Steemit Best Practices

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

photo6280581830457534470.jpg

We've seen a lot of drama ( an on-going) lately. I wish to highlight some of the best-practices here in Steemit. Bear in mind that this is not a guideline for you to take. It is just my recommendation through my observation.

Upvote comments

In steemit, you are engaging with your followers, you want as many genuine comments as possible. Your followers spent their time reading through your writing so the least you can do is to upvote their genuine comments. Consider it a good gesture, a thanks to them. The last thing you want is to let them see that you upvote your reply to them but not the one they commented. Please don't be such a cheapskate.

Reply when you can

Again, let's show some courtesy to those who spent their time commenting on our blog. I understand if you are so popular with a lot of followers, you can get more than 50 comments per articles, but answer them when you did read them particularly if the comments contain a question about what you wrote.


Source: Meme Generator

No trolling

I know this space is decentralize so you can say everything in the comments. Trolling is something we don't seem to face a lot currently in Steemit. However, there are some trolling going on.. Remember that trolling doesn't increase your IQ, but it will make you look stupid. Rather than trolling the author, point out the mistake, engage on debate (but be mature about it), and ask for clarification. This point just makes me remember my great idol @surfermarly . Everytime you read her blog you'll notice this:


Credit to @surfermarly

This is a good example of a positive-minded person who appreciates positivity.

No begging for upvote/followers

I've seen this a lot with newbies where followers are scarce to them. I understand the frustration but let the followers comes to you naturally. With good contents and the right tag, people will be drawn to what you are sharing. The starting up is slow and painful but it is a marathon, not a sprint. Followers are not built overnight (unless you invest a lot-- they'll come flocking).


Source

Upset by the rewards

This is mostly to prepare your mindset. It is not guaranteed you get a certain reward and expect it to have it everytime you post something. Look at my posts, I get as little as 30 cent to USD11. I have developed the skills to not care about the reward that I got and continue on posting as usual. Rewards are subjective. I look at it as what it offers me such as the skills I developed while writing, the followers I gain after each posting, the engagement I had with my followers aside from the Steem and SBD's. So please don't get upset after a small rewards made.

Bottomline, these are some best the practices that I can think to make your time here in steemit enjoyable and learnable at the same time. While we are at it, have some fun ^_~

Jen

P/S: I blogged about other stuff too!

Sort:  

agreed with all recommendation above especially the first one. cheapskate will tend to perish in the long run.

Lol yes! Thanks for the resteem @asyrafahamed . Happy about micky yet?? 😆

Our new signing? Still early to be happy. Waiting for Batman still

Batman? Aubameyang?

Yes, I always wanted him in Arsenal for the past 3 years. We are lack in term of speedy striker. Almost all EPL club have at least one fast striker. We had Sanchez but he can't perform as a striker. Batman can beat offside trap easily like Samuel Eto'o.

We have the so-called speedy in Theo but he will always be a right wing with worst delivery . Need as natural as it can be like aubameyang. Luckily dortmund also a feeder club like us lol

Walcott is destined to be an excellent winger but too bad his injuries hampered his progress. Every season we will have injury crisis but this year we don't have this crisis and yet our form is getting worse.

even if i have no time to post on that day, i will also try my best to upvote until my SP reach 70~75% and try to reply on the blog post that i upboated! at least dont waste my SP leaving there not benefiting others.

Good job @denion ~~. These rewards are meant to share.

your post inspires me to post this!
https://steemit.com/teammalaysia/@denion/nothing-to-steem-leh-do-this-instead

credits to you too!

Thanks @denion , it feels good to inspire hehe

Nice write up. When i first joined steemit, seeing some comments on my post makes me happy and seeing an author upvotes my comments makes me feel as if am seeing the person and the person actually understand how i feel with his/her write up.

It feels good to have people comment on your post right? feel appreciated.

Congratulations @cikxaijen! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58715.10
ETH 2588.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44