HOW DO CHILDREN LEARN FROM PARENTS???(my experience as a child)

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemians....You must be enjoying the weekend very well.

While I was lying randomly on the bed,I started thinking why I am the way I am.After thinking for a long time and after self analysis,I came to the conclusion that most of my personality is affected by what I learnt during my early childhood days which were the most precious days of my life. I felt a sense of gratitude towards my mother who has a great role in shaping me.Let me share my real experiences and the way I used to see my mother,which I am sure is the way most of the children see their parents.

WHAT DO YOU NEED TO TEACH YOUR CHILDREN?

Believe me,there is nothing you need to teach your children.You don't actually need to tell them what to do again and again.A child has a great observing power,which is present from the time of his birth.It is easily evident by the fact how a small child acts frantically when his mother is not around,how he behaves around people he doesn't know and how he is happy around his mother.

SO HOW WILL THE CHILD LEARN?


image source

This is the key.Believe me,if you want to teach the child how to act,you will have to show him what to do and not just cry around telling them what to do and what not.How you act is what your child learns.Atleast,this was true in my case and of course,I was no different from other children .So basically this applies to all children and all parents.

Let me clear this with some examples.

My cousin had a small son.We used to address our cousin saying "dada"(the word we use for big brother).And my cousin used to address his father saying " papa".The small baby used to hear those words everyday and when he became able to speak,he started addressing his father as "dada" and his grandfather as "papa".They tried a lot to change his habit and would tell him again and again how he was supposed to address them.After trying a lot,he eventually learned to say"daddy" to his father but till now ,when he is a 17 years old boy,he still addresses his grandfather as papa.Needless to explain more,we are all smart enough here.

ANOTHER STORY

My mother was a school teacher.She still is.I now feel so proud of her when I think of the ways she brought me up and the way she chose to teach me what to do.
She never told me what to do.She always showed me.We didn't have strong financial condidtions.But my mother is a gem of a person.The school she used to teach had the poorest children of all as it was a government school and the children didn't have to pay the fee to study.
One day,I saw my mother coming home with eyes full of tears at around 10:30 a.m. which was half an hour after she went to school.I got so surprised because she was too strong to cry for anything.When I asked her what was wrong,she said nothing .She just opened the closet,took out some 4 or 5 of sweaters,some of our school shirts and pants , held my hand and took me to her school.I was so surprised to see that in that chilling winter,when we were shivering with gloves,jacket and shoes on,the small helpless children came to the school with half shirts that were partially torn and old and with pants patched at diffrent places .She told me"Dear,this is the way some people live.Wherever you reach in the future,you should never forget that the one who has no kindness in heart is equivalent to dead.I really hope you will never forget what I said and act accordingly."She gave those clothes to the children and the smile in their faces is something which still is fresh in my mind.
At the end of the month,she used to buy notebooks and pencils for the children from a part of her salary even though it was difficult to run the family with what she got.And there was a separate place in her school for children with intellectual disabilities.She would take me there very often and tell me to love them and be friends with them.
On one particular day of the year when we had to organise a feast for the priest and relatives remebering my father who passed away many years back,she would only call the priest .I used to get angry why she would not call other relatives.Then she told me that she had actually invited some people who were yet to come.When I saw the people she had invited,I wanted to hug her and say sorry.She had invited the people around the street who never got to eat with their stomach satisfied and told me,"These are the people you need to feed.I can invite our relatives anyday but you should care for those people who you know can give you nothing in return."

She was very conscious of cleanliness.She used to wash our dresses everyday even if it was at late night and iron them properly.She would take us for a bath everyday.She would always encourage us to eat healthy and avoided eating junk food herself as well.She would ask us to pray to god just to thank him for what we have .She would tell me to look at people who are below our level but still surviving.She never told me to study but she always reminded me that it was impossible for her to run the family alone if she was not educated and that imprinted in my mind that nothing in the world can repalce education.She would get books and read by my side and I would open my books to copy her.She would give me prizes whenever I did good at school.

These are the things that are still so fresh in my memories.Whenever I see any child who is differnt from others or a poor person not having anything to eat,I try to help them as far as possible.I value education,health and cleanliness.She taught me how to value the feelings of others.I feel blessed to have her in my life.All I have inherited from her is simply magical and nothing can repalce that.


imagesource

HOW WILL YOUR CHILDREN RESPECT YOU?

()
imagesource

If you respect your parents,your children will respect you.Otherwise you have no right to expect it from them.Let me share a story that my mother told me.

"In the hilly region of country,there was the tradition that whenever a person got old and became useless,their children would take them to the forest and leave them there to die.Once a child saw his father making a big sack .He asked his father what he was going to do.The father told that he will be taking his father to the jungle in the sack and leave him there.After returning from the jungle,the father threw the sack away in the garden.The small boy who had been observing all this went running to the garden, folded the sack and kept it safely in the closet.
Surprised his father asked what he was going to do with the dirty sack.The child replied,"I will use the same sack to take you to the forest when you get old."
Realising that he had done a great mistake,the father ran quickly to the forest and brought his father back.

So needless to say,you will reap what you sow.So don't teach you children,show them.
Someday,your children will be the one writing this sort of another piece if you give them values that they can keep with them all their lives ,values that never change with the fashions or trends.

BE FRIENDS WITH YOUR CHILDREN

Love and appreciate their efforts .Teach them to love and respect.They will surely love and respect you in return.

LIKE,UPVOTE AND RESTEEM

Sort:  

Congratulations @ameet77804! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Thank you for the badge.

children are gift from God we need to treat them well

very true gimba.

Very well said "A child has a great observing power".
I am also a observer as I told you. Nice post.

thanks for reading.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Amit from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

That was really good, thank you for sharing. teaching childrenis not always the ebst thing to do, show children by example because they are expert observers..

From your stories, your mom sounds like a bad ass. A really special lady. Cherish her! This message is particularly relevant with all the people shooting up schools and doing bad things around the world. Parents need to observe while teaching through example and not verbally beating it into kids. There is a song by atmosphere about a kid who grew up in an abusive home, and in it he grows up and does the same thing when he gets married, even though he knew better watching his dad do it to his mom. What kids learn, good or bad is very powerful. If people ensured it was more good than bad then the world could only get better! Thanks for your entry, you are appreciated!

Thank you for reading and appreciating.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67334.64
ETH 3519.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.10