going to give it a whirl. As long as wallet's are not overwhelmed, this seems to be a viable alternative.

Thanks for your help.

Dear @guysellars

As long as wallet's are not overwhelmed

I don't think it will ever happen. Sending mass memos is not cheap and some platforms apparently filter wallets already and are showing only transfers of min. 0.01 instead of 0.001.

So sending 1000 memos would cost 10 STEEM. How many people out there would be willing to spent that much ?

Also I've learned that it's pointless to send memos to those who do not engage back with your content. And that simply means that if I send mass memo to group of "new users" then obviously next time I will ignore accounts of those people who didn't reply at all.

At the same time: if I open my wallet and I see 10 different transfers, then naturally I will ignore those from bots or people I don't know. But I will read every memo coming from someone I recognize.

So idea is simple: we need to improve "audience targeting", engage with people ensuring that they will recognize us and only then start sending memos (results shold be efficient).

ps. are you on telegram? perhaps you could find me there: crypto_piotr

Does it make sense?
Yours, Piotr

Its a matter of frequency.. just resteem maximum once a day and everything will be fine.. if posts are resteemed by several persons I know I would not see it as spam but as notification that it is really important to read...
and in general terms: if I follow someone and he finds a post worthwhile to resteem there is a high chance I will look at it...

Dear @solarwarrior

Resteeming once a day ? That's very often. Reality is that people care only about latest 2-3 posts visible on your feed. If those are resteemed posts then you can make assumption that you will lose your "reader".

if posts are resteemed by several persons I know I would not see it as spam but as notification that it is really important to read...

Very good point. Thx for sharing your opinion with me.

Yours
Piotr

My strong impression is that people only care if resteemed a post that has been published by someone they know.

This is very true. Generally resteems and mentions are a real hit or miss. There have been occasions where I mention someone and get a comment in less than 15 minutes. I've resteemd posts and seen them get extra engagement. But it's not a real strategy.

BTW you should check out Sam Ovens:

Dear @vimukthi

Thanks for sharing that video with me buddy :)

Hope you will have a great week ahead,
Piotr

Do you guys bother to visit resteemed posts?

No I don't, I really just care about the author and mainly the title of the post.

Do you think resteeming works fine for you?

No, not for me.

And what's your view on using mentions as well as the current Steemit notification system?

I don't think that using notifications is effective. I think the best way to catch somebody's attention is to really make him interested in following you. The number of followers is what matters the most in my opinion.

You got a 31.63% upvote from @redlambo courtesy of @discernente! Make sure to use tag #redlambo to be considered for the curation post!

Dear @discernente

I'm very sorry for such a late reply. I only found your comment just now.

Thank you for dropping by and sharing your thoughts with me.

Cheers, Piotr

Thank you for this post. Still I am learning here in steemit.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @crypto.piotr,

Just called you out on another post, so I decided it would be better to comment here as well.

Well, calling you out is a bit strong, because like I already told you, I don't mind the wallet memos.

In this post you also explain why you won't tag me even though I told you it would be better than sending me a memo. I get it a lot better now, thanks for the explanation.

I'm still learning about the platform, so my verdict isn't out on the old skool rules of not using votingbots and wallet memos.

But I do have one question:

  • Compared to a Facebook Share or a Twitter Retweet, how well does a Steem Resteem score?

For me that would be a more interesting comparison, because it would tell me of there is a steem blockchain related issue with resteems, or like someone else alreay said as well, we only check out a resteem if it is resteemed by someone who's resteem we value or have interest in (which is exactly the same as other social media channels)

As for the notification part. I think @partiko has an amazing notification system and I barely miss a tag. And like @fitinfun mentioned, @ginabot is great for non-partiko users.

Lastly, if you really read and respond to all of these comments, that's a lot, respect for that.

Posted using Partiko Android

AMAZING comment @jeanlucsr

Just called you out on another post, so I decided it would be better to comment here as well.

Would you mind sharing with me link to that post? I really cannot find it (to many notifications).

Compared to a Facebook Share or a Twitter Retweet, how well does a Steem Resteem score?

Unfortunatelly I'm not able to give you any reliable answer. I never used Twitter and I only use Facebook messanger. So my experience is very limited.

I only have some strong opinions about Steemit because I tested number of solutions (together with few other friends) and we all came to very similar conclusions.

I think @partiko has an amazing notification system and I barely miss a tag.
Lastly, if you really read and respond to all of these comments, that's a lot, respect for that.

I really appreciate your advice. And thank you for your respect :) I believe that I owe my time and attention to those who give their time to write a comment. But yeah, it's not easy.

In my case, the only sensible notification system would have to be organized in similar way to "reply" section. Where you can see one reply after another. Unfortunatelly once you will exceed 20-30 comments / mentions a day it's very hard to react to notifications. All I can do is to open "reply" and go one after another. And still it takes me 2-3h daily just to engage with received comments.

I had to accept the fact, that I will not be capable of visiting posts where other people mention me. Memos are really best solution here so far :(

ps.
I'm not sure if Patriko does work on desktop or only mobile devices? Would you perhaps know?

Yours
Piotr

Hi @crypto.piotr,

The post is a week old and not my own, so finding the comment would actually be difficult and I would have to use steemd to properly link you up, so I'm going to elaborate on it here.

In short it came down to sending unsolicited link through memos being considered spam on this platform. I've added the image that sparked the discussion to this comment.

That it (the memos) serves for you as a solution to other problem, I now understand. However, we are now having a meaningful discussion because I can over to your post and posted a comment, not because of the memos. I just don't think memos are personal enough. They have the feel of an email newsletter, which works best with a) previous interaction/purchase and b) interest in the topic discussed. It is more of a push marketing tactic, which has severe limitations long term. The biggest issue with the memos is, you are sending the memos to people without prior consent, in online marketing terms, they didn't opt in.

I do however understand your intent much better now, but still feel there should be better options. Especially on a platform that hosts so many great developers. I hope some of them read this and will address the situation further.

@partiko is currently mobile only, but I did hear that there is a desktop version in the works (I don't have a timeline, sorry).

To conclude, your case study is quite interesting. With you demonstrating that you get more traffic and engagement through memos than actual mentions, the Steem blockchain has to come up with a way to improve the notification system and interactive culture of the platform in general. Just out of curiosity, do you by any chance measure the conversion rate from memo sent to interaction (upvote/comment) on your post?

Posted using Partiko Android

Loading...

Well, I found your post because @chireerocks resteemed it after I followed their blog from a comment they left in @steemflagrewards.

So I guess resteeming works 😉

I think often it does have a lot to do with the # of followers in the account but, as you can note in this case, not always.

As for mentions, it really depends on if the user has a notification system running such as Ginabot or a @partiko user.

Posted using Partiko Android

Dear @anthonyadavisii

I found your post because @chireerocks resteemed it after I followed their blog from a comment they left in @steemflagrewards.

Wow. who would think. I'm complaining about lack of efficiency when it comes to resteemed posts, and yet you found me thanks to them :)

All the best
Piotr

Also wondered the same thing. Thanks for taking time to research this. Makes sense. I also get mention by people I dont know and really only respond to those who are familiar to me or that I have build a relationship with. I tend to react to resteems and reciprocate vote as I appreciate being resteemed. I guess a mention does not hurt my posts too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63036.79
ETH 3067.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82