$45 SBD Steemit Writing Contest. The more writers the bigger the prize fund! -- Results will be posted here.

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

In a few minutes, our first Steemit Writing contest will be closed. Results will be posted here as they are known.

At this time, it does look like we have more then 99 entries, so the prize fund for 1st, 2nd and 3rd place will be doubled -- see the details here. Also, there are now more funds available for the judges!

Remember you can only submit one story and it must be submitted before the contest is closed Monday at exactly 2018-02-26 18:14 (UTC)

Thank you all for helping make this first contests such a grand event!

There are seven judges plus a tiebreaker (@bycoleman)

In the order they appear in the remarks section, here are the #bycolemanjudge judges:

@nihalmaz
@nosmas
@naufil
@conradt
@renalexis
@gems.and.cookies
@doughtaker

Each story submitted will be reviewed by at least 3 judges. They will not discuss their opinions with any other judge until the final tally is posted here.

Note: Do not submit any submissions to this post, they will not be accepted.

Contestants

It is likely that the judging of so many great articles will take quite some time, please be patient. You will receive comments as they judges work through each submission. Every article will be processed or we will let you know if there was an issue. If your article has not yet received any replies, then is simply means we have not yet evaluated it.

Judges

I will be performing multiple queries to ensure each submission has been reviewed. Please stay tuned for this update.

I would like to thank you for the effort you have put into helping this contest become such a success.

In reality, the promotional costs for the contest exceeded its return but just the same, I would like to compensate you all a little more.

So, each judge will be given $2.5 SBD one time + .1 SBD for each article evaluated. You may evaluate of course any and all submissions. The more the better! I hope this helps.

@bycoleman
https://ColemanAir.us
Craig

Sort:  
Loading...
Loading...

In the interest of total transparency and for all those that are interested. Here is the total costs to promote the contest.

Even though there was more than 740 up votes, the majority of the Steemians that upvoted had little or no voting power, so the payout was less than the cost to promote the contest, resulting in a direct loss of 14.61 SBD

This of course does not include the cost of the prize fund. Which will add significantly to the cost to fund this contest.

Will we do it again? -- Absolutely if the judges are able :) The prize fund may not be so liberal, but we will do our best.

Stay tuned as we continue to evaluate all the submissions!

Feel free to upvote this post if you would like to help pay for the contest.

Many blessings and good luck to all!

hi sir...my name appeared on the list...but i have not received any comment yet from any of the judges listed above. .only from @svasha ..and that name is not on the list of judges

Hi,

If you are on the excel spreadsheet posted above, then we will be judging your article. Just give it a few days, there are a lot of them.

Alright sir..

Judges, we have a discrepancy to discuss regarding @ameet77804, the one participant who submitted a valid entry in the pre-contest post.

@bycoleman asked us to accept and judge this post:
https://steemit.com/life/@ameet77804/how-do-children-learn-from-parents-my-experience-as-a-child

But @ameet77804 also submitted an entry in the real contest post which was this:
https://steemit.com/bycoleman/@ameet77804/how-the-man-amid-the-garbage-changed-my-perspective-towards-life-complain-less-and-appreciate-more

and multiple judges have already evaluated the latter.

The question before us is which entry should count.

@nihalmaz @nosmas @naufil @conradt @renalexis @gems.and.cookies

We have not heard from @renalexis with her top 5 authors yet, would any of you other judges know how to contact her? Thank you, @irishgirl

@doughtaker.

OK, it is actually very well that @meet77804 submitted an entry into the proper place after all. I did not realize this.

Please ignore the pre-contest submission and evaluate only the latter.

Thank you again for finding these descrepencies.

@nihalmaz @nosmas @naufil @conradt @renalexis @gems.and.cookies

@bycoleman I am so sorry sir.I thought my first article would not be accepted.So i submitted the latter one.I didn't get any notice regarding the first one being accepted.I am so sorry for this discomfort.Please do as per your rules.

I have received all submissions from all judges, you can now post them and make them public by replying to this latest post.

https://steemit.com/steemit/@bycoleman/usd150-sbd-steemit-writing-contest-the-more-writers-the-bigger-the-prize-fund-final-results-will-be-posted-here

Please post the author and a link to their story.

Will you have time to be a judge in the final round? This will involve a new review of each of the semi-finalist entries and rating them using the same scoring methods you have already established for yourself. There are less than 35 total semi-finalist that will need to be judged.

I will. I had a busy day today and am catching up on all things Steemit-related that I need to deal with now. That includes the posting of my top 5.

Thank you for posting your top 5.

All judges have posted, so the finals round is now active. Simply review all entries again, scoring from 1 to 100 and send me a secure memo with all entries and their scores.

Hi, I am not in the tentative list. I'm hoping I made it to the final list. Thank you for hosting the contest it has helped me and cheered me up.

What list are you not on please?

The excel sheet you mentioned in this post.

Your entry has been judged by 3 judges.

You are not on the spreadsheet because the link you provided did not point to Steemit, but instead to busy, but we have judged it and all is well.

Thanks,

Thank you, I appreciate this.

I have judged a total of 82 entries. I believe there are not any entries that remain not judged and I am still to judge (except one NSFW entry which I hope anyone of the other judges can look out into).If there is any other entry I have left out, I'll be happy to judge it. Now, I have to fine filter some quality entries to decide my top 3.

We have not heard from @renalexis with her top 5 authors yet, would any of you other judges know how to contact her? Thank you, @irishgirl

OK, that is great.

I'm probably going to be requesting the top 5 as soon as we verify judging is complete.

Please read this article on how to send secure memos.

https://steemit.com/utopian-io/@andyluy/how-to-send-private-encrypted-memo-on-steemit-tutorial

I have received all submissions from all judges, you can now post them and make them public by replying to this latest post.

https://steemit.com/steemit/@bycoleman/usd150-sbd-steemit-writing-contest-the-more-writers-the-bigger-the-prize-fund-final-results-will-be-posted-here

Please post the author and a link to their story.

Will you have time to be a judge in the final round? This will involve a new review of each of the semi-finalist entries and rating them using the same scoring methods you have already established for yourself. There are less than 35 total semi-finalist that will need to be judged.

Yes, for sure. I can spare my time for that. I wouldn't want to leave a special competition like this halfway down the road after all those people putting in a great effort. Between, the idea of having a final round is very good. I was actually a bit concerned as to how the final winners are chosen as each judge is not reviewing every entry and might miss the best entries. Now , this makes it much easier.

Thanks for all @bycoleman

Thank you brother, very happy to know your going to be with us till the end :)

Yes, the finals round was always in the design and even more needed with so many great entries.

Blessings!

Hi @bycoleman,

I have had a few doubts and dilemmas while putting up my top five entries which is why I had to delay my submission. If you can help me through it, it will be greatly helpful as some of those submissions which I have come across are really close.

1.Does the entry strictly have to be about incidents that happened in the person's life?

  1. Or can it be about their thoughts and visions, their philosophies in life etc?
    3.should articles that emphasize on divine interventions or influence in life have a place in the list?

@nihalmaz -- Thank you for your questions!

Per the contest description, the article should not be fictional.

  • Does the entry strictly have to be about incidents that happened in the person's life?

The contest guidelines are to help shape the theme, but not mandate the subject matter. If you feel the author or someone they know was affected emotionally or otherwise by the subject of their submission, then this meets this standard and you may accept it as qualified.

  • Or can it be about their thoughts and visions, their philosophies in life etc?

Yes, if this is something that has influence or effected them, it is about them.

  • should articles that emphasize on divine interventions or influence in life have a place in the list?

Again, if these occurrences or interventions have been a factor in their life or someone they know, it more than qualifies.

I think I'm the last judge to provide an update... so far I've judged and responded to 90 accepted entries, and have also recommended several DQs. I think there are between 20-30 entries left which both (a) have not been judged by me, and (b) have not been looked over by at least 3 other judges. So I think I'm closing in on finishing my part of the preliminary judging.

OK, that is great. There was a LOT of response to this contest, I really thank you and all the judges for the massive effort that is required.

Gone through 70 entries. It seems like there are 67 entries at the moment that are yet to have response from 3 judges.

I wondering if some judges are not commenting under each submission and only using the spreadsheet. If you are able, please continue as you have time.

Yes, that might be the case. I will continue doing it when I get time. Also, I have found some entries which have violated the rules and they are left out of the list with a reply comment notifying the breach of rules.I guess that's enough, right?

Between, do you have a date in mind as to when you plan to announce the winners?

For the judges' reference, it may be helpful if @bycoleman puts up an official tally of the final number of potential entries (as DQs found later on could reduce the true total) and the number of prizes being awarded. That'll give the judges a reference point for cutting down to their "Top X Submissions" list that every judge would then be expected to go through and evaluate before turning in their final list of winners.

I am working on the queries now.

I still only expect you will have to submit your top 3 winners. This should be sufficient unless every judge selects the same submissions (somewhat unlikely).

I believe 5 should be very sufficient, but we cannot know until you submit your semi-finalist.

I have posted the initial list. See the top remark.
Hopefully the spreadsheet is of use.

I will be creating another one to try to determine if they have 3 judges, but it is premature.

When we declare the winners,i am eagerly Watching.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 64130.23
ETH 3169.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47