Bitcoin ready for Mainstream? Not a chance!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #bitcoin6 years ago (edited)

bigstock-196662538.jpg

The Rollercoaster.

We are on a rollercoaster ride of emotions when it comes to cryptocurrencies and crypto investments. Panic, recover, buy the dip, repeat! I hear people blaming the instability of the market and lack of mainstream adoption on the actions of the whales, the financial industry, regulatory authorities, China, Roger Ver ;) etc etc. All these reasons contribute to a certain extent but I think we have to look a little more in house for one of the bigger problems facing the crypto space.

fb99522316cbbe6c05e4d0bbaf9226f9.jpg

Mainstream.

When we talk about ‘mainstream’, who are we referring to? A crude roundup would be the uninitiated, the tech ‘un-savvy’, the doubters and naysayers, anyone that’s doing well out of the current fiat currency system, people that have it and want it easy. For these examples alone there are huge mountains to climb when it comes to understanding, entry, usage, storage and security in the crypto space.

U5drfsjwLzKSWQHaLDGx9uW1onGbkbT_1680x8400.jpeg

Dont touch it!

Let’s start with some of my personal experiences. I have a few friends and family members that are in the financial industry and without hesitation when asked about Bitcoin say ‘don’t touch it!’ Without fail!! Also, most of them when probed on their knowledge and understanding of crypto, quite frankly, haven’t got a clue what they are talking about. The annoying thing is that they are telling everyone that listens ‘don’t touch it!’ AHHHHHHHHHHHHH! :(

3b7bd046f259b2cac84336bae96009b2.jpg

What the hell is a Consensus Algorithm?

The next barrier to mainstream adoption is the the initial understanding of crypto currency and blockchain technology. Admittedly, this is a little more understandable. I consider myself to be a reasonably tech savvy person but it’s taken me a while to really understand things to a level where I can make an informed decision, and, I was motivated to learn! I think the wave of people that we would consider mainstream will want things made extremely easy and simple to understand. So there is work to be done in that regard.

You need my passport?

The entry point is the next hurdle. Who remembers the situation where you realise you can’t just buy any crypto, anywhere, with fiat cash? What!! Entry points are extremely limited and the hoops that you have to jump through to access crypto are, inconvenient at best, a downright pain in the ass or even impossible at worst. I’m not even going to get into the, ‘how to buy an alt-coin’ revelation!

omg-funny-baby-800x604.jpg

Brain Surgery.

The biggest challenge for the space but possibly the easiest to fix is usage, storage and security. My father point blank refuses to move our crypto without me because he says it’s tantamount to brain surgery and one minuscule slip leads to total and utter disaster. Ok, he’s exaggerating a little but there is truth in it too. Using a magnifying glass to check and double check your Bitcoin address before you hit ‘lose it all’, whoops, I mean send! The whole process of moving, storing and security is so finicky, micro managed and un-user friendly, compared to fiat currency and the banking system, that most people are going to be scared stiff to join in, even if they have decided they want to.

What Now?

To sum this up. We are quick as a community to look outside and blame others for the instability and poor press and in a lot of cases there are valid points but I think we need to look inside first before we can really progress. The great news is that we have some fine people in this space that are working their butts off to get this right. So, keep the faith, spread a positive message , HODL and keep blogging on Steemit!

9c1ba1181d4be272404ae56f16dfb53b.jpg

Thanks for reading.

Gaz

Sort:  

Agree with everything you wrote here. The sheer fact is that we need to harness the power of billions of people investing into this system. Yet the vast majority of them use the same password (probably letmein) across the vast majority of their digital lives. And then we ask them to invest chunks of real fiat money into a system that is one insecure computer away from personal disaster?

We really need an easy and idiot proof way of getting the masses in. Then we will have some stability and much needed sustainable growth.

Hey @bengy.

Thanks for your reply. I think a wave of newcomers was lost in December/January when coinbase, bittrex, Binance et al couldn't handle the influx. Of course that would have only been a temporary boost as all the issues in my article were and are still very much there anyway.

A long way to go until the space is ready but it'll get there.

Cheers, Gaz.

Yeah, December... I was going to cash out a chunk then. But I got on a flight, and when I landed about 24 hours later. Crash...so I held off, but it just went down from there!

Unlucky with the timing bud. If you're day trading and you miss the sweet spot it's a real downer. I've tried trading. Watching the price action like it's a fireworks display while your eyes go square! In truth I was not particularly good at it, especially in a bear market. I may try again if and when it up turns.

The good news is that holding on to your BTC is probably the best option long term anyway. :)

Cheers, Gaz.

I had been holding various bits and pieces for a couple of years, it's a pity to have missed it. On the other hand, I'm still ahead.

Day trading I only dabbled in (just pocket change amounts, whilst keeping the vast majority away from my greedy hands!) , likewise, not that great at it. I figure it is best just to invest a little bit each month rather than risk anything. Not worth the added stress and time!

Agreed.

I'm investing along with my Father and Brother. My idea is the same as yours. equally investing what we can afford each month. Unfortunately, both my Brother and Father have gotten a bit twitchy with the market as it is but I'm working on them.

I would definitely like to add a boat load of Steem to my account though.

Cheers, Gaz.

Me too, but this is one of the few places where just investing time and effort nets you crypto. That said, I have Steem stuck in Poloniex for the last few months...

No way. Wallet maintainence? That seems an awful long time to be denied access to your funds.

😅 think that’s pretty true...

Unfortunately! :( Hopefully things improve sooner rather than later.

Congratulations @cheese4ead! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63743.08
ETH 2657.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.87