What can we learn from our upvote strategies?

in #steemit6 years ago

Last week there was a pair of articles by @abh12345 which explored where your upvotes go and also where your upvotes come from. @abh12345 was kind enough to publish graphs on these metrics for those who were interested (like me!), and I think it shows alot about the type of Steemian you are and also where your support comes from.




Where do my upvotes go?

As you can see from the graph below, a whopping 60% of my upvotes go out to redfish or smaller (so accounts just like me!). I have generally been one with a commuity perspective and like to support others in a similar situation as me, as I know how hard it is to gain any traction on here. The way I figure it is that the larger accounts don't need as much support as the newer accounts (I think my small votes will be much more appreciated by smaller accounts than by whales!). Alot of the whales have been on here since the beginning or have invested large ammounts and gained attention and support. As you can see only 2% of my upvotes go to the 'whales'.

I have been following @hitmeasap who talks about the 'rising of the middle class' on Steemit - building a middle class by supporting each other. This is what I truly believe in and helping other smaller accounts is one of the best ways to make this a success. Simalarly the likes of @kabir88 and @taskmaster4450 have started similar intiatives #upvoteplankton and the #Minnowuprising project as ways to help support and grow this 'middle class' on Steemit and spread the wealth more evenly. I see it as 'investing' in the future of Steem - todays minnows will be tommorows dolphins and whales.

image (1).png

Where do my upvotes come from?

The second metric @abh12345 looked at was where do your upvotes come from - my graph is below. As you can see, the majority (72%) of my upvotes come from fellow redfish accounts. As I have focussed on following and helping out other redfish it comes as no surprise to me that this is where my support comes from.

Yes redfish have small upvotes, but this doesn't worry me for a couple of reasons:

  • Steem is a long term 'investment' and I think the I can grow alongside my fellow redfish, and one day move into the class of minnows (an hopefully above!)
  • You never know who will invest largely into Steem (one of my supporters could invest big tommorow)

image.png

Graphs don't belong to me and are used with permission of @abh12345

Conclusion


Where your upvotes go to and come from say alot about your account and the type of Steemian you want to be. I have always been an advocate for building the community on here, and feel the graphs above highlight my interest in helping build this middle class on Steemit.

Thanks for reading and as always I would love your feedback

DQmQzFM2sDp5wYpaoktgk9L8RzJCCwPgheNTHo23JUwfAGZ.jpeg

Sort:  

You got a plankton sized upvote from @worksinsane because I wanted to revisit you!

During the last 64 days in the life of @worksinsane, your post appeared in the We Curate quality post search tool. Now I decided to come back and I've also included you in my latest post: https://steemit.com/wecurate/@worksinsane/we-curate-10-2-revisited

I've never heard redfish before. I'm familiar the scale of smallest to largest as plankton, minnow, dolphin, orca, and whale. I assume redfish is between plankton and minnow, but I'm really not sure what you mean.

I dont know I think/assume that redfish are the same as plankton, i.e less than 500sp...

Nicely done @conradt, I'm glad to see you give and receive a good deal of support from the lower ranks. Good luck to you :)

You just got a Team NZ upvote!

This is a curation bot for TeamNZ. Please join our AUS/NZ community on Discord.

Why join discord room? Here are 10 reasons why.<

Enjoying the bump? Please consider supporting your fellow Kiwis with a delegation. How? Read here.

For any inquiries/issues about the bot please contact @cryptonik.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by conradt from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

I don't know if you've been using it already or not, but SteemWorld is absolutely amazing. You can see exactly where your votes go and come from, and basically just have a complete overview of your account. The interface is nice and slick, and I'm still exploring all the reporting features a couple of months after first using it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62647.38
ETH 3335.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46