5 Tips for Newbies by a Newbie.

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

17newbie_2_1.jpg

Hey Steemians.

I was trawling through the feed today when I came across a few posts that inspired me to write this piece. Starting out on Steemit is not straight forward and it’s a massive learning curve. Thankfully there are lots of great, experienced people willing to help. I just thought I would give my view as a newbie of three weeks and offer a view from a minnow all the way down here. :)

So here are my 5 tips:

1. Reply to each and every one of the comments and replies you receive.

Why wouldn’t you! Is that not why we are all here, to communicate with each other, build up a rapport and in the long run collect a bit of Steem? There is nothing worse than putting your heart and soul into a piece of writing and not getting any response. This is absolutely crucial for us newbies to build a following and gain a Rep. Without fail, I will reply to every single comment or response I get and you can put that to the test if you like! ;)

2. Post a comment on the content you love.

It takes time to search the feed and find posts that have quality and interest you, but it’s worth the effort. If you don’t like it, move on but if you do, think about your reply but make it worthwhile. While it’s nice some times to receive a well done I would much rather somebody engages in the post, challenges it, adds to it or if you agree, say why. I believe you will build up a reputation and following of quality people faster that way.

3. Use your Upvotes. upvote small.jpgupvote small.jpgupvote small.jpgupvote small.jpgupvote small.jpg

The general consensus is that we can upvote roughly 10 times in a day at 100% and get a full refill for the next day. So use them! Find some quality posts and reward the authors. If you don’t hit ten a day you are wasting possible Steem for the day and that eventually means Steem for you going to waste too. On that note do you have some Steem? Did you purchase and move some to Steemit? My recommendation is to at least have a little Steem in your wallet to show you are serious about the crypto and the community. People check your wallet and if you don’t have at least a small contribution in there you will lose credence. For some of you this will be a challenge but again, it will be worth it and will add credibility to your profile. There are a couple of links underneath. One from myself on the difficulties of purchasing your first Cryptocurrency and another from @madstacks about owning some Steem.

Link: @madstacks
Link: @cheese4ead

4. Focus on adding value and building a steady following

Forget getting rich quick or possibly at all. If you’re here because you think you can cut corners I think you’re going to get a bit of a shock. Assess why you’re here. If it’s to glean information from some pretty intelligent people then you’re in business. If it’s because you have something to offer and want to share it then equally, you’re in business. Add quality and originality to your posts and comments and you will see the difference it makes. Enjoy the interaction and consider a short back and forth chat with somebody a success. It may lead to all the other stuff later on down the line. For instance, more followers or upvotes and increased Rep. Slow and steady (with a splattering of hard graft) will win this race.

5. Be a positive influence.

I’ll say this once and leave it. Do Not Beg for upvotes or Spam people’s posts. Good people don’t like it. Done! Ok next. Be a positive influence in this space. Already, in my short time here I can see some established people getting frustrated with new people coming in and being negative. Add quality, constructive criticism, by all means but stay away from whining! In fact, I recommend offering solutions to issues that you see because you will get respect for it. Positivity breeds more positivity and when we are happy with each other we hit the upvote and follow buttons more.

Here are two more great posts from other people; one from @tressaried about positivity in general and the other from @uwelang about positivity on Steemit.

Link: @uwelang
Link: @tressareid

I hope this was an interesting and helpful post for all us newbies. If you liked it then a follow and an upvote would be very cool. If you really, really liked it then a Re-Steem to get it out there would be just wonderful.

But what I would love most of all is for you to comment and have a chat about it.

Take it easy and enjoy the Steemit ride.

Cheers, Gaz.

Sort:  

Good post mate, Keep posting:)

Thank bud. Clearly you inspired me though so well done yourself! :)

There is a .02 earnings threshold. My vote power is at 7.66% right now. I think I have gotten down to around 4% before. lol I don't always reply to comments but I do normally end up replying.
PLEASE upvote this comment at 100%!!! ;) lol #rebel
Seriously though you are right about that one. That is a serious offense on steemit and can lead to your earnings execution. lol

Hi @mysearchisover

Thanks for the reply.

4%! Wow that's impressive. Does your upvote register any value at that point? What's your strategy for getting it back? Hold off or cut back?

Lol for the mock beg. :) Of course you get an upvote from me. You might even get a follow ;)

Cheers, Gaz.

It showed 0.00 but I may as well have been voting at zero for a lot of those anyways because of the .02 threshold. I think some of your 90% and below upvotes are currently completely worthless. I used to just upvote as much as I could. I'd upvote your reply but it wouldn't count.

No worries.

I must admit that I don't really understand the intricacies of Steem Power and upvotes yet but I will get there.

Once I noticed a reduction in the overall total when I've upvoted. It was a fairly large total that it dropped a cent or two. That was weird but I guess its to do with the average?

When steem price goes down upvotes are worth less. You can look at my blog if you want to read more about the .02 threshold.

Cool. I'll check it out now.

Resteemed by # BlogBooster.
Be sure to check out my awesome # BlogBoost service to get more upvotes.
Have a great day!

Nice one. Thank you.

I agree with everything you've highlighted here in this post. These are foundational things that I believe will make or break the experience here for people.

Being here only about a month and half, I still have so much to learn, but I use these type intentions and even though I don't know or understand all the aspects of the platform, just following guidelines, such as the things you've mentioned here, are what has brought me my progress so far.

Committment and Patience is key.

Thanks so much for mentioning me in your post, it's greatly appreciated!

No problem at all. Your post was definitely worth a mention. I hope you got some views because of it. I know it added value to my post.

Hard work and effort are always going to come to the surface. I think most good Steemians do all of these things. I think there are clear indicators when someone is not putting in the effort, time or have the financial commitment. Cutting corners or trying to manipulate the system will show up too. Over time I reckon that these accounts will just fade away............maybe!

Excellent piece. Just like-me 6 weeks ago I was new and it’s content like this that has kept me here and helped to get me where I am today.
After checking my profile I realised that I ain’t been using my upvotes so your blog is today’s first upvote.

Hey @father2b

Thanks very much for your nice comments. There is plenty of stuff out there but not so much from a newbie point of view. I guess some of it is common sense but other bits aren't.

Glad I nudged you to use those precious upvotes! :)

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60837.81
ETH 2874.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62