1st Steemit "rant" - Plagiarism, Pixabay.com and Public Domain images. No attribution required, but is that really true on Steemit?

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Source: PublicDomainPictures, Pixabay.com


As controversial of a topic as this might be...Steemit has really grown on me and I need to say I am against posting images from Pixabay.com or anywhere else, under the so called "Creative Commons" license, without, at the very least, specifying the source. It is my personal belief that this isn't good for the platform. I will do my best to briefly explain why, hopefully without boring you to death or resorting to all kinds of philosophy or worse, academic discourse.

Even though these images are part of the "public domain" and can be used without proper attribution ("1.1 The action of ascribing a work or remark to a particular author, artist, or person." Oxford Dictionary - Source), it just doesn't make sense if everyone decided to add them to Steemit without mentioning the source. What happens to Steemit in that scenario?

I came across a user, @styxer (yes, I named him/her). This user commented on a post of mine.


Proceeded to check out THIS post. Then I had a look at the rest and something seemed odd. I liked the images, they were great...But, there were no details about them, just a few words. I searched the images using Google and got to the sources of the images on Pixabay.com. I get it...free to use, but when you use another's content and reap the rewards of his/hers work, I think you should at least mention the source of the image or provide some details about it. If not just stopping this practice altogether...

Here is what I mean:


@styxer post.



Pixabay.com - stevepb.

Similar story goes for the a lot of @styxer's posts: Post and Image Source. I could go on...but there is no point.

I cannot see the value it brings to this community. Moving content from Pixabay.com or Pexels, Unsplash, Stocksnap or similar sites onto Steemit without specifying that you are doing so or mentioning the source, all while profiting from that content seems out of place. Might be just me thinking this but this is unsustainable and can damage the platform long-term. As more and more content gets "imported" without proper appropriation, the platform (Steemit) becomes more and more of a breeding ground for plagiarized content and that place you just other people's images and get crypto rewards for that.

I have grown quite fond of Steemit and I would really hate to see it go down that road.

As a graduate student I have my grudges with people not referencing stuff properly. Although I know it isn't a fun thing to do, I also know that referencing is absolutely necessary for humans to progress as a species. (OK, not 100%, so don't quote me on this).

For those of you that outright plagiarize and don't repent...


..a source for the gif.

Let me know what your thought are on this! All to best and sorry for the "rant"... Steem on!

Sort:  

Thank you @creutzy.

Indeed......appreciate the 'watch-dog' in you.

Yes.....if we are wondering where they get their ideas.....there are certain blogs at the top that do not list the sources of their photographs.

Many times it is obvious it is sourced and they did not claim it as their own...nevertheless for the sake of quality and professionalism.....lets please list the source.

Steemians pride themselves on the level of professionalism found here in general.....lets keep the bar high.

All the best to you. Cheers.

NB Has this particular post been flagged by @cheetah......has anyone flagged it? because it does qualify for a flag or at least to be reported to @cheetah.

Relieved to hear that you don't think I overstepped any boundaries on this one... I did indeed flag a few of his posts but I would remove my flags if the the source gets mentioned. How do you report to @cheetah?

That is a good question....if I remember correctly....it is a bot run by @anyx and you can contact either cheetah or anyx in Steemit.Chat. It is very easy to set up an account....you can use your Steemit online name or another name.

You have such good evidence...bleujay is tempted to flag it as well.....perhaps cheetah can take care of it.

If what I have given you does not work....contact @felixxx who is running for witness, will be able to send you in the right direction.

Thank you again for keeping Steemit a great place for photographers and all content makers.

Cheers.

Thank you very much for your guidance and advice! I will report at https://steemit.chat/channel/steemcleaners-linkdrop, as @felixxx suggested. I try do do my best in the little time I have to spare for this, even though it isn't much. This is because I want Steemit to grow and flourish with original content in the coming years... Cheers!

https://steemit.chat/channel/steemcleaners-linkdrop

Report abuse there and link the post and the original source.
You might even get a little reward for it.

Many thanks for pointing me in the right direction! That's where I will report it. You have my vote!

I saw the vote coming in :)

Thanks !

No worries! Keep up the good work!

I agree with you, in this way seems that the user made the photo, and receive money and compliments, for something that is not his work, also if the original photographer, published under a cc license, not fair.

go on, with you actions. :)

I only do it because I care about this platform. I want to invest into it and not watch it go up in smoke. OK maybe that is a bit disastrous...

Source issues aside, he shouldn't be making money here by passing other people's photos off as his own. This is why I am in favour of mentioning the sources of photos or illustrations, even when they are in the public domain.

Fully agree to that. At least not to give people the false impression and help them with the decision of using their, now (since HF19), heavy upvotes.

Especially when the photo is the content, not just an illustration accompanying it.

That's the thing! The photo is the content and it appears that the source has been intentionally left unmentioned repeatedly...

Congratulations @creutzy! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I have been outlining a post like this my self in my head. I will try and remember to tag you if/when I do post it.

:D Please do! Let's send all plagiators to the @steemcleaners...

People chose public domain for a reason, if they wanted attribution they could use creative commons attribution.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 66745.34
ETH 3326.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71